We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gahan House

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
126 Sydney St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1G4, Canada
19026262337
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 23:00
Mon - Tue 11:00 - 00:00
Wed - Thu 11:00 - 01:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,218: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Found not many places open on a sunday night in January. Found the Gahan House on line and wanted to try the Deep Fried Brussel sprouts.. Good food , good beer and friendly waitress. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
Alberton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Awful place! It was too dark, the service was slow but polite. THe food was terrible for a first rate recommendation...over priced and overrated! Just a beer parlor!

Helpful?
Thank patjackman2017
YYG
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great to see a pub with a gluten free cider on tap. The Curry was pretty good and the kids liked it too.

Helpful?
Thank K5298OOdavidw
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The food was ok.. I expected better when she served me the brown bag of fish and chips. The fish was not cooked in high enough heat. My Father makes better fish and chips at home. + the server had no idea how to redirect the cold air hitting me in the chest at the table. I guess she had... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMBIker
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This is one of my favourite places to eat out. Not only is the atmosphere top notch but the food and friendly service compliments it all. If you want a quiet area or a larger area for fun groups this restaurant has it all. Staff ate always so friendly and will be more then willing to be sure to accomiddte... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ate there twice just because the staff was so wonderful. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. I really loved the food from the pork sandwich to the fish chips. This was the best place to eat in the downtown area. I started at the Olde Dublin Pub which wasnt bad but this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
GahanPub, Social Media Coordinator at The Gahan House, responded to this review

Hi Mark B, Thank you so much for visiting us and for sharing your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the food as well as the overall experience here at Gahan and we'll make sure to pass your compliments along to the staff. Looking forward to seeing you again, Alyssa More 

Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have been to The Gahan House on a number of different occasions, some times just the two of us, sometimes with other family members. We have always had warm, polite and great service and the food was prepared well and we have always been pleased. I have no hesitation in recommending The Gahan House.

Helpful?
Thank Jimcountry
GahanPub, Social Media Coordinator at The Gahan House, responded to this review

Hi Jimcountry, Thank you for visiting us! We're thrilled you hear you and your family have enjoyed your experience here at Gahan and we're looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for sharing your review, Alyssa More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Atmosphere & service are great, food is disappointing below average pub food. I had beef goulash, was not goulash, was beef stir fry with very little beef. My husband had butter chicken which her asked to make it spicy, it was so salty it was inedible - he sent it back and got fish & chips instead. Fish & chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bish001
GahanPub, Social Media Coordinator at The Gahan House, responded to this review

Hi Bish001, Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your review. We would like to apologize for the disappointing meals and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We strive to serve excellent meals to all of our guests and we're sorry that we failed to do so in this situation. We would love to hear more... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for the first time. We had a wide variety of appies and entrees and everything was very good and good size proportions. All very reasonably priced. Everybody was really happy with their food and the service was very good. All of this on a busy night. We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Islandspud
GahanPub, Social Media Coordinator at The Gahan House, responded to this review

Hi Islandspud, Thank you for visiting us! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the apps as well as the entrees and we can't wait for your next visit! Thank you for sharing your review, Alyssa More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We began by having a lovely evening with a reunion of friends from various cities across the globe. Upon leaving the restaurant at 11:55pm, which was listed as closing at 1am, we were told we could not wait inside for our cabs. We went along with this jokingly at first, but then quickly realized that we were actually being thrown... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M

Travellers who viewed The Gahan House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Gahan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 01:00
Thursday
11:00 - 01:00
Friday
11:00 - 02:00
Saturday
11:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 126 Sydney St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1G4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Prince Edward Island  >  Charlottetown
  • Phone Number: 19026262337
Description
The Gahan House Pub opened in June 2001 and quickly became one of Charlottetown's favourite restaurants. Its unique and friendly atmosphere, food, and fine Ales have helped to establish it as a destination of choice for locals and tourists alike. From our house to your house... Cheers! Hours Monday/Tuesday 11am - 11pm (kitchen close) 12am (bar close) Wednesday/Thursday 11am - 12am (kitchen close) 1am (bar close) Friday/Saturday 11am - 12am (kitchen close) 2am (bar close) Sunday 11am - 10pm (kitchen close) 11om (bar close)

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Gahan House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?