We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
13 Top Street, Wing, Oakham LE15 8SE, England
+44 1572 737634
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
Northampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Veal, Hare, smoked eel, fresh bread, chefs chutneys, roaring fire, good wine list, home made desserts. what more can one ask for.

Helpful?
Thank JoNorthampton
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks, so glad you enjoyed it. All the things we love too. Hope too see you again. James, Kate & The team More 

Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been a few times for pub lunches during the week and always enjoyed the experience. The choice of beers is good and there is plenty of variety in moderately prices sandwiches and ciabatta type offerings. The bar staff are friendly and the pub atmosphere as an original type of pub is very accommodating and warm.

Helpful?
Thank Jasprhi
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, its always nice when our guests take the time out to tell others of their experience when dining out. Hope to see you again. James, Kate & The Team More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Walked to Wing on New Year's day for pre booked lunch.A very warm welcome for us and our dog. We sat by the fire ordered our food then moved to a dining table to return to the fire after eating.A very relaxed time with fabulous food only negative was the local cider was off - many beers to choose from.Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angiet66
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

The Team & I really appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review. As you note the large roaring open fire is quite the draw and loved by everyone seeking some warmth on these now chilly days. Visiting dogs and local ones are also great lovers of the fire and our hand made doggy meals after a cold... More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here last week. The menu is fantastic. Wonderful. The service was first class ( sorry cannot remember the ladies name ). Interesting wine list that we enjoyed and finished off with a bottle of pudding wine with pudding. They know their game and how to cook it. I could not recommend this place enough and look forward to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roaming L
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Its always nice to receive a pat on the back, we all really appreciate your kind words and your taking the time to write and post this review. All the staff enjoy to see that their work and training is appreciated and always goes to put a little spring in their step. As a country pub that does good food,... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016

We dined at the Kings Arms tonight and were thoroughly disappointed. This was to be a birthday meal for my daughter and having dined at The Kings Arms previously we had high expectations. It was a relatively quiet night as not all of the tables were used but curiously the waiting staff seemed more preoccupied with what I took to... More 

Helpful?
Thank den542016
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your observations with us, we appreciate the time you have taken to leaving us feedback. We take all reviews seriously and would like to assure you that we have reviewed the night in question and would like to add the following. As a village pub that serves good food you have us correctly pegged, our locals, diners... More 

London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

We booked 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed sampling the food from the various menus. Produce is supplied by very local farms and plenty of choice. Many locals enjoy using the pub for food and drink so you need to phone and book a table as busy even off season Enjoyed the sloe gin so much we bought a couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodleyfam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

On a short trip from Norfolk to Rutland we decided to stay at the Kings Arms in Wing for two nights with breakfast & evening meals. The room was very good, tidy, clean etc etc. Very comfortable bed. Both breakfast & evening meals superb. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. We will stay here again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

The building is lovely, the food is excellent but when we visited with two active children the staff were terse and uncooperative, and we were very much under the impression that unless the children were 'seen and not heard' they didn't want them there. Sad, because the food is gorgeous.

Helpful?
Thank Scrivener2014
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. All of us here are glad that you enjoyed your meal and as a new father myself would not want to seem discouraging to family's with children, it is why we have a menu solely dedicated to children available all the time. We always believe... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

We will travel out of our way to eat here. That will tell you one thing the food is very good and I do mean good . The portions are always just right . They never cut back on nice touches. There is game proper game not your weak small cut stuff.chef always changes the specials. The menu is all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night break & felt compelled to write a glowing review about the Kings Arms. We received a warm welcome from a very knowledgable, friendly & helpful Michelle on arrival and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. If you love fantastic home made food cooked to exceptionally high standard which is locally sourced with... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynnt67

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13 Top Street, Wing, Oakham LE15 8SE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Rutland  >  Oakham  >  Wing
  • Phone Number: +44 1572 737634
Description
The Culinary Heartbeat of Rural Rutland.The Kings Arms is a 17th Century Inn situated in the peaceful & secluded conservation village of Wing. Surrounded by beautiful buildings of local stone and Colly Weston slate this quintessential English Inn nestles amidst rolling green hills and picture postcard villages. Within easy reach of Peterborough, Stamford, Melton Mowbray, Uppingham and Oakham and only 2 miles from Rutland Water.A laid back, relaxed ambiance is complemented by award winning cuisine created by our team of chefs dedicated to providing the finest food in the area. Villagers and visitors will be found side by side at the Kings Arms creating that wonderful British country pub ambience. Our friendly and motivated staff serves traditional, artisanal and innovative pub fare on rustic wooden kitchen tables, surrounded by beamed ceilings, flagstone floors & open fires. All this alongside a large selection of fine wines, local ales, ciders and traditional soft drinks and you have an experience worth coming out for.The Kings Arms Wing also offers a total of 8 Bedrooms and Suites rated 4 Star by the AA since 2004. 4 rooms in the adjacent ‘ Old Village Bakehouse’ and 4 more in ‘Orchard House’ further up the long private drive. All of our spacious bedrooms are ensuite, with large flatscreen televisions and wi’fi is available throughout.At the top of the long private drive surrounded by a small young Orchard, fruit cages and our laying hens, we have a large off-road car park which can also accommodate small boat trailers, horseboxes and even motorhomes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kings Arms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?