We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
+44 1661 853161
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (6 reviews)
“burger” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch when it was recommended by a friend who had visited last year. I’m not a fan of dogs and was disappointed to see when we arrived that dogs are allowed in the eating area as I feel this is a hygiene...More

1  Thank Donna H
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Donna By the sounds of your review you were dining in our flex area, this can be used for drinking and dining. Dogs are not allowed in our main restaurant area, only allowed in 2 sections of our pub as we know some people...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to The Swann Heddon-on-the-wall for a number of years and always found the food acceptable. However, on our recent visit this week we would have complained but as we were with friends whose local pub this was we didn't want to. My...More

Thank werner n
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are so sorry that we let you down on your recent visit. As you know from previous visits this is not our usual high standards Please reach out to us at the pub if you would like to give us a chance to fix...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend I had walked from Wallsend and were hungry. We stopped here and had steak pie with mash and veg. Along with a pint of Doombar it hit the spot. The surroundings were pleasant and friendly staff.

Thank Homeboy_hols
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are glad you enjoyed your food and Doom bar! Thank you for your lovely feedback and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travel! we hope to see you again Thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Swan on a Sunday evening for a meal, after completing a section of the Hadrian's wall trail. Pub had a relaxed atmosphere and well decorated. We ate in the pub area, but they did have a restraunt area. Meal and beer was nice....More

Thank Janner31
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our food and atomsphere and hope you completed your walk in one piece Thanks again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived here after a long walk ready for a light lunch. Disappointed with the very limited choice of ‘light bites’ all with chips!! Bar lady was very helpful and offered salad with our sandwiches instead which we took. We ordered 2 ham and cheese sandwiches...More

Thank BarbaraMills
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

we are sorry for letting you down on this occasion, this is not our usual standard, i will look into this and correct it so nobody has the same expereience sorry again and we hope youl give us another chance in the future Thanks

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I go for a drink here now and again. Since its changed hands I've noticed two things. Firstly the naked favouritism of regular drinkers which happened again on Friday night. This has been the case for some time with no attempt to hide it. Also...More

Thank Dimotane
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there Thank you for leaving your feedback, always good to hear what our guests think regardless if it is positive or negative. I will most definitely be looking into the "favouritism" you mention and see why you think this is the case. Of course,...More

Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Heddon on the Wall on the first night of our Hadrian’s wall walk and visited here for our evening meal. We were not disappointed. Food was delicious and a good size and staff were friendly and welcoming. Couldn’t have asked for more!

1  Thank Dharrop74
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Customers can only 'speak as they find'; in our case The Swan came up trumps and we had a great expereince. First, a big shout out to Joe who is a credit to the establishment and village. He's welcoming, polite, knows the menu well and...More

Thank Brian H
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Brian Thanks for leaving your review. So pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us. I have passed on your comments to the team and expecially Joe who appears to have been an absolute star, he is over the moon with...More

Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Been here several times in the past when it was a carvery and was lovely came last week since it changed hands and was not good to say the least. Considering they are charging £11 for a beef dinner meat mostly fat Yorkshire puddings flat...More

Thank nix b
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hello nix b Thank you for leaving your review. We seem to get mixed reviews on our Sunday dinners from our guests and although some enjoy, I can see here in your case you haven't enjoyed yours. It is absolutely true that we are no...More

Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

Taken to table early & ordered quickly. Drinks arrived very quickly. Lovely starter of prawn & lobster cocktail. Wanted little while for mains. Chicken pie very nice. Lamb shank tender & tasty! Beautiful roasties but Yorkshire pudding terrible! Waited ages for dessert.Strawberries missing from chocolate...More

Thank judybabe
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hello judybabe Thank you for leaving your feedback. I'm pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your experience with us. It appears our yorkies need some work and your pudding was not up to scratch and I thank you for letting us know, I do...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Heddon-on-the-Wall Hotels
Close House Hotel
128 reviews
1.15 km away
The Plough Inn
156 reviews
3.84 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
183 reviews
4.26 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
1,511 reviews
6.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Dingle Dell
76 reviews
.12 km away
The Number Nineteen
28 reviews
.01 km away
The Swan
13 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Boathouse, Wylam
44 reviews
2.72 km away
North East Falconry
8 reviews
3.66 km away
Prudhoe Castle
87 reviews
4.95 km away
Prudhoe Golf Club
20 reviews
4.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
BlueBoat52
July 21, 2015|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Linda G | Reviewed this property |
We have been going for about 3 years now and wouldn't have been going back if it was no good. Took our daughter and her partner who realy enjoyed the carvery. They couldn't believe how good the food was and how good the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Heddon-on-the-Wall
  • Phone Number: +44 1661 853161
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;