We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Built in 1910 by Military Tailor, R.J. Inglis, the building at 1210 Peel Street became the Rymark Tavern in the early 30's. For over 60 years the Rymark was a destination spot for Pigs Knuckles and Baked Beans. In 1992 McLean's Pub was established by the legendary Montreal barman, Ian McLean. Ian loved the warm and inviting atmosphere, with its oak beamed ceilings, hand carved fireplace, and many other unique features. With his incredible charm and a handpicked staff, Ian created a new pub on the scene. He has since passed, but his namesake and life's work is now a landmark pub in downtown Montreal!
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Canadian, American
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
75
82
34
5
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
75
82
34
5
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poutine curry hockey game habs peel gravy
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

My friends and I visited this pub for dinner and drinks recently. We ordered a big platter of appy’s to start which were good. Then I shared a huge steak and pepperoni sub and some curry poutine. Sooo good!! Food was quite delicious here, everyone...was pleased with their poutines and subs and burgers etc. I was disappointed with the fact that the gravy is made with chicken stock tho, it’s supposed to be beef gravy and I have an allergy. With that said, the curry poutine (vegetarian) was sooo good!! Service started out really good but then fell a bit short as the evening went on. Could be because it was super busy in there. Overall I would go back and crush another one of their awesome subs.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
StuartAshton, General Manager at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2020

Hi Ber, Thank you for the great review. I appreciate the feedback on the points where we fell short and I will use that to help us get better. Please come back and CRUSH another sub! Cheers, Stuart

Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

I spent the afternoon at your pub waiting to watch a hockey game at 7 pm that night. I know it wasn’t a habs game but thought they could put he leafs game of one of the TVs. Much to my disappointment after spending nan...afternoon and over $100 they couldn’t accommodate my request and sent me down the street to peel pub who were more then accommodating to throw the game of one of their TVs. I wasn’t asking for much but at least the game to be on one of the TVs. I really enjoyed your bar the numerous hours I spent in there but I won’t be back and I won’t be recommending it. DisappointingMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
StuartAshton, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Hi Kathy, As we discussed in our emails, I am sorry that we disappointed you. I've been speaking to my staff as I was disturbed by your email to me. After speaking to them, I can explain a little more why we were unable to...More

Reviewed December 12, 2019 via mobile

We were staying nearby on Peel and saw the buzz at this Pub pre Montreal Canadians hockey game. We were not disappointed. Good food and great atmosphere at the pub. The prices are very reasonable. It seems to be a happening place on game night....I also headd some people saying they were coming back after the game.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
StuartAshton, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019

Hey Conrad, I am glad to hear that you popped in. We do get pretty busy before, during and after the games. During the games we have hockey trivia between periods and then another round after the game. Thank you for the kind words. I...More

Reviewed November 8, 2019 via mobile

Staff is great. Very good feeling of a town bar, two floors, pool table, fuss ball...lots of seating also.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
StuartAshton, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019

Hey there, Cheers for spending some time with us. We think that customer service is key to guest experience and your first line kind of confirms that. That makes me proud and very happy that is what you experienced. I hope you find yourself around...More

Reviewed October 31, 2019

My wife and I popped in for drinks and a bite to eat when stopping off in Montreal whilst on a guided tour of east Canada. The night we were in, Saturday, was manic, really very busy. The local ice hockey team, the Montreal Canadians...were at home and the stadium is very close by. The place was full of people watching the game on one of the many big screen TVs strategically placed around the pub. Later many supporters from the game descended on the pub. Despite being busy, the staff and service were excellent, the food and drink were good and the atmosphere was pleasant. Only downside, the WIFI wasn't working and it was too hectic for a member of staff to correct. Not good for us UK tourists hoping to stayMore

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
StuartAshton, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Hi David, Thank you so much for the review. Sorry that our WiFi was down and that we were too busy to address it at that time. We certainly do get very busy during hockey matches. I am glad to hear that our staff was...More

Reviewed October 22, 2019 via mobile

Came here to watch the NBA games for opening nights. You can’t imagine how difficult it is to do so outside of the country. This is a very typical pub. Wings were decent but the ranch was horrid. Poutine was pretty good. Hubby complained about...their IPA selection. Place is a bit more spacious than other places we’ve been to in town so far. 3 floors with what sounds like a dj on the third floor or at least amplified party music. The servers were really nice and not that fake I want a tip nice just very chill.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
StuartAshton, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Hiya, Thanks for the detailed review. I am sorry we didn't wow you but happy we didn't excite you guys further. We did have a DJ on the second floor. We do love our basketball at McLean's. Sorry that our Blue Cheese dip (not ranch)...More

Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

Came here with my wife for something to eat and drink and the food was good and they had a really good choice of ales . It had a good relaxing atmosphere and the bar staff were really friendly. Good value for money.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
Stash514, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2019

Hey there Charles, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the very kind words. I hope you both not only enjoyed your time at McLean's, but also in Montreal. Cheers, Stuart

Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

Some excellent food eaten here, first time I ever had puteen. Good beer and a range of toppings were offered for this Canadian delicacy. Good atmosphere inside but a bit dark inside so you may need a little torch to see your food or menu...if you can not see very well!!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Stash514, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Hi there, Thanks for the awesome review. We are known for our variety of poutine. I'm glad you got to enjoy one. Thank you, Stuart

Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

Stopped for lunch. Were firstly asked to sit at another table because it was just the 2 of us so we’re asked to not sit at table for 4. That’s ok I understand. Blt for me and husband had ham and cheese toastie. We had...Diet Coke which had a taste of, well I’m not sure if it was chemical or just so weak no flavour. Meal came and it had a pile of dirty, soggy reheated in stale oil chips or fries. They had a stale taste. Were happy to leave promptlyMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
Stash514, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Hi there, It sounds like you caught us on a bad day. It's certainly unlike us. We have many great reviews on our fries. Regardless, we failed you and I am very sorry for that. Best wishes, Stuart

Reviewed August 6, 2019

The Server for this pub made the visit there. She was friendly, helpful, chatty. The food was OK. The drinks were great. Many beer options. One of us had the Caesar it was a like a meal all on it's own.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
Stuart A, Owner at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback and let the TripAdvisor world hear about us. I hope you get the chance to visit us again. Cheers, Stuart

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Le Centre Sheraton Montreal Hotel
2,849 reviews
.21 km away
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
1,641 reviews
.22 km away
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
1,946 reviews
.26 km away
Hotel Chez Swann
550 reviews
.31 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Taverne Square Dominion
611 reviews
.09 km away
Reuben's Deli & Steakhouse
1,151 reviews
.09 km away
Reuben's
1,220 reviews
.08 km away
Dunn's Famous
844 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Barbie Expo
1,308 reviews
.23 km away
Observatoire Place Ville Marie
232 reviews
.23 km away
Les Cours Mont-Royal
63 reviews
.18 km away
Centre Infotouriste de Montreal
59 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Melissa B
February 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from StuartAshton | Property representative |
Hi, Yes, by law our establishment is 18 years and older. We are a bar that serves food (and has lottery video machines) and not a restaurant that serves alcohol. Sorry, wish we could have you visit us. Cheers, Stuart
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about McLean's Pub

Yes, McLean's Pub offers takeaway services.

Yes, McLean's Pub offers delivery services.

McLean's Pub is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4