We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Robin Hood

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bluestone Lane, Mawdesley | Lancashire, Mawdesley L40 2RG, England
+44 1704 822275
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:00
Mon 17:30 - 20:00
Tue - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri 12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 20:30
Sat 12:00 - 20:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 256: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm unsure as to why anyone would say not to visit this village pub, yet again we enjoyed great food last night, with the same level of service as previously. There is nothing not to like, in my opinion!

Helpful?
Thank Johntay1971
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I like to look for new pubs and will travel up to 40-50 miles to try a new place when we can. We like taking our dog with us and although a lot of places say dog friendly, they aren't really. The Robin Hood is most definitely dog friendly and also very human friendly too! The service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richardinliverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

visit there on occasions the menu is good with pleny of choices and well priced drinks are reasonable good car park easy to find location with the flash just over the road so good after a walk or a round of golf

Helpful?
Thank Philip C
bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We use to eat here regularly but not been for about 8 months as we moved away and will not be returning after lunch don't get me wrong the starter was good but mains was not good plus I've had a off tummy since eating there told them the garlic bread was not cooked and they still changed us never... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank stevesueb
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hope our experience today was a one off, as we waited over an hour for main courses.When we complained about the delay, the owner came to say there had been a problem with the ovens. When they arrived, one was wrong but having waited so long we accepted it and waitress apologised. Food was ok, but nothing special. Beer... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ALE465
cbuk5150, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. I apologise again because we did have problems with our ovens on Sunday which did slow service down as it took us half an hour to get them fully back up and running again, it is sods law that these things only seem to happen when you are very busy!!! Thanks for your patience and... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Robin Hood for a meal today, and can honestly say one of the nicest meals I've had in a while, Being a chef myself, I'm quite picky when it comes to food and everything was cooked to perfection 👌🏻 Really good price aswell

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Called in the first time in a few years although we live very near by. Superb food, superb service and excellent value for money. Will definitely return. Cheese and onion pie was great, pulled pork starters and soup really tasty. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank justineturner
Level Contributor
110 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We used to eat at the robin hood regularly the food was excellent, I used to have cheese and onion pie and my partner steak pie. Went in 2 weeks ago the lady that takes the orders knows I order cheese and onion pie she said it's a new chef and he is trying to put his own stamp on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony R
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

My partner and I called in for lunch today, and I took advantage of the 2 courses for £11.95 offer. I ordered the Calamari with garlic mayonnaise as a starter. It arrived hot, crispy with a beautiful, fresh salad. A main course of Cheese and Onion pie followed, with triple cooked thick chips and a pile of garden peas. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johntay1971
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We called in again on the off chance on bank holiday Monday, we had called a couple of weeks previous but this time there was a new menu in place, at first I was a little bit disappointed because I had already picked what I wanted. I eventually picked home made soup and the Cajun chicken sandwich and I wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank latics1989

Travellers who viewed The Robin Hood also viewed

Mawdesley, Lancashire
Wrightington, Lancashire
 
Croston, Lancashire
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Robin Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
17:30 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bluestone Lane, Mawdesley | Lancashire, Mawdesley L40 2RG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Mawdesley
  • Phone Number: +44 1704 822275
Description
16Th Century Country Inn well known for it first class real ales and exceptional food offer. New management took over in October 2012 and were awarded the Trip Advisor Certificate Of Excellence in both 2013 and 2014. The bar has its own 'Great British Pub Menu' served Monday to Friday with a dedicated Sunday menu every week from 12pm to 8pm. On Friday and Saturday night a 'Chef's Signature Menu' is offered alongside the GBP Menu which features a choice of more contemporary dishes that suit that special night out together or with friends. Menu's are available to view at the main web site.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Robin Hood and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Southport, United Kingdom
28 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Robin Hood staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?