We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#108 of 1,701 Restaurants in Ottawa
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$51
CUISINES
Canadian, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Takeaway Available
Read more
Updated 22-03-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 22-03-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
144
110
53
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
144
110
53
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon steak chateau laurier fairmont hotel presentation
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

My daughter brought me here for High Tea. What a wonderful gift and experience!!!!! We had an ample selection of tea. The three-tier platter was so very well presented and the sandwiches, desserts and scones were AWESOME! Tasty and fancy. We couldn<t eat all the...desserts so we could go home with the boxed goodies. Staff was so nice, perfect date for this mother-daughter.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, Other at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are so pleased that your visit was an enjoyable one. We agree that our Afternoon Tea Experiemce is one not to be missed! We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Sincerely, Gregory Voge Director of Food & Beverage

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Place, food and service is great. For an upscale place, having to park offsite in the byward market is an insult. Unless you are a guest at the hotel, you cannot use their parking even though the restaurant is in the hotel. Not coming back...for sure.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We regret your disappointing experience with our very limited parking. We are anxiously awaiting the building of our new parking garage facility. However, until then, our availability is limited to accommodate our in house guests. We do understand your frustration and do hope you return...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We order the pork belly with a side Caesar salad and both were yummy. The pate appetizer was excellent. Our two drinks were served in interesting containers - one came in a box with smoke and the other was served in a copper mug and...were excellent.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so pleased that your visit was so enjoyable. We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Sincerely, Patrick Vincelette Director of Rooms

Reviewed November 30, 2021

Beautifully set table and exquisite surroundings with a view outdoors. There were 3 of us and 2 were gluten free. The GF sandwiches looked like styrofoam and according to the people eating them had virtually no cream cheese and were stale. As the non gF...they looked highly unappetizing. As the non GF guest, the only thing on the plates that were enjoyable were the scones with cream and jam. Come on Chateau Laurier. You can do better than this. Our bill for 3 people with a couple of drinks was $350. !! Never again.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2021

Our mission is to turn moments into memories and we regret that we failed to do so during your recent visit. We hope you give us another chance, by returning one day. We are confident that you will not be disappointed. Sincerely, Patrick Vincelette Director...More

Reviewed November 26, 2021

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Chateau. One afternoon around 4:30 we decided to go to Zoe's for a cocktail. The room was moderately busy - many people were still finishing their afternoon tea. Numerous employees walked past us for several minutes...before we were served. Also the lights were very very bright. This is a bar/restaurant. Could they not create a more relaxing atmosphere by dimming the lights somewhat?More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2021

We sincerely regret the disappointing experience during your stay with us. Our mission is to turn moments into memories and we regret that we failed to do so during your recent visit. We hope you give us another chance, by returning one day. We are...More

Reviewed November 26, 2021 via mobile

Made a reservation for afternoon tea. Rep from Zoe's called day before for confirmation, reminder and asked about food allergies. On morning of I called to ask for substitution for sweet desserts and they were very accommodating. Replaced with fruit. Server was very friendly and...accommodating with suggestions on how we could get the best value for food. Lovely surroundings in restaurant. Food and tea were great and fruit very fresh. After meal we were able to walk around the interior of the Chateau Laurier. Very impressive. Highly recommend the experience.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2021

We are so pleased that your visit was a memorable one. We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Sincerely, Patrick Vincelette Director of Rooms

Reviewed September 19, 2021

I've only every been to Zoe's for high tea and it is pretty good. On our last visit, everything tasted great but the pastry dough was a little soft, so I'm guessing it had been in the fridge for a day or two too long....Overall, we did enjoy ourselves.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2021

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience and hope to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely, Gregory Voge Director of Food & Beverage

Reviewed July 25, 2021

Stayed at the Chateau Laurier in December 2019. Ate and drank very well at Zoe's. Had their ridiculously-priced, signature smoke-infused cocktail. Our bill was insanely expensive, well over $500 for 2 people. The cocktails were $25-50 each. Service was weak given the atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Sincerely, Rick Corcoran General Manager

Reviewed December 21, 2020

9Ambience: If you're going here, a big part of the price (and the value) is the ambience of eating at the Fairmont, and in a high-ceiling, elegant internal dining area. Food: The steak and the salmon were phenomenal - the former was $30 and definitely...worth it. Drinks: Definitely on the more expensive side ($16 to 23 for cocktails), but the presentation was great. Service: Phenomenal - we had an older lady with glasses and she was very sweet. Overall I believe the experience is a little too pricey for my range (esp. all the appetizers), but it is definitely a great one-time treat as you cannot go wrong.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 13, 2020

Zoe’s isn’t just for afternoon tea, it’s a fantastic restaurant with many delicious items on the menu. Atmosphere is warm and service was what on one comes to expect from a Fairmont hotel.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
4,252 reviews
.06 km away
The Westin Ottawa
2,570 reviews
.14 km away
Novotel Ottawa City Centre
1,940 reviews
.38 km away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
919 reviews
.39 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
1 Elgin
468 reviews
.20 km away
Courtyard Restaurant
474 reviews
.20 km away
JOEY Rideau
320 reviews
.10 km away
The Shore Club
513 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National War Memorial
1,027 reviews
.26 km away
Rideau Canal National Historic Site
5,274 reviews
.13 km away
Ottawa Locks
778 reviews
.10 km away
Famous Five Monument
209 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
elsier33
August 18, 2019|
Answer
Response from chrisdj2016 | Reviewed this property |
Best to contact the establishment directly for something like that. It’s not an issue for us so I did not ask
0
Votes
Barbara1344
March 7, 2019|
Answer
Response from lindacF8900FM |
Yes best to get reservation as they are very busyespe silly on weekend.
0
Votes
Barbara1344
March 6, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from J M | Reviewed this property |
sorry for delay. No dress code. It's best to make a reservation.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zoe's

Yes, Zoe's is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Zoe's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5