We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 2021-10-09

Zoe's

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.

Ratings and reviews

#121 of 1,708 Restaurants in Ottawa
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$53
CUISINES
Canadian, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
141
109
52
37
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
141
109
52
37
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones salmon steak fairmont hotel great drinks special occasion laurier presentation
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 21, 2020

9Ambience: If you're going here, a big part of the price (and the value) is the ambience of eating at the Fairmont, and in a high-ceiling, elegant internal dining area. Food: The steak and the salmon were phenomenal - the former was $30 and definitely...worth it. Drinks: Definitely on the more expensive side ($16 to 23 for cocktails), but the presentation was great. Service: Phenomenal - we had an older lady with glasses and she was very sweet. Overall I believe the experience is a little too pricey for my range (esp. all the appetizers), but it is definitely a great one-time treat as you cannot go wrong.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 13, 2020

Zoe’s isn’t just for afternoon tea, it’s a fantastic restaurant with many delicious items on the menu. Atmosphere is warm and service was what on one comes to expect from a Fairmont hotel.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 3, 2020

The Bruschetta was extremely bland and I couldn’t even get the spaghetti down. I had left a whole plate because I couldn’t eat it and they still wanted to charge me full price even though they had taken it away and thrown it out. After...my husband spoke to the manager, they opted to make us a new dish which just ended up in the garbage rather than simply not charging for the meal. My husband ordered steak medium rare. Some parts were rare and some were medium. Not consistent all the way through. Would not recommend.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

Am expensive treat. I love afternoon tea and have enjoyed it in some pretty prime location in the UK, some of the best in private homes. Zoe’s has great service, and interesting menu items. A little too much emphasis on the sweet for me. I...personally love afternoon tea sandwiches. It’s a nice treat for a special occasion. I really wish people wouldn’t call afternoon tea ‘high tea’. That is something different which is not usually served in restaurants. Google it. The Royal Albert Hall in London serves a great afternoon tea as do many old established institutions throughout the UK.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2020

We agree that our Afternoon Tea service is an experience not to be missed! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director of Operations

Reviewed March 9, 2020

Four women on an afternoon out for tea. The high tea at Zoe's was a huge disappointment. The tea was good, however the drinks we ridiculously overpriced. The radish sandwich was a joke..no taste whatsoever. The shortbread was totally tasteless. One has to wonder after...all the negative reviews why they are still serving the same food and drinks still overpriced. Bad reviews but no changes whatsoever. Won't go again. With tip and a drink was $100. Had high tea at Royal Albert Hall in London. No comparison and prices comparable. Plus, no cucumber sandwich and the egg salad had no currie taste. Everyone should read these reviews before they book..tells me they don't listen to their clientele.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Dear Linda, Rest assured that we take comments from our guests to heart as they are the best equipped to judge our level of service. We do hope we have the chance to change your mind about us one day soon. We are confident that...More

Reviewed March 8, 2020 via mobile

Afternoon tea is my most favorite meal and a trip to the Chateau Laurier's Zoe's has been a family favorite for 20 years. We have seen the tea change over the years...fancier sandwiches, new decor and ever increasing price for the tea but always a...treat to go. Today's visit was such a disappointment. The teapots are perfect. When you pour they dont leak and the tea selection is reduced from a few years ago but still good selection. The tiered stands came quickly but at that point it was not the same presentation of glorious looking sandwiches and cakes like our previous visits. Egg curry sandwich had no flavor of curry and the bread was dried out at edges, roast beef sandwich was dry and the radish sandwich looked and tasted like it had been sitting out all day. salmon sandwich was the best. We never had the server come asking if things were ok or did we need anything, a first in our visits. Staff has always been so attentive in previous visits. Scones were delicious but again the cream had a dry layer on the top like it had sat out for a long time. The price goes up for sittings after 1 o'clock so it was expensive ($62 a person) for what we had. also note that while the parking lot is open again there is no access to enter the building from it. The first door was locked on Sussex and said to go to the front. Elderly people should be dropped off at front door.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

As a loyal and faithful customer, you may be aware of our mission to create memorable moments. I sincerely regret that we were not able to do so on this occasion. We do hope you return one day, allowing us the opportunity to restore your...More

Reviewed February 25, 2020

We were staying at the hotel and came to the bar for a late night drink. Bad, untrained service and overpriced, watery drinks. The food was really not what one would expect for the price. The service was friendly diner or truck stop casual and...the presentation was just not up to the space.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2020

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns with us. Your experience is certainly not typical of our usual high level of service. We do hope you return one day, allowing us the chance to regain your trust and loyalty. Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director...More

Reviewed February 20, 2020

I hate to give such a negative review based on one visit, but there was nothing redeeming about this place whatsoever based on our experience. Of the several items we ordered, some we are pretty sure were frozen or ready-to-serve product, and just tasteless. It...was extremely dim (to the point of having to use smartphone flashlights to read the menus), the music was too loud, and ambiance non-existent. Food was terrible, waiter was jaded and abrupt. The menu prices are beyond ridiculously high for very below par food. This is pretty well the worst restaurant experience I have had, and is a real disservice to the beautiful old grand hotel it is located in. If you are going to charge those high prices, you better bring your A game to the table.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Our mission is to turn moments into memories and I regret that we failed to do so. Please rest assured that your experience is certainly not typical of our usual fine service. We do hope you return one day and allow us the opportunity to...More

Reviewed February 9, 2020

Sigh. Like everything else in this great nation’s capital, this was such a disappointing and overwhelmingly mediocre experience punctuated only by the terrible service. From the rude and clueless receptionist answering the phone to the rude waitress taking forever to come to our table, to...the menu that advertised one price which was much lower than the price on the bill. When questioned, the waitress said very defensively, “It’s Winterlude so the prices are higher this month and we’re not going to reprint all the menus.” Hahahaha ummm WHAT? First of all, shouldn’t you be encouraging tourists to visit with lower prices, not penalizing them with higher ones than what you normally charge?? Second of all, isn’t it illegal to advertise one price but charge a different one? I’m pretty sure it is and beyond shocked the Fairmont is engaging in this type of behaviour. I’m also shocked by: the low food quality for the high prices paid, the lack of knowledge of ingredients the servers have, the loud nightclub music piped through the common areas, the fact that the washroom is ALWAYS filthy and doesn’t have automatic doors for users with accessibility issues, and that in general, this hotel doesn’t hold a candle to any of the other Fairmont hotels I have ever had a chance to visit. A staff shakeup is in order, starting from the kitchen staff to the servers and everyone in between, with solid training on what customer service really means.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Please accept my personal apologies for your poor impression. Your experience is certainly not indicative of the high levels of service we strive to provide to our guests each and every day. I also apologize for the mis-communication you received with respect to our menus....More

Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

It is inside Fairmont Hotel and Place seems quite nice and food is great. But I had a really bad experience. We ordered juice for the kids and once the color was not usual, we questioned if it was right. Server was rude and promptly...answered: “You ordered apple juice, so it is apple juice”. If we were not short on time, we would have left.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
ChateauLaurier, Owner at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Renato, We regret your disappointing experience. Please rest assured that is certainly not the norm. We have met with the team to re-brief them on our high levels of service excellence. We hope you give us another chance and return one day…we are confident...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
4,091 reviews
.06 km away
The Westin Ottawa
2,545 reviews
.14 km away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
919 reviews
.39 km away
reStays Ottawa
7 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Courtyard Restaurant
457 reviews
.20 km away
1 Elgin
407 reviews
.20 km away
JOEY Rideau
298 reviews
.10 km away
The Shore Club
508 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rideau Canal National Historic Site
5,260 reviews
.13 km away
National War Memorial
1,021 reviews
.26 km away
Ottawa Locks
775 reviews
.10 km away
Famous Five Monument
206 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
elsier33
August 18, 2019|
Answer
Response from chrisdj2016 | Reviewed this property |
Best to contact the establishment directly for something like that. It’s not an issue for us so I did not ask
0
Votes
Barbara1344
March 7, 2019|
Answer
Response from lindacF8900FM |
Yes best to get reservation as they are very busyespe silly on weekend.
0
Votes
Barbara1344
March 6, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from J M | Reviewed this property |
sorry for delay. No dress code. It's best to make a reservation.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zoe's

Yes, Zoe's offers takeaway services.

Yes, Zoe's offers delivery services.

Zoe's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5