We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grey Goose

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7-9 East Street, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS4 1DB, England
+44 1702 544797
Website
Today
11:30 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Tue - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
Rochford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Right from when we booked the venue we had outstanding customer service. The owners were very happy to go along with the theme that we wanted and were very helpful every step of the way. When we viewed The Grey Goose for the first time we were blown away with the cleanliness and the decor inside and was very happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacc35
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here a few times for lunch , never disappointed Good food & a great choice of beers too Fair price wise and accessible via public transport Has a good choice and selection of drinks and chilled wines Seating outside too, nice quaint old Rochford Town Near the market square, station & other shops too Try , it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit a review - now the weather is improving, our large and secure beer garden will come into its own as you've found out. Hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter booked the grey goose for her wedding celebrations, we had a high tea, followed by a family friend singing & evening buffet. The whole day couldn't have gone any better all the staff were brilliant and so helpful they put up a small marquee in the garden, help accommodate our bouncy castle. We was allowed to bring in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dean P
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Thank you Dean, for taking the time to submit this review. We are so pleased that your daughter (and the rest of the family) enjoyed their special day and we are glad to have played a small part in it. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

amazing time stuff where so helpful pub is beautiful couldn't of asked for more will definitely be recommending and will 100% will be coming back great atmosphere thank you again for a wonderful night

Helpful?
Thank kimiep21
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and we are glad you had a good time - hope to see you again soon More 

Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2017

What a lovely friendly place, clean modern and great fun,very nice staff and so helpful we have had birthday parties and all friends and family have had a great time.

Helpful?
Thank murielmansfield
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review - I will ensure your kind comments are seen by the team and we hope to see you again soon More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic day and experienced the best hosting skills possible in an understated establishment! Can't wait to visit again to rekindle the magic moment I shared with fellow patrons and wonderful staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank ncoker83
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Thank yo for your review - we are glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Beautifully decorated, contemporary bar. Good food, good helpings, varied choice and very affordably priced. The staff were cheerful, friendly and polite... would recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review - I will make sure the staff see your kind comments. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

My husbands parents booked the small function room upstairs and I was so impressed, the room was decorated really well, there were speakers to play our own music through and lights. The small bar was manned by very polite, helpful staff and the buffet was just right. Everyone commented on how nice it was and the staff even gave my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grohldoll
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening and will ensure that your comments are passed to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

came here for the martin days 80s evening this was the second monthly one for me although i had a great evening with my friends, and i except that it was very busy but there was one member of staff that served me on a few occasions that i found to very rude.in the end i tried to avoid being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

Sharon, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I apologise if you feel our service fell below the standard you expected and will make sure your comments are passed on. The staff were under a lot of pressure that night as they were one down (through no fault of their own) - changes have already been made... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Great atmosphere.Great music.However.The bar staff on Friday .3rd of March,were unprofessional,rude.Had to wait over half hour to get a drink ,which is fine if they acknowleded you were there and at least apologised..Don't think I would go back for this reason.

Helpful?
Thank John S
The Grey G, Public Relations Manager at The Grey Goose, responded to this review

John, thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Our Martin Day 80's nights on the first Friday of the month are proving a great success. Unfortunately, we were a member of staff down, through no fault of our own, which placed a lot of pressure on the staff to serve in a timely manner. We accept that... More 

Travellers who viewed The Grey Goose also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Grey Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 01:00
Saturday
11:30 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7-9 East Street, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS4 1DB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Rochford
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 544797
Description
Under new ownership and management from October 2015. Bar and restaurant with live music nights and great deals. Visit our website for further information.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Grey Goose and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Grey Goose staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?