We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Restaurant Portofino Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Downtown Quebec City
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
54 Rue Couillard, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3T3, Canada
+1 418-692-8888
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

879 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 621: English reviews
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been a few times before before and always have had great food and restaurant. Very busy on weekends.

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

While wandering around old Quebec, my partner and I decided to give this restaurant a try. We did not regret taking the chance at all! The food here is absolutely delicious and the wait staff was quite friendly. I ordered the americano pizza which was made in the open beside the bar and cooked in a wood-burning oven. The ingredients... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AureleaG
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. It is always heartwarming to read reviews like yours as we always want our customers to have an amazing time at the Portofino. We receive a lot of good comments on the quality of our staff and their friendly yet professional approach. They definitely play a huge part in our success as they care... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this little restaurant! The staff was very very attentive and constantly refilled our water and wine. They checked on us the entire evening. Our food was fabulous! We got an app of parmesan fondue with procuitto wrap and loved it. The spaghetti carbonara was rich but had a terrific taste. My husband got a seafood pasta that was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tenpinktoes
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, we are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit at the Portofino! Our employees definitely play a huge role in our success as they really care for our customers. They proudly represent the Portofino and the friendly & authentic values that are at the heart of our brand. We are also very proud... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had one of the best carbanaro dishes that I've had anywhere. Nice atmosphere too. Wife had one of the chef's specil pasta dishes - - also excellent,

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig T
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on your latest visit at the Portofino. It is really nice to read that you had a great time with your wife at our restaurant. We are really proud of everything we have to offer and our pastas are definitely a must as most of our customers tell... More 

Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Place really did not try to make us happy and VERRRRY pricey. I wish we never came here as it really ruined a perfect vacation. Won't see us again!!! The service was poor. My wife soup was cold! The veal marsala came with pasta with red sauce and two tiny pieces of vegetable. Atmosphere not great!

Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyDiesel
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry that you felt disappointed in your visit at the Portofino. We are really surprised by your comments, especially those regarding the quality of the service we offer. Our staff plays a huge part in our success and we receive a whole lot of great comments regarding their... More 

Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a wonderful meal here; we had calamari for an appetizer and shared a pizza. Both were outstanding. Service was a bit slow considering it was a Sunday evening and the restaurant wasn't packed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We are happy to read that you had a great time with us at the Portofino. Our dishes are all made of fresh and premium-quality ingredients as we want our customers to fully enjoy their visit. We are a little bit surprised about the fact that our service was a bit slow as we... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came in 11pm for late dinner after arriving at nearby hotel. They were very accommodating and the pasta came quickly. My tagliatelle with duck and tomatoes was lovely, lighter than it sounds. My friends' bolognese was also good. The recommended Montepulchiano was delicious. Even though we were still there at 12:30am we never felt pressured to leave (there were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jane01778
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words, it is always heartwarming to read positive reviews like yours. Our friendly and authentic staff plays a huge part in our success as they always do their best to accommodate our customers the best they possibly can. Be sure that our customers are always welcomed to the Portofino, no matter the time... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Risotto Fruiti Mare at Portofino Bistro was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend it. The restaurant is quite popular, so reservations may serve you well. The service was wonderful and the ambiance nice. The menu is not inexpensive; however the food is really good. (The Risotto was $30CD and Ravioli was $24CD.)

Helpful?
Thank JumeirahJenny
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit at the Portofino. We couldn’t agree with you more about the fact that doing a reservation is a great idea. Since we often expect a strong affluence to our restaurant, which is hard to predict giving our touristic location, we definitely recommend to all... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

The family and I made a booking at short notice and took the family along to Portofino on a very gold winter's evening. The staff are incredibly friendly and the food is amazing. There's a massive wood fired pizza oven in the centre of the restaurant that keeps you warm and also smells amazing. I would recommend the pizzas, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words, we are happy to read that you had a great time with your family at the Portofino. We are really proud of what we have to offer and we definitely think that our employees play a huge part in our success. Their authentic and warm approach helps making our customers feel like... More 

Seagrave, ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

Wonderful staff, wonderful food, excellent location, fantastic experience. One of the best meals we had in Quebec City. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Tina L
BistroPortofino, Gérant at Restaurant Portofino Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words, we are happy to read that you had a great time with us at the Portofino. We always do everything in our power to give a fantastic experience to our customers, as we take so much pride in what we do. We hope to see you again next time you will visit... More 

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Portofino Bistro also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Portofino Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54 Rue Couillard, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3T3, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  Quebec City>  > Downtown Quebec City
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
  • Phone Number: +1 418-692-8888

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant Portofino Bistro and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Portofino Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?