We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fable

$$ - $$$, , Vegetarian Friendly
1944 4th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 1M5, Canada
+1 604-732-1322
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (54 reviews)
“canned tuna” (62 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1944 4th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 1M5, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have traveled all around the world and Fable is our #1 restaurant. We first came here in 2015 while spending some time in Vancouver. We had such a great experience. We sat at the bar because we were a walk-in on...More

Thank Christine N
Kathy S, Owner at Fable, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

How amazing. Thank you Christine.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really did enjoy our time at Fable. We manage to have a table on a Saturday, the place was packed but it did not feel claustrophobic or beeing way too loud. Service was great, done with a genuine smile, our glasses of water and wine...More

Thank boommtl
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend who lives nearby suggested it, and I was very glad! We shared four plates, and - unlike some "share plates" places - they brought them out one at a time in a logical order. The tomato salad rested on the quality of the...More

Thank MandyJ2012
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The new ‘fish and chips’ oysters are delicious. The ling cod is superb with the corn and purée. Pasta special was so lemony delightful. And the rhubarb goat cheese desert, just sinful.... again Kyle, Graham, Nelson and of course Jeremy were chefs extrodinaire. Kudos great...More

Thank Michele M
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Great customer service on a busy long weekend. We were 2nd in line that morning and it filled up quickly. It took a bit longer to get our meals but the server was friendly & helpful. The egg bennys were good but different but I...More

Thank CA H
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

This is my 4 the visit over the years, 2 nd one this summer. The food, the service is excellent. Everyone with me enjoyed their meal both time. Last time, we were at the back under the AC vent and all of us were cold...More

Thank Soleterre
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We had 6 different small entrees to eat. They were designed for sharing and while I thought I would leave hungry I did not. I tried things I have never tried before (and I am 68). They were so delicious and very beautifully plated. I...More

Thank Lis H
Kathy S, Owner at Fable, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you for your visit!

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We dined prior to seeing Bard on the Beach. . True to it’s claims the food was fresh, fabulous tasting and very well presented. The service was really good and the staff was upbeat and friendly even though it’s a busy locale. We reserved an...More

Thank Charle128
Kathy S, Owner at Fable, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your visit!

Reviewed August 24, 2018

We booked Fables ,a farm to table restaurant, because the chef, Trevor Bird, was our neighbour boy growing up in the Laurentians north of Montreal. Although he was not cooking that early evening we were treated like friends! We chose to sit at the bar...More

Thank cacb
Kathy S, Owner at Fable, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you so much for making it in. I'm grateful to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. Kathy

Reviewed August 23, 2018

On August 18/18, we had a disappointing experience at Fable Restaurant. Several years ago I tried the canned tuna appetizer and loved it. This time it was dry and tasteless. The beet salad was fine, but my partner’s flat iron steak was only mediocre. Most...More

Thank Joey S
Kathy S, Owner at Fable, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you for coming in. Thank you also for the feedback. Both the canned tuna and flat iron with Black Pepper Jam have been guest favorites. I am sorry they were not enjoyed. A mistake was made by the server, forgetting to put the potatoe...More

Nearby
Kitsilano
Kitsilano is one of Vancouver's most transformative
neighbourhoods. With a long history of coffee culture
and poetry readings, its days of flower children and
buskers may be long-gone, but not without leaving
their mark on the number of organic restaurants and
fair-trade cafes in the area. At the centre of
Kitsilano ("Kits" for short) the almost idyllic
expanse of Kits Beach offers the opportunity for a
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 93 hotels in Vancouver
Granville Island Hotel
2,463 reviews
1.32 km away
Shaughnessy Village
71 reviews
1.59 km away
Executive Hotel Vintage Park Vancouver
1,400 reviews
1.63 km away
Gec Granville
285 reviews
1.76 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rain Or Shine
168 reviews
.03 km away
Trattoria
543 reviews
.17 km away
Maenam
285 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Your Vancouver Brewery Experience at Molson Coors
7 reviews
.55 km away
YYoga Kitsilano, Vancouver
13 reviews
.04 km away
Halsa Spa
29 reviews
.16 km away
Cineplex Fifth Avenue Cinemas
29 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cacb
July 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kathy S | Property representative |
Hi! Chef Bird does not have a set schedule on the line. He does travel and do outside functions often, so I do not want to promise you that he will be in house during your visit. Hope we see you here either way!
0
Votes
NapaTJ
November 2, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kathy S | Property representative |
I'm afraid we are not blessed with a patio! Just to know - dogs are not legally allowed where food is served in Vancouver unfortunately. (Unless a licensed assistance dog).
1
Vote
DoneganOne
October 25, 2016|
Answer
Response from Kathy S | Property representative |
Absolutely. Can be done over telephone and we will mail it or hold it here at the restaurant for the recipient. 604-732-1322
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1944 4th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 1M5, Canada
    (between Maple and Cypress)
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver>  > Kitsilano
  • Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
  • Phone Number: +1 604-732-1322
  • E-mail
Description
Local food brought in daily and prepared fresh for service. Defining Canadian cuisine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing