We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Murphy's the Cable Wharf

$$ - $$$
Downtown Halifax
Bar, Seafood, Canadian
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1751 Lower Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1S5, Canada
+1 902-420-1015
09:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun - Thu 09:00 - 19:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

610 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 590: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our group of eleven decided to drop into this spot as it is on the water and the group thought it would be a wonderful place for an unforgettable meal. Upon entering the restaurant, we should have taken notice that it was pretty much empty (maybe three other tables were occupied). We were taken to our table and not much... More 

Thank Christopher E
Sarah G, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hi Christopher E, We are very sorry your experience was not up to our usual standard, and understand your disappointment of having to wait for your drinks and food. We would have loved to have replaced the meals had we known your guests were unhappy. Please contact me directly if you'd like to discuss further jmaclennan@mtcw.ca. Sincerely, Jessica More 

Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I agree with previous group reviews. I didn't think of going to Nova Scotia for baked chicken, rice, potatoes and steamed veggies. There was a heater running on the deck closest to the water, the exhaust was entering the room. We were told the restaurant wasn't opened for the season yet. It should have stayed closed.

Thank MSW1405
Sarah G, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hi MSW1405, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your Murphy's experience. We have a wide selection of meals on our menu we would have gladly replaced with your chicken. We are currently open for the season and would love for you to come give us another try. If you have any further concerns, please contact me directly jmaclennan@mtcw.ca. Thank you,... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a dinner event at Murphy's for a group of about 50. $25 got me a piece of salmon that wasn't even two fingers across and that would be best described as salmon jerky given how dry it was. It was nicely presented across the top of a small amount of rice and a half dozen small vegetable pieces... More 

Thank Wahoo62
Sarah G, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hi Wahoo62, We are sorry your experience didn't match the product and service we normally provide. Our salmon is fresh from the Atlantic and a popular item on our menu, so we can understand why you'd be disappointed with a dry piece. We would have been happy to replace the salmon or given you another menu item. We'd love for... More 

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our cruise ship was in Halifax and we wanted a lite lunch. The tour guide on the HOHO recommended this place. I had the chowder which was excellent but I thought a little expensive at $12. My husband had the mussels which he really liked also. During the summer might be a little touristy. Nice lunch.

Thank jdloretta
Sarah G, Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hi jdloretta, Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your meals. As our location is very central, in the summer we have people from all over the world experiencing the beauty of Halifax waterfront. We're glad you dropped by! We hope you enjoy the rest of your cruise. Jessica More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Had the pleasure of joining my work colleagues for a meal at Murphy's on the Water. They have a new chef and I have to admit the meal was amazing, and feel they have entered a whole new level in delectable quinine. As a group of 12 we were all very pleased with the meal. From the amazing harbour front... More 

Thank PMFHalifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Murphy's the Cable wharf is an attractive convenient and affordable restaurant. Located on the harbour front with great views with a very comfortable atmosphere. The décor is a bit chintzy but respectable for the fact of it's location. Fun and full-filling it is a must go to place to have Lunch or Dinner Hardy Har Har !

Thank Brewster8861
Sarah G, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind review - we're glad you enjoyed our restaurant! We have some new items on our menu this year you'll have to come try. We have also painted the whole restaurant and changed our interior décor, giving it a fresh new feel. Hope to see you this summer! Jessica More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Loved the location, I mean the views of the waterfront were excellent. It is a pretty decent size. The food was ok. Nothing that stood out or amazing. Some of the staff members were friendly, others not as much. The one thing that really bothered us was all the birds. The patio is open so there were pigeons always around,... More 

Thank jess194
Sarah G, Public Relations Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing us - we appreciate the time you took for your feedback. We are sorry your experience wasn't everything you'd expected. Our menu changes every year and we like to keep it fresh; introducing new ideas while integrating unique specials. If you did not enjoy your meal, we would have liked to hear from you so... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This was an enjoyable stop for lunch. We sat on the patio and had a nice lobster roll facing the water. There were some beautiful birds around but beware as they can easily poop on your head. While being on the patio was great, I would eat inside because of the bird problem.

Thank ALM913
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I had lunch here with few friends on a rainy afternoon. There were lunch specials as well as a full menu available. The portions were good and the quality excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone whether it be friends, family or business lunch.

Thank rtdunne
Sarah G, Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hello rtdunne, Thank you for leaving us a review. Glad you could escape some rainy weather with a meal at Murphy's. Happy you had a great experience - hope we can welcome you back again (maybe even sun will even be shining!) Thanks, Sarah More 

Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The location is great and offers views of the Halifax waterfront. It is a large restaurant and adjacent to a store aimed at tourists. I have my doubts that locals would choose Murphy's over other options, especially those away from the tourist area. For lobster you pick the size (we got 1.5 lb) and you are provided with a plastic... More 

Thank KinRoundHill
Sarah G, Manager at Murphy's the Cable Wharf, responded to this review

Hello KinRoundHill! Thanks for leaving us a review, we appreciate it. Glad to know you enjoyed some fresh lobster with us - the bib always makes for a great photo op! Hope to welcome you back again to our little home on the waterfront. More 

Travellers who viewed Murphy's the Cable Wharf also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region

Been to Murphy's the Cable Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Bar, Seafood, Canadian
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
09:00 - 19:00
09:00 - 19:00
09:00 - 19:00
09:00 - 19:00
09:00 - 19:00
09:00 - 20:00
09:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1751 Lower Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1S5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Region  >  Halifax>  > Downtown Halifax
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
  • Phone Number: +1 902-420-1015
Murphy's Cable Wharf is situated at the foot of George Street on the Halifax waterfront. Halifax's largest Tour Boat & Restaurant Operator is a can't miss destination combining nightlife, nature tours, sightseeing, fine dining, tours of historic properties and much more, all in the company of the friendliest people you'll meet.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Murphy's the Cable Wharf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?