We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$25
CUISINES
Canadian
Meals
Dinner
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
34
5
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
34
5
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining experience food and wine last night pairing ingredients
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 5, 2021 via mobile

This is our favourite place for an evening out. The owners/operators are foodies and wine experts, and they bring that passion to every aspect of the experience. Food: The menu changes frequently, and the 7 course tasting menu ensures that you get to try everything....We attend regularly, to see what has changed. Since we started going, I have been served roughly 60 different dishes over the years, I have never seen a repeat, and I have loved every single one. Wine: For my partner and I, this is a fantastic and delicious way to try out a number of wines to see what we like. Do the wine pairing menu, and you will not be disappointed. On our way out, we take pictures of the bottles we loved. Great variety (last night we had some bubbles,, old world, new world, South Africa, there is often port or sherry). The owner provides tasting notes, and information about the winery. It is a very small dining room (5 or 6 tables). As you walk in all the wines you will be tasting are laid out for you to view (which will give you a bit of a hint about what the evening will be like and what they will be serving). It honestly feels lIke you are walking into a secret dinner club. They are passionate about the food and wine, and it shows. After you have finished, they are happy to tell you about all of the ingredients (some of which they grew in their garden or sourced locally).More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Randy R, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2021

We’re both so happy that you enjoyed the experience at our restaurant. Thx for coming and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed September 4, 2021 via mobile

A true culinary experience to remember. Beaujena and Randy are amazing hosts and the seven course meal is truly a work of art. The wine pairings were just one example of the hours of preparation that go into every Saturday evening. If you are in...Winnipeg and looking for a dining experience that will be the highlight of your trip Beaujena’s is not to be missed.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Randy R, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words. We’re glad that you enjoyed your “dining as entertainment” experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed October 24, 2020

Had a wonderful 7 course meal and wine pairing. So much food! If anyone leaves hungry I have no idea how. So much variety, well prepared, a variety of flavours and foods you may never order otherwise. It is a "surprise" menu, chefs choice. Beaujena...is so kind, and it is a cozy atmosphere. Try it out if you are adventurous and wanting to try new foods throughout many courses. If you don't like that sort of thing or are not willing to try new foods this is not the place for you. Thank you for the lovely evening! We had a great time. (*They are very responsive to all covid rules and distancing,restrictions and cleanliness are followed*)More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2020

Thank-you for your kind words. We’re so glad you enjoyed your anniversary dinner at our restaurant. We hope to see you again

Reviewed February 27, 2020

Came here for Christmas get together and was not disappointed. The decor is cozy and welcoming, restaurant is very intimate and inviting. Service was warm and friendly. Food is unique and does not disappoint. As the menu varies monthly, I recommend you come with an...open mind and book in advance. The tasting menu requires time but is SO worth it. The restaurant is only open 2 days a week so book early.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

We went to Beaujena's for our 25th anniversary upon the recommendation of a friend. My wife and I have never treated ourselves to a fine dining experience such as this one. We had the 7 course meal and a flight of wine to share. The...whole experience was unforgettable from the first minute to the last. Each dish was brought out with no explanation of what it was. We ate each and then our server would come out after a bit and ask what we thought we were eating...sometimes we were close, other times we were way off, but each dish tasted amazing and the presentation was outstanding. We loved that our server spent time talking about the food, the preparation, and just life in general. We spent just under 3hrs in the restaurant. It was an excellent time to be together and enjoying the shared experience of the food and wine pairings. (We found that sharing the wine flight was good enough for us). We will absolutely return again.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

We’re very happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. A lot of our guests are celebrating special occasions and we want to insure that it the experience is memorable for all the right reasons. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

What a whiplash. Fresh from an underwhelming tasting menu at Peller Estates, NOTL, we stumble upon this tiny hidden gem that only accepts 10-12 couples on a Fri or Sat night, reservations a must. This husband wife team does this for the sheer love of...it, as an amusement, a HOBBY. They cook and serve with their hearts, take genuine interest in their guests, and were very accommodating of our 2 hour time restriction. Went from prying money out of my fingers for Peller, to watching it fly out for this place! They clearly UNDER charge for this experience. Yes, Peller is a palace in comparison. Outside of Beaujena’s, you’re struck by its simplicity. Cozy tiny dining room, with absolutely charming, gracious service. The food was striking, surprising, intriguing, from plate to plate. Winnipegers, you don’t know what you have here... The level of cooking here is equivalent to that of Michelin star restaurants.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2019

We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. As you said, we do it, “for the sheer love of it,” and reading your review motivates us to continue. Thank-you.

Reviewed July 16, 2019

This multi-course dining experience was very pleasant (and quite prolonged). The server walked us through the ingredients of each course with interesting explanations. We all left hungry, but we felt it was a fun experience even if it was very expensive.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

As I’m sure you can understand, it is impossible to please all the people all the time, even though we do try. A comment we often hear from diners is that there is too much food. Conversely some feel there is not enough. Our dinners...More

Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Beaujena and Randy were wonderful hosts once again and did not disappoint with their hospitality and delicious cuisine. With some recent travel inspirations from Poland and Turkey , the mystery 7 course menu did not disappoint. Thank you for another wonderful culinary adventure!

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

It was so nice to see you again. We’re very happy that you enjoyed your evening with us.

Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

The entire experience at Beaujena’s was incredible. The food was fresh, beautiful looking, creative, and delicious. The wine pairings were absolutely perfect. However, the best part was the unique nature of the restaurant. Sitting there guessing about what you were eating really enhanced the night...as it made you pay that much closer attention to the fantastic flavors. Beaujena herself was the ultimate host, as she was knowledgeable and passionate about both her food, the wine, and her business. We can’t wait until our next evening at Beaujena’s.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening at our restaurant. You’re right, we are passionate about our food and wine. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Amazing restaurant & heartwarming hospitality!!!! due to personal & unrelated reasons i was unable to fully experience everything, but what i was able to was phenomenal. If i was from winnipeg i would be back asap!! I would like to thank beaujena & her husband...for everything!! Highly reccomend.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again.

Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

Despite the rave reviews I think it fair to say it was a tad disappointing, especially for the cost. The 7 courses were nice with some different tastes and the wine pairing was excellent but the total time of over 4 hours to dine was...very disappointing. Doubt we will go back but the experience was worth if for only this one time.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Thank you for your feed back. We’re glad you enjoyed the food, wine and overall experience. I’m surprised that you think $64 for a seven-course dinner is too expensive, especially given that we serve sustainably raised and organic locally produced food (for which we pay...More

Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

Recently visited here. We had been before but brought new friends with us. It is even better than i remembered. Attentive from greetings to goodbyes! It is a lovely intimate setting where you can actually hear the conversation at your table. It is discreet and...professional service yet feels warm and homey. Thats a hard balance to achieve. The 7 course were all very good. The blending of ingredients is interesting,tasty and beautifully presented. It is a full dining experience and it takes time. Thanks again for the great evening!More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Thank you very much for bringing friends and sharing your experience. The appreciation you have expressed inspires us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed February 6, 2019

There is nothing else in Winnipeg like Beaujena's French Table. From the moment Beaujena welcomed us, we knew we were in for a special evening. Food courses and paired wines arrived at just the right pace, taking about 3 hours. It is an inviting place...that encourages you to relax and enjoy yourself. Chef Randy's beautifully presented dishes treated our palates to interesting flavours from around the world. If you are looking for locally sourced ingredients served in a sophisticated and friendly atmosphere, look no further. This is it!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Thank-you so much for your kind words. We believe food is more than simply fuel and so we try to make dining a pleasurable and entertaining experience. Sounds like we succeeded. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed December 17, 2018

Charged $38 for a glass of wine without being informed. There was no menu to see wine prices. Food was good but took 3 hours to serve the courses.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Everyone who dines at Beaujena’s is told very clearly that a seven-course dinner will take 3 hours and prices of food and beverages are disclosed. No one in the 12 year history of the restaurant has ever been charged $38 for a glass of wine....More

Reviewed November 5, 2018

Read about this on line and was looking for a new dining location for a special occasion. We were not rushed and enjoyed a leisurely 7 course dinner over a 3 + hour period, with the pleasure of an informative hostess. The wine accompanied each...course, perfectly matched. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. The variety of dishes was very interesting. Reservations are definitely required as seating is limited.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BeaujenaR, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy that you enjoyed your exerience and we are looking forward to seeing you again and sharing our new menu with you!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Norwood Hotel
723 reviews
1.05 km away
Inn at the Forks
2,394 reviews
1.07 km away
Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre
1,978 reviews
1.58 km away
Mere Hotel
1,482 reviews
1.75 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Marion Street Eatery
331 reviews
.78 km away
Resto Gare Bistro
362 reviews
.62 km away
In Ferno's Bistro
351 reviews
.72 km away
Chocolatier Constance Popp
88 reviews
.67 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Forks National Historic Site
2,096 reviews
1.09 km away
Basilique-Cathedrale de Saint Boniface
231 reviews
.50 km away
Manitoba Children's Museum
162 reviews
1.01 km away
La Maison Gabrielle-Roy
16 reviews
.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Beaujena's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BEAUJENA'S, Winnipeg - Central St. Boniface - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Beaujena's

Beaujena's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4