We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rowan

915 Bank St, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 3W5, Canada
+1 613-780-9292
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (16 reviews)
“pork pie” (13 reviews)
“trout” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
915 Bank St, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 3W5, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is an eclectic mix of gourmet food and comfortable dining. The table for two by the large garage door window was warm and allowed a dynamic change of street side people watching. The service was polite, personal, attentive but not intrusive. The atmosphere...More

Thank PWalkington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We tried to get a reservation at the Frasier Café, but it was booked. They suggested their sister restaurant, the Rowan, in the trendy Glebe area of Ottawa. Overall, we were not disappointed. Fun atmosphere and excellent service. Terrific cocktails. I would recommend against the...More

Thank icopnick
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

came here for a dinner with another couple. the space is small. not squished, but certainly cosy. we started with some bar aps with some craft beer and dove right into our mains. the snails were just right. i had the steak which was cooked...More

Thank TBS-Funtimes
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Frittata ws only average in taste. my hamburger was very dry and way overcooked and at $17.00 .Better tasting hamburgers and less less expensive at McDonalds, A&W, etc. Absolutely will not go backMore

Thank mtr1945
TheRowan, General Manager at The Rowan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, feedback is always appreciated. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, and in fact the standards we hold ourselves to. I would like to have a more in depth telephone conversation with...More

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Our first time there - a Saturday night. Just loved it. We had the duck confit and the chicken breast. Melt in your mouth, the sauces were extraordinary. We shared the Bakewell Chocolate Tart for dessert. Not our taste, so we probably wouldn’t have it...More

Thank Lynn S
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We were visiting our son in Ottawa on a Red Black game day. We went into The Rowan for brunch. The place looked like a hole in the wall but right away, we realized this place is special; We were greeted warmly and given an...More

Thank G M
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Three out of 4 meals were good. Trout was fishy tasting. Chicken, steak and duck were good. Mix drink was not good tasting from the 3 previous times. Chocolate tart dessert was too hard to cut through with a fork. Tea latte was luke warm....More

Thank Samgahowe
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Visiting Ottawa and went in for lunch with my daughter and infant grandson. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was delicious. All around very good experience. Would definitely go back

Thank TravelDoc5210
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere and great food. I have eaten hear a number of times, the menu is always fresh, the service great and the food fantastic!

Thank Kimberley C
Reviewed 14 October 2017

That treasure is very small, but that's what makes it special. Must say that the food is very good. The flavour is in every bite. The prices are a little bit on the higher side for lunch, so for me, it's a one in a...More

Thank simpletulip
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Ottawa
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
1,701 reviews
1.48 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
1,645 reviews
1.90 km away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
807 reviews
2.09 km away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
723 reviews
2.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kettleman's Bagel Company
210 reviews
.02 km away
JOEY Lansdowne
284 reviews
.19 km away
Craft Beer Market
168 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Canadian Museum of Nature
1,701 reviews
1.43 km away
Lansdowne Park
189 reviews
.24 km away
Dows Lake Pavilion
162 reviews
1.56 km away
The Glebe
132 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Prunce
14 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Kyle D | Property representative |
Our menus for lunch, dinner, and brunch are all available and current on our website. thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Highchairs Available
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 915 Bank St, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 3W5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Ottawa
  • Phone Number: +1 613-780-9292
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing