We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
C$10 - C$49
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Ecuadorean, South American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
24
1
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
24
1
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 24, 2023

One of the few fine dining restaurants in Puerto Villamil, this was the restaurant for the hotel where I stayed. I had an excellent quinoa-crusted chicken dish, along with a large salad and bread sides. Not especially expensive, even for Ecuador. However, the service was...agonizingly slow. The restaurant is badly understaffed and every aspect of the meal took a very long time as a result.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2023 via mobile

Excellent food, good staff, beautiful location. Our large group of 16 friends had a wonderful time at this place. We sat overlooking the beach which made for a really nice ambiance. Each course of food was simply delicious. We all LOVED this place and I...highly recommend it when you visit this island.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 22, 2023 via mobile

Firstly, we found no outstanding food on Isabela Island and stayed at the hotel attached which was quite nice. My first complaint was that the food was more expensive and on top of that there was a 22+% service charge added. I had a uninspiring...seafood pasta and wife had a coated piece of fish that was drastically overcooked. At lunch I had a seafood soup that was good. Other places a short walk but staying at hotel this was convenientMore

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 15, 2022 via mobile

Great food with variety of choices. Enjoyed the coconut shrimp. Service was great and server was very helpful. Great view over looking the ocean.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 10, 2022

I have visited this restaurant twice. My first visit was for tapas and wine, offered at $15. I was warned that I would have to wait, but not that I would have to wait for nearly an hour. Moreover, when, after 30+ minutes, I asked...how much longer it might take, I was told that all food is mad to order and in order of the orders placed. But it was not the case. Nobody would prepare cold food to order. Anyway, it was good, I truly liked it. As for the promised glass of wine, it was served in a sherry glass, less than a half of that glass. I thought it was a special glass, to go with tapas , but it turned out to be their usual glass of wine. Then, it took a very long time to pay - there were people leaving, because of the lack of service , there were some other problems, and only one person to deal with it all. And only one person who served food and drinks at the terrace which had no free tables left. To fight the crowd, I came very early for my birthday meal, probably around 6 pm. I ordered chicken in the maracuya sauce , a glass of wine, and dessert. I was fully ready to wait for MIN 30 minutes and was watching an absolutely fantastic sunset. Suddenly, I was welcomed, from behind my back, by a woman, who turned out to be Marita herself. I told her how much i enjoyed my first visit, how I had send many people her way, and told her that I wish there would be a desert other than a brownie with ice cream, which the waiter had claimed to be the only one available. Then, out of a corner of my eye I saw a food plate on my table, of whose arrival nobody warned me. So, I excused myself and went to eat. wondering why neither the waiter, nor Marita had told me a word about my food being already on the table. Next, I wondered why there was no wine on the table. (good service, right???) I went to look for a waitress, and soon she returned with, again, less than a half of sherry glass of cheap, but drinkable white wine. (other restaurants at Isabela served wine in wine glasses), But things got only worse. except for the waitress informing me of a sudden availability of two kinds of muss. The two small pieces of chicken had clearly been slightly warmed up after being stored in refrigerator, They were tough, not cooked in the maracuya sauce, which was smudged on a big plate. The grilled vegetable were right out of refrigerator, not even warmed up. The maracuya muss was excellent, but its size ,,, Also a half of sherry glass, OK, I did not need more chicken or more muss, but I was not asked if I want to pay $20 for the cold left overs or $8 for a half of sherry glass of muss. The charges must be proportional. And no self respecting restaurant with a reputation to uphold would ever serve leftovers, for any price, DISGUSTING, really. The total of that meal was $40.87, out of which $4.02 is VAT and $3.35 - the tip/service charge. SERVICE CHARGE? FOR ALL THIS? This is what I asked the cashier, telling her of how little I liked my meal and the service. She called to Marita, telling her that I did not want to pay service charge. I asked to explain it all to Marita, whose English is much better. Well, I did. And what did she say? " I am sorry you did not like it". :( :( :( This discourtesy, this irresponsibility, this mistreatment of clients still make me furious. This is a grossly overpriced restaurant, which, most probably, had been good until no more good reviews were needed. My Ecuadorian friends, who love and understand food had recommended it highly. I could recommend it only for tapas and wine served at the patio right on the beach. Not much food, not much wine, but the view is wonderful. The service, however, must be improved. And to charge for this AWFUL service , whether for tapas or for dinner is simply unethical, as is serving the lunch leftovers for dinner and charging for those leftovers, , serving "a glass wine" in sherry glasses, etc. Not many good restaurants at this beautiful island, no. But there are a few that are priced as if they had some Michelin stars :( And as if their clients could not tell the difference between fine restaurants they have eaten in all over the world and the pretensions of some victims of their own success.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 24, 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner here. Reservations required so we stopped by earlier in the day to make ours. They took our food order at the same time as the reservation. That evening we were seated on the main floor covered deck by the ocean....Only guests eating that night (nothing was overly busy due to covid). Food was really good and fresh-made. Service was a bit absent so we didn’t refill our drinks. Take your passport as it’s required during payment - even though we paid cash. Was a very special evening with tasty food.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 6, 2020

The food was fresh, local and delicious. The owners and staff are so kind and gracious! The breakfast is nbelievable!

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2020

Loved our meal in the outdoor area of this quaint hotel. The food and environment was awesome! If you can't do stairs this location is not for you.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritazechettin, Owner at Restaurante La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2020

Dear Sandra and Chiri, thanks for your review. Great to know you had a great experience with us. Ahh we also have tables in the terrace located in the first floor :). Hope you can come soon again, all the best!

Reviewed January 4, 2020

This hotel restaurant is down the road from the main square, on the way to the pier. However, it is well worth the very short walk. The menu had great choices, very different than the standard fare offered along the main road by the square....The food was delicious. One of the few places that seems to offer vegetables like broccoli, although unfortunately they were already out of veggies when we were there. Restaurant is on the water, but in the dark you can’t see much. May be nice for lunch to have the view.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritazechettin, Propietario at Restaurante La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear 330pattyo, thanks for your review. Great to know you had a great experience with us. Hope you can come soon again, we will spare some veggies for your dish :)

Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

Me and my wife lived in a hotel next door, also excellent service. We have eaten lunch, dinners multiple times, different dishes and always top notch food and service. The veiw over the south sea combined with the kindness of all the staff. Fish, meat,...sallad. Everything tasted good. If you have to wait some extra minutes...no problem. You are on vacation. Feel the " mañana" feeling and relax. Thats why you travel to Galapagos and Isla Isabela. Tonight we ordered the meat from their own farm on the island. Cacao and pepper sauce. Lovley! Recommed this.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritazechettin, Propietario at Restaurante La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2019

Dear Jonny H, thanks for your lovely review. Great to hear that you enjoy our dishes several times. Also many thanks for your recommendation to our readers. All the best and hope you are still in Galapagos enjoying your holidays!

Reviewed December 3, 2019

We were really surprised to find this kind of food in such a small island. they have delicious seafood . The restaurant is in the second flloor and it is a big wooden cabana . We tried breakfast lunch and dinner , all were great....They use produce from Maritas farm. On the breakfast the bread and their juices along with the fresh cheese were outstanding.. For Lunch and dinner you can opt for the daily menu which is reasonably priced or order a la carte. We tried fish, lobster, ceviches and soups all were really great. Desserts were not that heavy. If you are in Isabela I suggest you try it at least once. Their wine selection is limited yet reasonable for the locationMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritazechettin, Propietario at Restaurante La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2019

Dear kcanavan2010, thanks for your lovely review and for suggesting our restaurant to our readers. Great to hear that you had a great experience wirt breakfast buffet, the daily menus and with our different main dishes. Hope you can come back soon again, all the...More

Reviewed December 20, 2018 via mobile

really disappointed with this place; we ordered three potato soups and chicken which took 40 mins to arrive, the soup was lukewarm, bland and without avocado as advertised, the chicken (15$) was really very average and didn’t taste fresh. we had to prompt the waitress...to bring us our drinks after about 15 minutes of waiting. when we complained and said we weren’t paying full price, at least not service, the manager was surly and unhelpful, eventually agreeing to giving us a discount, albeit through gritted teeth. wouldn’t recommend and what a shame that we began our stay on isabela in this manner.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritazechettin, Propietario at Restaurante La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Dear lizzymaud we remember your case, dinner took some time be prepared but it wasn’t 40 minutes. We are sorry that you did not like completely the meal but you eat it and after that you were asking for a discount. We also remember that...More

Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

I booked this restaurant for my partner’s birthday based on the excellent reviews. Unfortunately we feel the restaurant doesn’t deserve the high ratings it receives due to the following issues: - when ordering we both ordered prawn dishes. After my partner had already ordered her...dish, the waitress told me they didn’t have prawns as they were out of season and instead I would receive the lobster. It was only in my asking for confirmation that we were told that would be the same for my partner and that we would be expected to pay the extra cost for the lobster dish. Maybe it was a case of something being lost in translation but if we hadn’t asked then we would have received a more costly dish without our agreement. - when the two lobster dishes arrived my partners lobster wasn’t fully cooked and the vegetables and potatoes were cold. When the dish was sent back we were told we’d receive a new lobster dish. Instead about 3 minutes later we received back the same lobster just reheated. When we paid downstairs we expressed our disappointment in the meal. Another staff member again suggested that we had been given a new lobster which wasn’t true. To the reception staff’s credit they dealt with it well and took my partners meal off the bill in the end. However what I’d hoped was a nice birthday evening for my partner was long ruined by this point.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritazechettin, Propietario at Restaurante La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Hi Paul, sorry for all this situation but we have made a research about what happened that day and we know for sure that your version is not right. First the waitress that took your order talks really good English so there was not any...More

Reviewed August 6, 2018

This is the best restaurant on the Island! I have eaten in different places on Isabela and this was definitely the best of all of them. You can take lunch on the beach or in the third floor of the main building where is located...the restaurant. I have seen a group of tourists eating a nice buffet on the beach too. You should definitely come to this place.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

One of the nicer places to eat in Puerto Villamil. Good food, reasonably priced. Do try to get a table with a view!

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritazechettin, Propietario at Restaurante La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Dear Tim A. Thanks for your review! Great to know you had a really good experience with us. All the best and see you around!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Redmangrove
216 reviews
.03 km away
Brisas del Mar
36 reviews
.15 km away
Hotel Albemarle
324 reviews
.30 km away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
158 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
El Cafetal Galapagos
325 reviews
.27 km away
Maestro De Casa
74 reviews
.17 km away
Shawarma Hot
133 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Las Tintoreras
892 reviews
1.56 km away
Concha de Perla
960 reviews
.85 km away
Laguna Salinas
194 reviews
.94 km away
Iglesia Cristo Salvador
19 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KateJamieson
October 2, 2017|
Answer
Response from Marita V | Property representative |
Hi Kate, yes we always offer a special and delicious dinner for Christmas! If you are interested send us an email. Unfortunately because of Tripadvisor´s Policy we can not send you our email or webpage link. However you can... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RESTAURANTE LA CASA DE MARITA, Puerto Villamil - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurante La Casa de Marita

Restaurante La Casa de Marita is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5