We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchor Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Thurstaston Road, Irby CH61 0HA, England
+44 151 648 1698
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 10:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 399: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our favourite pub/restaurant. Very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Food never fails to please. Staff very friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

First time to vusit for about 10 months. I took a friend for lunch to cheer her up as she lost her husband a couple of weeks ago. I booked a table on line which was very simple. Our waitress was the best! She was so friendly, helpful and a fantastic sense of humour which my friend enjoyed. The meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank PAUL W
u.k
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The Anchor has always been a favourite restaurant, its probably not best described as a pub, though there is a bar area. the food area has definatly taken over as being a great place to eat really good quality food. It can be busy and staff are sometimes a bit too busy to stay on top of serving, so waiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2princes
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Over all a very pleasant evening with my lovely wife. Food excellent, service great .Will go again .Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Groveant
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for dinner as it was recommended to me. I wasn't disappointed as the food and service were very good indeed. I would highly recommend it and will be going back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
wirral
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Anchor for a meal on the spur of the moment on a Wednesday night having not been for a while. We rang to book and when we arrived, we were glad we had because the place was nearly full and quite a few people came in after us looking for tables. It is a popular pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil_Jane_wirral
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for the great review, it really is much appreciated from all the team here at the Anchor. Unfortunately you are right, sometimes we don't get our staffing levels right however we always try and adjust our rotas so these things are avoided and not repeated, but thank you for being so understanding. Kind Regards Jen... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I arrived at 6.30pm on a Sunday and we were seated behind a wall at the back of the restaurant. We ordered a jug of water which took 15 minutes to arrive. After giving our order to the waitress another 10 minutes later we were told they had ran out of pork so we asked for Lamb... More 

Helpful?
Thank gloria b
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit with us. If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact me on 01516481698. Regards Bobbi Johnstone Assistant Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the Anchor at around 4pm on Sunday afternoon, just as things were quietening down. This was our first visit for around 20 years as we no longer live locally. I was very impressed with the general look, decor and feel of the place. Staff were very friendly and showed us straight to a nice spacious table. Unfortunately,... More 

Helpful?
Thank carol O
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Carol, Firstly let me apologise for your recent disappointing visit with us. If you would like to discuss this in more detail please give me a call on 01516481698. Kind Regards Bobbi Johnstone Assistant Manager More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the £15.95 menu. Bit limited on choices. Food was ok. Front of house staff smart and accommodating. Pub itself was nice inside, clean environment. Was really put off by seeing the chefs at back kitchen door smoking whilest we were sitting at our table. No rush to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Keef G
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I'm so sorry your recent visit with us wasn't up to our usual standard. I have taken your feedback onboard and have passed it on to the front of house and kitchen team. I hope you will return to us and give us a second chance as I can assure you this isn't our usual practice. Kind Regards Bobbi... More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great lunch, food was delicious, staff and atmosphere were friendly and inviting. Would recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mr J

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 
Crosby, Merseyside
 
Thurstaston, Wirral
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Thurstaston Road, Irby CH61 0HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Wirral  >  Irby
  • Phone Number: +44 151 648 1698
Description
Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Anchor Inn - Wirral offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?