We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
C$10 - C$70
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Canadian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Downtown Halifax
1.1 km from Halifax Public Gardens
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
27
31
15
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
27
31
15
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters chowder great setting outdoor patio food was great lobster dinner harbour pei cauliflower supper
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 18, 2023

Horrible Horrible service. Oh wait, what service?! Servers walked by, no one acknowledged that I was there. This is not the first time I have walked out. No they were not busy, but as a solo diner I felt I had less priority.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Team, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2023

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, we always appreciate hearing from our guests! We are so sorry for the disappointing experience and we would love to talk with you further if you'd like to send us an...More

Reviewed September 18, 2023 via mobile

Great location along the Halifax waterfront. Very nice view of Halifax Harbour. Very good craft beer made by PEI brewer. Good (not great) food. Typical pub food.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiel Vessey, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2023

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us a review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the location, craft beers, and overall experience. We hope to see you again soon! Pickford & Black Guest Services

Reviewed September 17, 2023

Pickford and Black was the perfect spot for our last night of our vacation as we sat outside on the harbour and got a few drinks and delicious seafood. service was very good and we would go back if ever in the area.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiel Vessey, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2023

Hi there, Thank you so much for visiting us! We are thrilled to hear you chose to visit us the last night of your vacation. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the drinks, seafood, service, and overall experience. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed September 14, 2023 via mobile

This was unfortunately the worse dining experience my wife and I can remember. I could write a book! Slow service, cold food, no effort to correct it. Will not get into details but when I returned my main (and I had to go inside to...find the wait staff), we decided chowder was available and hot. After my wife finished eating and I still did not have my chowder main, I went back inside to settle up. The manager told me they did not charge me for my initial blackened haddock. This was the dish too cold to eat. Wow - unbelievable. I was told that their kitchen is small. The restaurant was less than 1/3 full. Fix the kitchen or remove 75% of your seating. Extremely disappointing.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services Team, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2023

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, we always appreciate hearing from our guests! We are so sorry for the disappointing experience and we would love to talk with you further if you'd like to send us an...More

Reviewed September 2, 2023

We had fish tacos, and they were so very good - our first seafood experience on the east coast. Highly recommend. Good food, atmosphere and service.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 17, 2023 via mobile

Seafood fettuccini was excellent!!! Just not enough pasta (especially for price). Beautiful patio waterfront view (ferry traffic a bit noisy). Loaded potato chips dish (with Cajun chicken) as a starter was divine. Expresso cheesecake very good.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 10, 2023

I have looked at the menu for this restaurant a few times being a local but, I have never gone. On this visit, my mom and I decided to finally give it a try. As my title says, one and done; we will not be...back. We were given a very nice seat by the window with a nice breeze from the outside area. Our server was very nice, did not get her name though. We arrived at 12:10pm for a lighter lunch. I got a half caesar and the fancy fries. My mom got the fish tacos with the fancy fries ($4 upcharge). Here came the first issue: we ordered at 12:30pm, and got our food at 1:35pm. Tables around us ordered, got their drinks, food, and bills in the time it took for us to just get our food. We were just considering asking for the bill for our drinks (diet pepsi's) when our server said it would just be a few more minutes. Try 20 minutes after she said that. We had a caesar, fries, and fish tacos, nothing complicated. What was the problem? Second problem, the food was not good. I mean, it was fine but not good enough for the $55 price tag overall. My half caesar ($8) said homemade dressing. When it arrived, there was no dressing on it. Maybe a tiny bit but not near enough for it to have any taste. Plus the croutons were stale. I asked for more dressing and my server brought it right away. The dressing looked like mayo. It also had very little taste. My server also brought a bigger bowl so I could mix the salad but, it didn't matter. It is difficult to toss a salad like that at the table, especially with the mayo-like consistency. Next the fancy fries for $13. Why fancy? It says this on the menu: "Hand-cut fries, Parmesan, P&B spice, fresh herbs, citrus aioli drizzle". What I got was cooked fries with the same caesar mayo-like sauce on top. No seasoning, no herbs. They were fries with mayo, nothing more. Not worth that price tag at all. As I said, my mom got the fish tacos. She said they were okay except they came cold. Not sure if they cooled off really fast or, based on the wait, our food sat on the line for a while before it made its way to us. Overall, I will not be back. I did not find the food to be anywhere worth the price tag. The restaurant was not busy but it took an hour for our food. We didn't order anything complicated; this was not acceptable.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiel Vessey, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2023

Hi Kagcan, We are very sorry about your disappointing experience - our goal is to provide excellent experiences to every guest and we apologize that we failed to do so in this situation. If you'd like to speak to our manager, you can reach us...More

Reviewed July 29, 2023

My parents were in town visiting and we always come to Pickford and Black when they visit as it’s one of our favourite spots. We were extremely disappointed by our dinner this time. Our server, Megan, provided terrible service. We never received our appetizer. We...were not checked on again until we finished our meals. When we informed her we never got our appetizer so that it wouldn’t be included on our bill we were met with attitude instead of understanding. We were hoping for another drink and she dropped our bill off at our table instead. The food and drinks were excellent as always. Service was unfortunately just not up to the usual standard.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiel Vessey, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2023

Hi there, We are very sorry about your disappointing experience - our goal is to provide excellent experiences to every guest and we apologize that we failed to do so in this situation. If you'd like to speak to our manager, you can reach us...More

Reviewed July 8, 2023

I usually don't write reviews but my family and I came in a couple of days ago and it was the best part of our trip! Although there was a slight food wait...the atmosphere, food and our waitress made it all worth it. The food...was great portion size for the price and there was many options for my family. Our server was one of the best we have ever had. I believe her name was Estelle? She gave us great recommendations on drinks and food and had incredible patience with my picky husband. She suggested we try some oysters for the first time while we waited and they did not disappoint! It looked like she was serving over 10 tables but she still made us feel like we were her priority and was even helping out some of the other servers who looked new to the job. Despite the food wait, she made sure we were enjoying ourselves while we waited. Would 100% recommend to family and friends. We look forward to visiting again soon!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2023 via mobile

Lunchtime visit. Fish tacos ok but a bit bland. Overall food very average although enjoyed the beer. Nice service but not in a rush to go back.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2023 via mobile

Had a good experience at Pickford & Blacks. We tried to get into another local place that had a huge wait. P&B fit us in between reservations. The Fish and Chips and Fish Tacos were AMAZING! Service was good. I would recommend.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 1, 2023

nice looking, trendy modern. GREAT location. good views. service was attentive. food was OK. oysters were a disappointment. not oysters in general- i love oysters. on several occasions i have eaten over 100 at a time. just these oysters. poor jobMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiel Vessey, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2023

Hi there, We are very sorry about the disappointing oysters. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we always appreciate feedback that will help us improve in the future. We'd love to hear more from you, you can contact us at gm@pickfordblack.com. Thanks...More

Reviewed May 7, 2023

Worst service ever. Arrived at noon. Put in our coffees and lunch order. Got a coffee and after an hour nothing else. Others who arrived after us were being served. Got up and left. This is a first for meMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiel Vessey, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2023

Hi there, We are very sorry about this disappointing experience. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we always appreciate feedback that will help us improve in the future. We'd love to hear more from you, you can contact us at gm@pickfordblack.com. Thanks...More

Reviewed April 30, 2023

Amazing. My daughter had the avocado toast and absolutely loved it. I had the lobster dinner. It was my first time having a whole lobster and our waitress was very kind and gave me a tutorial. Delicious. This was a the east coast experience I...was looking for.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiel Vessey, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2023

Hi there, Thank you for sharing your review! We're so glad to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your time here at Pickford & Black and we can't wait until your next visit! Thanks again, Pickford & Black Guest Services

Reviewed February 27, 2023

We found this restaurant while walking along the harbour and had a great lunch. I liked it so much I went back for dinner a couple of days later. It is spacious and has good views of the harbour. Only complaint was that it was...a little cold sitting by the winter in the evening (it was winter).More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mysa Nordic Spa, Owner at Pickford & Black, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2023

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We're so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us! Pickford and Black Guest Guest Services

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
1,638 reviews
.11 km away
The Barrington Hotel
798 reviews
.24 km away
Muir, Autograph Collection
121 reviews
.26 km away
Hotel Halifax
896 reviews
.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Salty's
1,975 reviews
.03 km away
Baton Rouge Grillhouse & Bar
603 reviews
.14 km away
Bluenose 2 Restaurant
857 reviews
.16 km away
Gahan House Nova Centre
730 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
3,264 reviews
.34 km away
Halifax Harbour Ferry
1,127 reviews
.17 km away
Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
433 reviews
.25 km away
Harbourside Market
263 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pickford & Black staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PICKFORD & BLACK, Halifax - Downtown Halifax - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pickford & Black

Pickford & Black is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5