We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#61 of 73 Bar in Halifax
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$56
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Downtown Halifax
1.1 km from Halifax Public Gardens
Improve this listing
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
12
16
7
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
12
16
7
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster roll fish tacos halifax waterfront food was great boardwalk server
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good craft beer from PEI. The food is typical pub style. The French fries were very salty. The prices are a bit on the high side. Happy hour before 6pm, The service was slow. Overall, not a bad night out.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking to try somewhere new on the waterfront. We made a reservation for lunch and were given a great seat near the window. After ordering a salad and burger we proceeded to wait almost an hour for our food. In this time we...discovered that the insulation on the wall near us was non existent and therefore by the time our food came our legs and feet were frozen. The food was even more disappointing. The salad advertised a citrus dressing but all you could taste was oil. The burger advertised two sauces but somehow was incredibly dry. It’s to bad because it’s a great location but with so many options on the waterfront this was definitely the worst experience we’ve had.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed February 25, 2021

Having been to the restaurant in the past for lunch and snacks we decided to try the brunch. The staff both welcoming us and serving us were excellent and the COVID precautions were very good but the same cannot be said for the food we...had. We both had the veggie skillet which should be called a potato skillet because that basically was what we got with a spoonful of red pepper, onion, tofu and mushrooms, no tomatoes on either skillet. Very disappointing and as a result would certainly not recommend the restaurant.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 22, 2020

We came here for a snack and a beer. We ordered the Burger, She Wrote which we wanted to split as we were not that hungry. I really liked that the waitress didn't make a fuss about us splitting it, and was really gracious about...it. Some places I've been to look down on your for doing that, but we weren't that hungry! The beer was cold and the views were beautiful.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 2, 2020

This was our next stop on the waterfront looking for a place to eat and enjoy the waterfront. We walked in with masks an we were greeted by a wait staff not wearing a mask and not social distancing so once again we retreated and...went on our way.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 10, 2019

We felt like the restaurant was experimenting with all the items we ordered. Cold food - we were told that "sorry - we thought the heatlamp was on over your plate in the kitchen and it wasn't!!!" Really amateur presentation of seafood platter appetizer -...piles of biscuits and a small mound of herring; a twisted pyramid of smoked salmon which was awkward to eat; hard boiled egg dipped in beet juice; cream cheese with capers. Beet and goat cheese salad included parsnips which were barely cooked and inedible. Price for dinner for 4 people was over $300. No apologies from chef or manager for our concerns. Waitress was good and recommended an excellent wine "Three Thieves" - we tipped her handsomely despite our disappointment with a dinner that we had expected to be one of the highlights of our visit to Halifax.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Pickfordblack, Guest Services at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2019

Hi LokeyRanch, Thank you so much for sharing, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We would like to apologize for this very disappointing experience and we would love a chance to make it up to you if you'd send us an email at gm@pickfordblack.com....More

Reviewed November 19, 2019 via mobile

Nice decor and view of water, but that’s the Do you only positive. $19 for a three scallops appetizer? WTF. Bartender seemed more interested in talking to the waitress than serving customers.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Pickfordblack, Guest Services at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2019

Hi jeffhI7382KG, Thank you so much for sharing your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests to help us improve...we will be sure to pass along your message to the rest of our team. Thanks again! Maggie

Reviewed October 23, 2019 via mobile

The last time I came here it was a Gahan House. I gather the Pickford and Black is part of the same chain. Both times we ended up in the bar which is large with post and beam ceilings surrounded by windows, on the waterfront....Nicer weather and we’d be on the spacious patio. We both had the fish and chips - haddock, so I can’t say much for the variety. But I can say the fish and chips may be the best I’ve ever tasted. Well done.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Pickfordblack, Guest Services at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2019

Hi tomhW6293WV, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy you enjoyed your fish and chips- we'll be sure to pass along your message to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again....More

Reviewed October 23, 2019

On arrival by boat we walked through the town and down to the boardwalk. The further we walked the less the tourist's became and we found P&B. It seemed to only have locals in who were enjoying themselves. The food was great (fish& chips) and...the Beer was good also. Thank's to Maddie for her friendly service and chat. If you visit Halifax walk that little extra along the Boardwalk and visit here. You won't be dissapointed.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Pickfordblack, Guest Services at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Hi KMK22864, Thank you so much for taking the time to share. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we'll be sure to pass along your kind message to the rest of our team. Thanks again, Maggie

Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

My daughter and I had reservations last night at 7:30. We wanted to enjoy the evening so we started with the seafood board as an appetizer. It was just okay. When it came time to order our mains my 18 year old daughter was promptly...told she couldn’t have the paella “as it takes 45minutes to prepare and it’s 8:30pm and no minors are allowed after 9pm”. Um WHAT! We had no idea of this policy, had we known we absolutely would have chosen somewhere else for dinner! As a result we quickly ordered (I had the crab, my daughter had the salmon — both average) and ate in haste. We left just before 9pm, happy to see the place was almost empty. I will never go back, so many other wonderful restaurants to choose from.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Pickfordblack, Guest Services at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2019

Hi Jill B, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are so sorry for this dissapointng visit with us and we would love a chance to make it up you if you'd like to send us an email at...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
1,537 reviews
.11 km away
The Barrington Hotel
707 reviews
.24 km away
Hotel Halifax
820 reviews
.37 km away
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
1,855 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Baton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar
581 reviews
.14 km away
Salty's
1,828 reviews
.03 km away
Lower Deck - Downtown Halifax
690 reviews
.09 km away
Bluenose 2 Restaurant
782 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Royal Nova Scotia International Tattoo
348 reviews
.37 km away
Halifax Harbour Ferry
1,100 reviews
.17 km away
Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
3,165 reviews
.34 km away
Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
408 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pickford & Black staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing