We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
+44 1228 598941
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (4 reviews)
“burger” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were delighted to be able to lunch at The Swan again. The highlight of our day at Hexham, visiting the antique fair and meeting up with our friend from Heddon, means the Swan is in exactly the right place for us, two friends from...More

Thank CarolM190932
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Carol Thanks for your fab review, it's great to hear that you are your friends have had such a lovely visit and that you like to come back to see us. Kim is thrilled that you have mentioned her and we all hope to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a party of 14 and I enjoyed my food but some others didn't. However, they were Americans and ordered steak so probably used to better. the building is lovely and on top of a hill over looking the Tyne valley excellent location to...More

Thank johnsonwallace
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your meal and gave us 5 stars. We are very lucky to have the view we do and our beautiful pub which we are all very proud of. Thanks again and we hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the swan last Sunday for a late lunch; this is the first time I've visited since it has been taken over by Vintage Inns but it was definitely worth the wait! I was with my husband and a friend; those 2 had a...More

Thank shazbilly
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you so much for your review. Myself and the team think its great and love to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us and enjoyed your meals. I have spoken to the team member that you mention and she is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Swan after a busy day, walking in North Northumberland. We were quite hungry and ordered Yorkshire ham and eggs served with triple fried chips. The food was nice, but small portion even for me and I am not the biggest eater. Eggs were...More

Thank Bridget F
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bridget Thanks for your review. Not sure which one you ordered, but we do serve the ham and eggs as a small meal and a large meal, I'm just wondering if maybe you got the small option. Either way I am pleased you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 20 May 2017

very expensive, poor quality,bad service, went not knowing it had changed hands from the great pub it was.More

1  Thank specialmurf
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hello. Thank you for your comments. We apologise if you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We have been a Vintage Inn for over 1 year now and there are many of our guests that have welcomed the change from what we were before and...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Visited recently for an ad hoc evening out with my daughter. Ordered their pizzas which are done on lovely thin bases and we're delicious. There was a slight confusion over the order and the manageress couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating about it.....gave free...More

Thank lee w
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

HI Lee Thank you for your fab review. We are so pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your visit and meals, hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Very clean and well decorated pub. Excellent staff and service. Good selection of food and good value. Good selection of drinks. Ideal to finish of a day out walking in the nearby countryside.

Thank Alan s
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

HI Alan Thank you for your review. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their visit to us, hopefully we'll see you again soon next time you are out walking :)

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Booked in for a group of four of us and a dog😃 bit of confusion over the dog to bed sure. Even though they say dog friendly. But above that the pub was full to the brim, a birthday party and several large groups but...More

Thank PaulCompton
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Hello Paul Thanks so much for the review. So pleased that you and your party enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Waited here for wall finishers as very close to Hadrians Wall. Comfy and nice atmosphere. Had a few starters when walkers arrived which were tasty and enough. Friendly staff, was quite busy so a popular pub.

Thank Fiona F
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Hi Fiona Thank you for your review and comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us, next time you are at Hadrian's Wall we would love to welcome you back again :)

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Food was poor I ordered fish n chips got 5 chips and a fish finger! We went at 5 o'clock and there was loads of meals that wasn't available........ I live in heddon and it's crap food!!!!!!!More

1  Thank Sharron b
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Hi Sharron Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you left us after your visit disappointed. I am certainly going to investigate what happened here as our Fish and Chips does not consist of what you have described and is one of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dingle Dell
63 reviews
.12 km away
The Number Nineteen
24 reviews
.01 km away
Argent D'Or
32 reviews
1.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Prudhoe Castle
65 reviews
5.45 km away
The Boathouse, Wylam
36 reviews
2.72 km away
Prudhoe Waterworld
34 reviews
5.26 km away
Wylam Railway Museum
5 reviews
2.59 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
BlueBoat52
Do the staff like working here, or would they rather work else where?
21 July 2015|
Answer Show all 13 answers
Response from Linda G | Reviewed this property |
We have been going for about 3 years now and wouldn't have been going back if it was no good. Took our daughter and her partner who realy enjoyed the carvery. They couldn't believe how good the food was and how good the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Heddon-on-the-Wall
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 598941
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing