We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wooden Monkey

305 - 40 Alderney Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
+1 902-466-3100
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“scallop pasta” (11 reviews)
“chocolate pie” (6 reviews)
“seitan” (3 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
305 - 40 Alderney Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came for lunch and really like the view. This was our favorite place to come before it became the Wooden Monkey. The haddock was disappointing...overcooked and small portion. We tried it a couple of times and it is just not what we had hoped...More

Thank easterntreker
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for dinner here with my husband and his son. Although it took us a bit of effort to actually find the restaurant (at the ferry terminal, have to take an elevator), it was worth it. Great view from the restaurant overlooking the harbour. Food...More

Thank Marrcham
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We took the ferry over to Darmouth, as we were told the food here was great and had to be tried. And they were right this restaurant has super food and great service. We shared the mussels and their chowder was too die for, expensive...More

Thank Ramona G
Reviewed 12 October 2017

In a world of uncertainty, complexity and questionable leadership, it is so reassuring to know that places like this exist. Like a comfortable blanket, The Wooden Monkey welcomes you in, makes you feel cozy, and cooks freshly-prepared comfort food just for you. I fully intend...More

Thank GeneralNooz
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We arrived in Dartmouth on Sept 30th and wanted a dinner with a view...this is exceptional, looking over Dartmouth harbour to the City of Halifax. Our server, Kyla was very prompt, warm & friendly and got our drinks to us promptly. My husband and I...More

Thank Lise H
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Recently while visiting friends in the Halifax region I went to lunch at this location. We loved the outdoor patio with views across the harbour to Halifax. We enjoyed local beverages and monkey pitas! We upgraded to a special salad which was a great pair....More

Thank Amanda D
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch on a beautiful warm October day. The fish cakes,beet salad,and the Fish & Roasties were all enjoyed very much. Enjoyed the local cider, an excellent Ginger Beer, and local Lager. Friendly service, that was not over-powering (attentive without being overly familiar)....More

Thank Tim N
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This was a beautiful place with a gorgeous view. Great service with excellent food. The seitan sandwich is my ultimate fav here and I will continue to order it over and over. Vegan friendly.

Thank Monica F
Reviewed 18 September 2017

After researching several restaurants in the Dartmouth/Halifax area, my boyfriend and I chose the Wooden Monkey. We liked its location and deck overlooking the harbor. The menu offered some tasty selections (we thought). Big mistake. We were seated on the deck (which we liked) but...More

Thank SaintGeorgeNancyn
Matthew G, General Manager at The Wooden Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are so terribly sorry that you had such a bad dining experience with us. It was such a busy night, you weren't the only table that suffered with long wait times unfortunately. There were a few other tables that had excessive waits. It was...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely salad for lunch. Server was prompt and polite. Price was reasonable. Very scenic spot for viewing the Halifax harbour.

Thank gdawe2016
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Canteen
105 reviews
.17 km away
Battery Park Beer Bar And Eatery
72 reviews
.35 km away
Portland Street Creperie
46 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sullivan's Pond
69 reviews
1.53 km away
Lake Banook
68 reviews
1.53 km away
Alderney Landing
124 reviews
.07 km away
Harbour Water Taxi
20 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle S
9 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Topcat1932 | Reviewed this property |
This an example from their menu, *PLEASE NOTE: We consider our rice crust pizza crusts to be gluten free, however they are produced in a facility that handles wheat. - MAY NOT BE SUITABLE FOR CELIAC. There are other meals... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 305 - 40 Alderney Dr, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Region  >  Dartmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 902-466-3100
  • E-mail
Description
We are located on the Dartmouth waterfront. Don't underestimate the power and potential of Nova Scotia on a world stage. We are a casual spot that cares about what they feed their customers. Please don't troll, if you have a beef (vegan/gluten free or not) please contact us via our website Large/private parties we can handle, please contact us in advance, however at our core, we are a 1st come 1st serve kinda place. We will take good care of you and the people you care about.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing