We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Low Street, Hoxne IP21 5AS, England
+44 1379 668275
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good18%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish burger” (3 reviews)
“ham egg chips” (2 reviews)
“liver” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Low Street, Hoxne IP21 5AS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought the food was very good nice standard pub food nothing special just good grub. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in front of the log wood burner, even tho the owners did like to talk about complaining customers behind the bar and done business calls for all...More

Thank Juliette121312
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Juliette, Thank you for your kind review and support, it would be great to see you back again at the Hoxne Swan. Kind Regards Darren.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a group we all chose all the Sunday roast options. All good. I had the pork which was tender though a bit of crackling would have been a nice compliment. Fine selection of veg, especially the braised red cabbage which was done properly with...More

Thank MeandMrsJ0nes
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team at the Hoxne Swan. We hope to see you back soon for the Sunday Roast. Kind Regards. Darren.

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Went to The Swan Inn for my mums 80th birthday, on our arrival we were greeted by wonderful and friendly staff who made us very welcome. When we were seated at our table we were shown a most wonderful menu which made it very difficult...More

Thank Wendy G
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi Wendy, Thanks so much for your kind review and support it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. I am so glad to chose us for your mums 80th Birthday. We hope to see you back again soon, thanks for your...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Whilst staying nearby in Stoke Ash for my boyfriend's birthday we had a meal here. The bar staff were incredibly accommodating and helpful. The food menu was brilliant - fabulous range of country pub meals. We ate in the restaurant and the food was exceptional....More

Thank Charlotte H
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Charlotte, Thank you so much for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team at the Swan. We hope to see you back again soon. Thanks for your support. Darren.

Reviewed 25 September 2017

We throughly enjoyed our Sunday lunch and the warm and friendly welcome and service. Three had the traditional Sunday roast beef with all the traditional extras. One had the traditional steak which was top notch. All portions were very generous and well presented. The chocolate...More

Thank iaingibson27
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi Ian & Jan Thank you for your continued support of your local pub, it is appreciated by me and all the team at the Hoxne Swan. It is always good to see you both at the Swan with your friends. Kind Regards. Darren.

Reviewed 18 September 2017

You often find that when you are a large group the food isn't as up to scratch as you would like, or that service is slow, well this is far from the case at The Swan. Cannot rate Darren and his team highly enough. The...More

Thank FeeFee44
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

FeeFee Thanks for your kind Review and support, it was great having you all at the Swan. I am glad we made the day special and could arrange an excellent singer for your afternoons entertainment. We hope to see you all again in the near...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely lunch at The Swan Inn on 16/09, 19 of us to cater for and I couldn't fault it! Great food and a fantastic singer!!

Thank Martine K
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Martine, Thank you for your support and kind review, it is appreciated by all the team at the Swan. I will pass on your compliments to Damien regarding his singing. We hope to see you all back again soon. Kind Regards. Darren.

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Good food, great service, lovely pub, can't wait to go back when the fire is on as felt a little cold.More

Thank Carla C
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Carla, Thank you so much for your kind review and support, it is much appreciated by all the team at the Hoxne Swan. I have stocked up my log shed again to get ready to light the 3 fires we have. We hope to...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

First visit in about 5 years. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience with good, well cooked food and a comprehensive menu. Friendly, efficient staff, good beer just as I remember from my first visits over 25 years ago. Really pleased to see the Swan back!

Thank Clive D
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Expectations were high, going back to The Swan as its only 10 minutes from home and they serve a lovely pint of favourite beer Timothy Taylor. I wasn't let down by my pint! We were a table of 13 at lunch and across our party...More

6  Thank DJHFramlingham
Darren T, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review and support, sorry it was not up to our usual high standards on this occasion. The Lambs Liver & Bacon has been our most popular dish since we opened and is brought in fresh everyday from the local butchers. The...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Horseshoes at Billingford
43 reviews
2.01 km away
The Oaksmere
226 reviews
4.21 km away
The Old Kings Head
160 reviews
4.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
The 100th Bomb Group Memorial Museum
105 reviews
4.42 km away
Yaxley Cherry Tree
9 reviews
6.50 km away
The 95th Bomb Group Hospital Museum
15 reviews
3.79 km away
Shorelands Wildlife Gardens
130 reviews
4.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$19
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Low Street, Hoxne IP21 5AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Hoxne
  • Phone Number: +44 1379 668275
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing