We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lone Star Texas Grill

$$ - $$$
Byward Market Area
Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
128 George St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9N9, Canada
+1 613-562-9865
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 22:00
Fri 11:30 - 00:00
Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently visited Lone Star as it's been one of our favourite family destinations for many, many years. Charging for the chips and salsa now?? What a huge mistake - whoever came up with that idea?? It's something that set you apart from other restaurants, and one of the reasons we loved going there. Stating the reason being that prices have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CBM2164
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Hi CBM2164, Sorry to hear that you are disappointed. If you would like to, I would be happy to have one of our senior team members reach out to you to discuss your review further. If you are interested, please send your contact information to tequila@lstg.ca The Lone Star Team More 

Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Ha! Charging for your chips and salsa? Because prices have gone up? So add the $1.00 to your already inflated food prices and nobody would care. Restaurants give free bread, Red Lobster gives free buns, and you charge $1.00 for 5 cents worth of chips that is just one of your tortilla shells deep fried. What a terrible idea. Honestly,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Criticalwon
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Criticalwon, Thank you for reviewing Lone Star. I'm sorry you feel that way. I would be happy to have a senior member of our team reach out to you to discuss further. If you would like to be contacted, please email your information to tequila@lstg.ca The Lone Star Team More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Very casual, a little noisy, but a good choice when it's -20 outside. The spicy soup and a good steak definitely warmed us up. The service was good, the price adequate. To me the steak seemed a little too sinewy and the mashed potato tasteless, but the soup and vegetables were not bad at all.

Helpful?
Thank Sing_solo
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Hi Sing_solo, Thank you for reviewing Lone Star, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service. The manager would be happy to discuss the steak and mashed potatoes. If you would like to be contacted, please email your contact information to tequila@lstg.ca The Lone Star Team More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been going for years and it was awesome before..we used to love getting the queso with the chips that USED to come free with the salsa, now queso tastes like cheese whiz and when i asked the waiter if it was a dollar for unlimited he said no per basket. Really?! That's a bit much, like charging for bread at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Stephanie, Thank you for reviewing Lone Star, we appreciate your feedback. My apologies that you didn't enjoy your Con Queso on this visit. Our recipe hasn't changed over the years. Our nacho chips are included with the Con Queso. The chips and salsa have been complimentary for 30 years. We tried to not charge for chips but unfortunately cost have... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been going to Lone Star since it first opened at least 30 years ago. For about the first 25 years everything was great. For about the last five years they have been trying different experiments on how to nickel and dime us. Changing around whether or not you got guacamole included or what side you get - or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndreTheGeek
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Hi Andre The Geek, Thank you for sending your feedback. I'm sorry you are not happy with the new charge for the chips and salsa. As you mentioned, all costs (food, labour, rent, hydro etc) have gone up, especially over the last few years. The $1 charge is to only cover our costs, and the remaining proceeds will go the... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Actually disappointed with the service at this particular location. Our group (6 adults and 6 kids) have frequented the Lone star chain of restaurants many times. Visiting Ottawa, we called ahead and made reservations earlier in the day to ensure we wouldn't have issues with getting a table for all of us. Given it was a Tuesday night, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Old-Eye
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Hi Old-Eye, Thank you for reviewing Lone Star, we appreciate your feedback. All Lone Star will now be charging $1 for chips and salsa. We've had to start charging because all costs have gone up, especially over the last few years. We wanted to keep the prices reasonable, so we are only charging $1 per order and proceeds will go... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After my first bad experience last year, I decided to come back to give it another try. Our server was great and super helpful. I went for the steak fajitas, the same thing I went for the first time and it was way way better. The fajitas the first time were really salty, but this time it was perfect. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alnoor K
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Hi Alnoor, Thank you for letting us know that this visit was much better! We are happy to see you back. The Lone Star Team More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lone Star is an institution in Ottawa. We have visited this Eastern Ontario chain many times and have never been dissapointed. They cook Tex-Mex food that appeals to a wide audience. This is a great spot to meet a group of friends as we did here recently. Some people arrived later than we expected and I was pleased that there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Hi Aaron, Thank you for reviewing Lone Star, and for being a regular guest. We appreciate your nice comments regarding our staff and food. We are lucky to have some of the best! See again soon! The Lone Star Team More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

So I have been going to the Lone Star for almost 30 years and partly because of the yummy chips and salsa. We went to this restaurant as we have the past few years for lunch, and they are now charging $1 for something all the other LS restaurants are offering for free!! My colleagues and i were not impressed.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank investolator
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

investolator, Thank you for your feedback Yes, we have started to charge $1 for our chips and salsa. We know this is a big departure for us as chips & Salsa were free for 30 years! We’ve had to start charging because costs have gone up, especially over the last few years. But we wanted to keep the price reasonable... More 

Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

I've eaten here a few times... it always looks good from the Courtyard Mariott. Service is pretty good and the place and spacious, but the Tex-Mex dishes really aren't that great, in my opinion. This last visit, I tried the 'Big Rig Burrito'... it was big and well stuffed, but the flavors were fairly bland. To be honest, Taco Bell's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review

Hi Thomas, Thank you for sending in your honest feedback, we always appreciate that. Sorry that you found the flavours of our burrito to be bland, but happy your wife enjoyed her steak. If you would like the manager to reach out to you to discuss your Tex Mex experience, please send tequila@lstg.ca your contact information. Have a great day!... More 

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Texas Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lone Star Texas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$24
Cuisine
Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Takeout, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 128 George St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9N9, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Ottawa>  > Byward Market Area
  • Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
  • Phone Number: +1 613-562-9865
Description
Our famous fajitas are served up fresh - from the warm flour tortillas to the guacamole and the salsa. Wood fire grilled AAA steaks and smokehouse ribs are all prepared in the barbecue pit. Lone Star guarantees great food, warm southern hospitality, and a good time. We are Canada's only authentic Texas restaurant - the real deal...TEXAS to the BONE!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lone Star Texas Grill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lone Star Texas Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?