We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grove Ferry Riverside Pub & Inn

Grove Road | Grove Ferry, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4BP, England
+44 1227 860302
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good16%
  • Average16%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“boat trip” (7 reviews)
“light lunch” (6 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Grove Road | Grove Ferry, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4BP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Had a wonderful evening meal here. Wide range of choice with a well labelled menu for allergies (important for me!). Staff were very attentive and food was fab. Also very dog friendly, another couple had a dog and they have special treats and water bowls...More

Thank Andrea F
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited on a Sunday for some lunch and was not disappointed. The service was very good and we were made to feel welcome. Will definitely visit again.

Thank 155Christine
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at this pub last night . The staff can not do enough to help you . Extremely friendly and lovely looking pub . The room was perfectly clean, complimentary crisps and water , a nice touch . The food is of the "gastro pub"...More

Thank Raj N
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night and our room was lovely but have to say the evening meal was nothing special. The breakfast was horrible with sourdough bread - burnt- served with everything. The smoked salmon was an odd shade of red and the cooked breakfast was...More

Thank momo073
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this was the worst meal I have every had and the food was so cold like it had just come out of the fridge and I had ordered the meat platter not what I wanted.

Thank holidaysam333
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Great food it's just been taken over so there getting use to pub menu ect ect friendly staff food was worth the wait a1 5*

Thank Jamie M
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We have often popped in for a drink and bar snack on the way back from walking the dogs on the beach at Birchington. Certainly always popular and busy. Lovely garden by the river Stour in the summer and some small animals to amuse children....More

Thank philip l
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Great looking pub in great location. Animals in the garden (pigs/chickens) which is great for kids. On the river so lovely location, great food and staff friendly too. Food is ok but not out of the ordinary but we may have git it on an...More

Thank Jason m
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Had a fabulous river trip. Booked a table for our return. Very slow to take order for drinks and food. Waited a long time for food. Roast dinner was luke warm but tasted ok. My vegetarian burger was cold and no flavour. Didn't like to...More

Thank Brian M
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Came to the grove ferry as has been good food and nice atmosphere in the past but unfortunately on Monday it wasn’t the case. Starters were nice, yet the mains club sandwich was terrible, stale bread, far too much margarine spread - seemed as if...More

Thank fatbastards
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Half Moon & Seven Stars
56 reviews
2.78 km away
The Gate Inn
257 reviews
2.82 km away
The Red Lion
285 reviews
3.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grove Ferry River Trips
60 reviews
.11 km away
Sarre Windmill
9 reviews
2.81 km away
Stodmarsh National Nature Reserve
39 reviews
3.95 km away
East Blean Woods National Nature Reserve
14 reviews
3.98 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Steve M
24 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tim F | Property representative |
Hi Steve, I'm sorry to hear of your experience, although I'm not entirely sure what your question is in the matter as this is the question section of TripAdvisor. I wish you had left additional information in regards to... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, View
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Grove Road | Grove Ferry, Upstreet, Canterbury CT3 4BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Canterbury  >  Upstreet
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 860302
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to our homely little slice of Kent. The Grove Pantry Pub is an old Georgian manner sitting on The Great River Stour in the middle of the Stodmarsh Nature Reserve. The Georgian manner is now our very own pantry pub with pigs, goats, chickens, pheasants and quails all in our gardens and helping us to be proper country folk. Our menu is brought to you by our very own forager chef who trawls the countryside each season to bring you fresh ingredients. If our chickens are up to it the eggs on your full English will be freshly laid and collected that morning and if you cant quite polish the breakfast of don't worry Lily and Pickle our pigs will eat the left overs except for the bacon naturally. If you are naughty during your stay the team might rope you in to helping pick the fresh veg, herbs and fruit from our garden or feel free to volunteer and you might get a free slice of cake. But don't forget there is loads to be seeing and doing in the local area including boat trips chartered from the pub and pleasant walks around the nature reserve that boasts some very rare birds and beautiful panoramic views of the marsh and river. Don't expect a glitsy spanking hotel but expect loads of character, lovely old rooms with all the facilities you need to spend a weekend in the country with the added benefit of a short hop to the beach or Canterbury itself. The pub has it's very own pantry area where you can pick and choose items made by the team, we have open fires and stoves, plenty of comfy chairs, a menu to make your mouth water, ales racked up on the bar and some scrumptious wines. The rooms are big and airy in that typical Georgian fashion, each is individually styled and has it's own bathroom. All rooms have large sash windows overlooking either the river or across our front garden into the nature reserve. oooh! And with a bit of notice you can ring us to go out with the foraging chef for morning or afternoon call us direct to find out a little more.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing