We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT WILL BE CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE TO ENSURE THE HEALTH AND SAFETY OF OUR CUSTOMERS AND STAFF. Thank you for understanding! Belgian Style restaurant. Specialities are Belgian Waffles, Crepes, Moules Pots, Fresh Belgian Fries, Chicken and Stews. Amazing breakfast and Sundaes!
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$13
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Belgian, Cafe, Canadian, European
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Table Service, Family style
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
83
39
11
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
83
39
11
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch eggs benedict chicken panini specialty coffee fries belgian breakfast busy spot cooked just right amazing food outing servers canada nb
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 23, 2020

I hate to be negative, because we went out of our way to support local instead of a chain, but I was really disappointed. It was almost 70.00 for breakfast for 3 of us. The coffee was delicious and by far the best part of...our experience. The food looked terrible, the waffles (which we had very high expectations for) were tasteless, undercooked and deflated. We had such high expectations. The entire thing was pretty much self serve, which is ok given the situation. The employees appeared to be terrified of the head chef who snake eyed their every move; it was very awkward. Wouldn’t go back.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 10, 2020 via mobile

My wife raved about this place theast time she visited Fredericton, so we had to visit. Very safe environment given Covid restrictions, good coffee, fluffy waffle, bacon cooked just right, eggs made the way you like them...Definitely worth a revisit. Easily one of the best...restaurant breakfasts I've had in a long time!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2020

Came for breakfast before a flight and was not disappointed. A cozy little spot with great service and a menu full of choices. I was here early so it was quiet but it was filling up before I left so I suggest coming early or...you will have to wait. This place is perfect for anyone, however I don't suggest coming here if you are in a rush - breakfast is meant to be enjoyed here.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2020

Thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food and the service – we pride ourselves on having a great team! And yes, we do get busy...More

Reviewed January 4, 2020

The restaurant was 80% full when we arrived, but our service and servers were excellent (1:00 on a Friday). The only challenge is making a choice from the menu! Everything looked good and tempting; prices were very reasonable and servings were ample. One of our...party even ordered based on something he saw going to another table and he was very pleased with the choice. All 7 of us agreed that we would need to come again. The restaurant has a casual feel to the decor and none of the customers looked to be in a rush; everyone was very relaxed and enjoying the space. Parking is good with a ramp into the restaurant. What more can you ask for?More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Thank you for your kind review, Stephanie! I will be sure to pass this on to the rest of the team – they will certainly enjoy hearing your review! We are so glad that your experience dining with us was satisfactory. We pride ourselves on...More

Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Mmmmmmm staff was very friendly food was fast and very tasty Daughter had the Dream and loved the holindase sauce, I had the Belgian breakfast and my wife had a club with Belgian fries

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Hi Peter, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We always enjoy hearing from our customers. We’re so glad you stopped by on Saturday and that everyone enjoyed their meals. We hope to see you again sometime!

Reviewed January 3, 2020

I know I am spoiled, because I live in Tennessee, but I am used to excellent service. Therefore, when in Canada, it seems to be lacking. However, when I visited this wonderful spot with my sister, I told her they must have imported the server...from the South. She was excellent! Also, the chef gave me her recommendation of The Ultimate Benny, which happens to be my sister's favorite. The meal is delicious. It is eggs Benedict made on a savory waffle! The home fried potatoes were hot and fresh! Sadly, I did not have time to return before coming home. There are no "cheap eats in NB," but this splurge was worth it! Breakfast was $13.99.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at the restaurant. We feel that we currently have a great team and we’re glad you think so too! It’s also nice...More

Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Went for lunch with the team from work. Place was really busy but the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. I had their chicken panini with fries on the side. The panini flatbread was really good but the sandwich had way too much cheese and...not enough of the other ingredients. The fries were also really good but had far too much salt on them from the kitchen. My work friends also commented during the meal that the food was good but overly salty. Definitely going to give them another try later this year, feel like maybe the kitchen was a little overwhelmed that day.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Thank you for your review, Erin! We appreciate that you took the time to let us know your thoughts. Feedback from customers is essential in growing and improving our business! I will be sure to pass this on to the kitchen staff so they can...More

Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful attentive staff, fabulous food and specialty coffees! Recommend for couples, families or solo outings!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Thank you for your kind review, Kim! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our restaurant and that you took a moment to write about it. We really appreciate it! Come by again anytime.

Reviewed November 25, 2019 via mobile

Wifey decided she would like to go out for breakfast for her birthday. My son ordered Nutella Banana waffles and I’ve never seen him eat so fast. He loved them. I ordered the Belgian breakfast. Was really good. Toast was cold but that’s minor because...really, I had 2 big waffles so really didn’t need toast too.... My wife really enjoyed her breakfast as well. We were sat right by the door so every time it opened we felt the chill. It’s a busy spot for sure....and rightfully so with the food and service provided. Staff are friendly and always smiling!! We will be back for sureMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind review! We’re so glad to hear your first visit was a success. Our waffles and crêpes are made from scratch, and are certainly a hit – we’re happy your son enjoyed them! We’re sorry about the cold toast....More

Reviewed October 18, 2019

I've literally showed up for 2 separate breakfasts on Saturday mornings and they were closed. One was labour day weekend and thanksgiving day weekend but still its huge wasted business. Not impressed.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
sweetbelgiandesire, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2019

Hi Sam, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re sorry about the restaurant closures. We were on a short vacation in September and we were away for our son’s wedding on the Thanksgiving weekend. We understand it’s an inconvenience to the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
596 reviews
1.08 km away
Best Western Plus Fredericton Hotel & Suites
906 reviews
1.22 km away
Comfort Inn Fredericton
248 reviews
1.41 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
685 reviews
1.59 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lotus Cafe & Restaurant
18 reviews
.88 km away
Coffee Mill
74 reviews
1.19 km away
Tim Hortons
10 reviews
.38 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kingswood Entertainment Centre
44 reviews
1.97 km away
Kingswood Golf
8 reviews
1.61 km away
Odell Park
244 reviews
3.03 km away
Old Government House
78 reviews
3.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sweet Belgian Desire staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing