We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Overstrand

) #1 of 6 Restaurants in Overstrand $$ - $$$ , British,
34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
+44 1263 579237
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“hake” (12 reviews)
“roast beef” (12 reviews)
“burger” (26 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Lovely place , pet friendly. From the moment we arrived was made to feel welcome, room was really good family sized room. Sat down in the bar had a good meal with the dog allowed in the bar area to eat. Close to the sea...More

Thank robertwE8567AY
Reviewed 4 days ago

We always pop into here for a meal for the family every time we are up here on holiday. The pub was very nice, the service and food was up to the same great standard. They have spent a lot on new benches, seating and...More

Thank Paffman4
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed to time at the white horse, the garden is a work in progress and will be finished at the end of September! we hope to see you again soon! Ben

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a perfectly acceptable pint with fish and chips here on a warm August evening. Service and food were good, standard prices. Wanted to sit in the garden, but the kids bouncy castle ruined the vibe a bit.

Thank Deetee100
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed you meal. We have a large wooden play area being built at the end of September so you will pleased to know there will be no bouncy castle from then onwards. Best regards, Ben

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been here 3X before and all times it's been friendly service, thirst quenching drinks and the most tasty of cooked sandwiches, especially the steak and cheese melt or the BBQ sausage. Dogs allowed and all sports fixtures on the TV, who wouldn't want to...More

Thank James Y
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the review, hopefully see you again soon, Ben

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I 'cocked up' on the booking for 5, not putting a date on the email booking however they fitted us in on a busy Sat night! We were seated in the back of the pub not great with kids coming and going out the rear...More

Thank Stephen S
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal, hopefully we will see you again! Ben

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with our German shepherd and stayed for one night. Very welcoming from the minute we stepped foot in the hotel to the moment we left. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was one of the best I've had and would visit...More

Thank Krystle H
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Best regards Ben

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostelry has come a long way in the last ten years, from being a lost case to the focal point of the village. The pub has been completely re-vamped, with great food, being gastro recognised. The rear garden is superb, and seating and service...More

Thank redleadernigel
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit! we hope you revisit in late September when we will have all new children's play equipment! Ben

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in for 4 nights and were so pleased we chose The White Horse. Our room was lovely the breakfast was superb,the evening meals were excellent and the bar had a great choice of beers.Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Thank jeanandphilmarsden
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Ben

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Managed to book a wonderful room at The White Horse late the afternoon we wanted and we were not disappointment. Check in via the bar area was easy and welcoming then shown to our room. The room was so pretty and a good size. The...More

Thank nataliebye1
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Ben

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have recently stayed here for a short notice weekend away. A very pleasant, comfortable stay. Spacious, room, rather compact en suite, but with everything you need for a weekend. Very friendly, welcoming staff. Busy restaurant and bar, nice atmosphere for the...More

Thank dorothy050
Ben_0AB, Manager at The White Horse Overstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you again soon! Ben

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
SeaMarge Hotel
166 reviews
.11 km away
Foundry Arms
653 reviews
1.52 km away
Cliff Top Cafe
287 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cromer Lifeboat Station
522 reviews
3.36 km away
Groveland Farm shop
13 reviews
4.56 km away
Hillside Shire Horse Sanctuary
246 reviews
7.03 km away
RNLI Henry Blogg Museum
293 reviews
3.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Daphne L
11 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Liz M | Reviewed this property |
Not a specific car par but plenty on surrounding roads. We always got parked right outside.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 High Street | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Overstrand
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 579237
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing