We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 2022-05-31

Murphy's Restaurant & Patio

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 11-28
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 20-10-02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Murphy's Restaurant & Patio
Updated 20-10-02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

#43 of 74 Bar in Halifax
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$23
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
206
235
204
128
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
206
235
204
128
109
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 21, 2020

Ate here after doing the George's island tour. Food was ok but service extremely slow. Table staff were all wearing masks but the bartender and staff coming and going from the kitchen were not wearing masks and not social distancing. They were grouped at the...front of the restaurant not distancing and still interacting with the wait staff. We were not comfortable with that.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2020 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal at Murphy’s on the Water this evening. Everything was perfect from the setting, the food, the service, and the atmosphere. Although the menu is reduced due to Covid it had all the top choices. I had the double burger (which was...huge) and my husband had the pork belly...both meals were delicious! From the scenery on the harbourfront patio, to the service, and the bottle of Tidal Bay wine...our evening was heavenly! You can’t go wrong in choosing this location. Enjoy!!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2020

Hi PMF Halifax, Thanks SO much for sharing this with us! We're thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your evening with us - from the food all the way to the amazing views. We do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed November 7, 2019

Now this excursion really included an excellent lunch. They gave us 2 large wraps that were loaded with real lobster filling and salad. Our drinks did contain alcohol. We would go back again. Very Friendly staff. Beautiful view of harbor. and walkway to Maritime Musuem.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Hello Mel W, So very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio! Thanks for sharing these kind words and 5-bubble rating!

Reviewed November 6, 2019 via mobile

Stale white rolls, store bought coleslaw and potato salad. Dessert was supposed to be apple crisp but was basically canned apple filling with synthetic cream. Absolutely horrible. Don't go there!!!

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2020

Hello Jackie P, Please accept our sincere apologies for not having delivered you with a true Murphy's experience - this is absolutely not a reflection of how we conduct our day-to-day business. We will share this feedback with our team.

Reviewed October 31, 2019

We stopped here as part of an all day excursion during a fall color cruise. Our group was just over 30 people and there were many other groups in the restaurant. The menu options were a lobster roll or a vegetarian pasta; I had the...latter because I'm allergic to shellfish, my husband enjoyed the lobster roll and salad. Both of our lunches were good! It took a while to get a cup of coffee to go with our lunch, but other than that the service was good.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Hi Shirley S, We're very happy to hear that you chose to dine with Murphy's Restaurant & Patio during your visit to the city of Halifax. We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to the city and cruise.

Reviewed October 21, 2019

My friend and I were seated inside this massive property on the waterfront, the area by the water with all the windows looked awesome. The menu was quite limited, and we were informed by our server that they did not have lobster that day. Our...order arrived after 30 minutes and the items were not correct. Another 15 minutes passed. I would advise to select an eatery where some thought and planning are present.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Hello apjm1951, We're very disappointed to hear that we left you with such an impression of our restaurant- please understand that this is absolutely not a reflection of our typical operation and not how we expect our guests to feel after dining with us. We...More

Reviewed October 16, 2019

We came here for lunch and enjoyed wonderful lobster rolls and pints of local beer. Our server, Alyson, was very nice and helpful. The setting is right on the water with wonderful views.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Hi nlgale, It's so great to read about your experience at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio! Lobster, beer and great views- a perfect way to spend the afternoon!

Reviewed October 14, 2019

We were a couple with no reservation - however, the wait was not long. There was clearly a packed house with groups of people before us and most all exiting the restaruant at nearly the same time. There was not enough help to clear all...the tables in this high capacity restaraunt. We were seated, but totally ignored despite the fact that we were one of the first "wating" customers to be seated. The menu seemed over priced when comparing other places in the area. We were in the wrong place at the wrong time - we would not go back. Truthfully - this place looked "tired" on October 5th, 2019 - there was employee confusion about seating wating customers after the "herd" departed . The bar service was good - liked their pint of lager.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2020

Hi Daniel H, Thanks very much for providing this valuable feedback. It goes without saying that we were clearly caught unprepared on this day and ask that you accept our apologies for not having delivered you and guests with a much better experience. We always...More

Reviewed October 14, 2019

We had lunch there and the place was packed. We had a fresh salad and lobster 4 cheese hot dip to start. Then we had lobster poutine and lobster roll followed by homemade strawberry shortcake. Everything was delicious and served quickly despite how busy they...were. The shortcake was like my grandmother used to make! They also took a coupon from the brochure given out on the hop on hop off bus which lowered the bill by a significant amount. Would definitely go back,More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Hi attaracg, We're so happy to read this and thank you so much for visiting! There are most certainly advantages to taking tours and dining at Murphy's and we're glad that you were able to take advantage of some of them. Hope to see you...More

Reviewed October 12, 2019

Great, polite, friendly staff Great food on the waterfront Creamiest chowder, great routine Generous servings We go to Murphy's every time we visit Halifax

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
AmbassatoursPR, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's Restaurant & Patio, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Hi seashell1956, Thanks SO much for sharing this fantastic review of Murphy's on the Water! We look forward to seeing you again.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
1,559 reviews
.28 km away
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel
1,898 reviews
.32 km away
The Barrington Hotel
717 reviews
.36 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Halifax Downtown
768 reviews
.48 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Old Triangle Irish Ale House
1,540 reviews
.24 km away
McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes
1,315 reviews
.23 km away
Baton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar
588 reviews
.29 km away
Salty's
1,857 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Halifax Harbour Ferry
1,101 reviews
.19 km away
HMCS Sackville - Canada's Naval Memorial
383 reviews
.27 km away
Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
3,176 reviews
.21 km away
Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
411 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Elsa H
Food poisoning experience anyone in the past few days after dining in at their restaurant? On August 7, our family of four were dining at their restaurant ordered a lobster roll, a seafood pasta, a fish dish, a fish & chips. Finished dinner around. 9:30pm. Took a stroll at the seaside. By the time went back to the hotel around 10:45pm, my daughter who ate the lobster roll, started to feel sick and was vomiting for more than two hours along with stomach upset and abdomenal pain. We called the restaurant next day an de was trying to contact the manager. We were put through to the manager' she voice mail. We left a message regarding the incident. We further left a message through their website. We left them with our contact email. So far as of today August 12, we haven't heard anything back from the restaurant how they follow up with the incident. Did they look into the food handling procedures or did they dispose the lobster roll ingredients etc? We don't know. Just wanna ask if anyone had a similar experience or just our bad luck. Hope everyone stays healthy after dining at their restaurant.
August 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from AmbassatoursPR | Property representative |
Hello Elsaatajax, Thank you for reaching out to share your experience with us. We are very sorry we have not received your voicemail or message in order to reach out to you - please know that this is a horrifying review to... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Murphy's Restaurant & Patio

Yes, Murphy's Restaurant & Patio is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Murphy's Restaurant & Patio is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4