We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#240 of 1,703 Restaurants in Ottawa
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$28
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Byward Market Area
0.6 km from Rideau Canal National Historic Site
Improve this listing
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
67
39
17
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
67
39
17
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butter chicken saag paneer indian restaurant byward market appetizer platter garnish
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 7, 2020

We initially went to another close by Indian restaurant in the Byward Market based on its top reviews- but we left (thankfully) after being ignored, and despite the name it didn't scream eastern decor. We walked into Shafali and it was a relief! Smelled delicious,...looked authentic and service was awesome. Best samosas we've ever had- even compared to India. Spectacular spicing and balanced flavours in the butter chicken and saag paneer, with thoughtful and beautiful garnish throughout. We are so happy we got to visit.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 14, 2019

We were a family of four. I wanted the kids to experiment Indian food. Papadum who normally come free as an appetizer were $12. I selected their specialties such as the appetizer platter (came with no Shish Kebab unless these were the pieces of sausage)...and the Mix tandoori sizzler (very small for $28). Buttered chicken just OK.Vegetable rice Byriani at $18, come on! Naans were excellent. I estimate their food cost is about 20% and there was no 'wow' in what we tasted. The waiter took the kids to see the kitchen and how they were cooking in the tandoori, which was great. As a conclusion, food was low end, too expensive, but the service was real good.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

I had been here twice, once for lunch and once for dinner. Lunch was average as the naan was not properly cooked. An expensive buffet with less options. The worst experience was Chicken tikka masala which was ordered during our dinner which had onions in...there not properly cooked and we found a piece of plastic bag in the curry. The curry came with a sort of rice which was not cooked properly. The only good thing was the Naan, but was worthless as the curry was not spicy as described in the menu. Customer service was almost to nil, ordered an imported beer and was provided a different one when it was served. Overall experience a 1 out of 5!!!More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant has a family feel. The food is good with plenty of spice. The menu is not the most extensive nonetheless there is enough to cater for most tastes. The service is good. Have been back a couple of times.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
azimashraf, Owner at Shafali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

thank you for your visit see you soon

Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

My partner and I visited Shafali this weekend and were completely impressed. He is from the UK and since coming to Canada has never found the quality of Indian Food to match that available in the UK - until now. We have had Indian food...in several OTTAWA restaurants (not to mention several in other cities), and if there is better food available somewhere else in Canada, we haven’t found it!! Shafali offers fresh, made to order food just bursting with flavour! There is a good range of spice levels for all tastes. Flavours are authentic, fresh and delicious. To top it off, the service was quietly attentive and the atmosphere lovely, tasteful and serene. Oh, we will definitely be back!!!!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
azimashraf, Owner at Shafali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Thank you so much for your generous feedback, looking forward to serve you again

Reviewed December 5, 2018

ThisI is my Favourite Restaurant! If you're looking for an explosive delicious flavour experience it's here! The food at Shafali is wonderful! No fast food here! The food is full of flavour and freshly prepared and their chutney's are wonderful. If you're in more of...a hurry there is also Shafali Bazaar, In the Byward Market Square!More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
yousu, Owner at Shafali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

thank you for your great response, looking forward to serve you

Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

We were a big group 14 of us - tried about everything. Chai was disappointing but the paneer with spinach and the butter chicken both the biggest hit. Quick enough service. Very friendly.

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
yousu, Owner at Shafali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

thank you for your visit, we are making sure you won't be disappointed next time visit us(for the chai)

Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

We found this cozy little restaurant while walking through the Byward market area. The service was excellent and the food was absolutely fantastic. Prices were reasonable and the portions were perfect. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Indian food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
azimashraf, Owner at Shafali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, see you soon

Reviewed September 15, 2018

We had dinner here recently, and I'd say it was rather average, not great, but passable. We started out with the (veggie) appetizer plate, which was a generous size, but the appetizers themselves were rather oily, and seemed reheated rather than freshly made. I ordered...a draft beer, but the top 3 inches or so were just solid foam... For entrees, we tried the chicken zhalfraji, and the fish sorisha. Both were OK, although the zhalfraji was quite oily. The portion size was good, we took a good fraction of the food home with us. Service was friendly, and pretty fast (but the restaurant was almost empty when we were there). Overall, an average sort of place.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
azimashraf, Owner at Shafali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

so sorry for your disappointed, please visit us and personally i will look after you thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed an evening meal here recently and were well looked after by Azim our waiter. Great choice of traditional Indian dishes, rice and breads. We opted for the Butter Chicken and a Chicken Jalfrehzi, both were excellent. Restaurant is licensed so would recommend the IPA...beer. Mango lassi was also great. Highly recommended!More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
ByWard Blue Inn
1,012 reviews
.11 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
1,013 reviews
.11 km away
Andaz Ottawa ByWard Market
1,561 reviews
.12 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa Downtown East
39 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kochin Kitchen
272 reviews
.10 km away
The Keg Steakhouse & Bar
720 reviews
.09 km away
Ahora Mexican Restaurant
482 reviews
.01 km away
The Smoque Shack
485 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
ByWard Market
4,956 reviews
.14 km away
Vineyards Wine Bar & Bistro
30 reviews
.16 km away
Heart & Crown
41 reviews
.16 km away
The Rainbow
13 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shafali Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing