We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sophisto-Bistro - CLOSED

9 Cobourg Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1A1, Canada
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible10%
16 Oct 2014
“MY FAVORITE RESTAURANT IN STRATFORD, HANDS DOWN”
3 Aug 2014
“AVOID THIS RESTAURANT IF YOU ARE GOING TO THEATER!”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Canadian, French, Mediterranean, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Cobourg Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1A1, Canada
All Details
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Sophisto for the third year in a row. We did not experience any problems with timeliness of the food. The owner has always been very nice to us, and we have never experienced rudeness or aloofness...More

Thank TheLearnedDoctor
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The service and food timing in this theater dominated town was simply shocking and unforgivable. If I had be able to see and heed my own warning in the title of this review, I could have avoided all of the following occurrences- each of which...More

2  Thank Zan23
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a 5:45 reservation. The fun started with my wife's drink being spilled down her back. The waiter, after expressing that "this will probably get me fired" never returned with the promised towel to help dry my wife off nor a fresh napkin for...More

6  Thank Mike T
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had heard about this for years, but the price was ridiculous, but finally we decided to try it. Yes, the food was good, but the place was so, so pretentious. Have you ever walked into a store where the staff acted as if they were...More

3  Thank dougitornot
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at 5:45 and received our dinner at 7:25. We had a 20 minute walk to get to an 8:00 theatre, which left us 15 minutes to eat a hugely expensive dinner. It was the worst dining experience ever, anywhere. The waiter did the...More

3  Thank MassimoLido
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Yes, pricey, but cheaper than the regular Rundle's, and just as pretty. 2-course menu w/o drinks (or tax or service) $40; 3-course $50... but definitely worth it for that special meal in Stratford. And, they understand play schedules. Conveniently located between the Avon and Tom...More

2  Thank RomeTheSecondTime
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for dining with us, and taking time to share your review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lovely spot to enjoy pre theatre dinner in Stratford, and we totally recommend it. Excellent food and service. We enjoyed the set two- and three-course menu, great value. The bistro wine was also very reasonable, at $35/bottle ($9/glass). Amazing find, the best bistro in town,...More

5  Thank Thomas P
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for dining with us, and taking time to share your review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Sophisto-Bistro in August. Looking back on our one week in Stratford, it was my favorite dining experience. We ate at all of the other highly rated restaurants in Stratford during that week. The service, atmosphere and food at...More

2  Thank TheLearnedDoctor
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for dining with us, and taking time to share your review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had an excellent meal here. The service is first rate and each dish is carefully prepared and beautifully presented. It IS pricey but well worth the cost.

Thank djhkswis
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for dining with us, and taking time to share your review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very pricey and elaborate for pre-theater since their business is so slow that Bistro was closed and given a table and menu for Rundles. Service was attentive, food, food was good, but more elaborate and costly than expected or needed pre-theater.

Thank Tigerworld
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pazzo Taverna and Pizzeria
925 reviews
.10 km away
Balzac's Coffee Roasters
261 reviews
.14 km away
Fellini's
451 reviews
.10 km away
Boomers Gourmet Fries
449 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Avon Theater
424 reviews
.34 km away
Shakespearean Gardens
82 reviews
.32 km away
Stratford City Hall
56 reviews
.26 km away
shane norrie contemporary
13 reviews
.24 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$31 - US$38
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Cobourg Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1A1, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Stratford
Description
Rundles' Sophisto-Bistro will no longer be available. Rundles Restaurant will be open as usual, for our 40th season in Stratford, from May 20 to September 17, 2016. Cheers, The Rundles Team
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing