We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tay Street Beach Cafe

) #14 of 80 Restaurants in Mount Maunganui $$ - $$$ Cafe, European,
Crn Tay Street & Marine Parade, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
+64 7-572 0691
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (22 reviews)
“fish tacos” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Crn Tay Street & Marine Parade, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 319 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Well it was certainly full of people though but the beach is just over the road (where we went for a stroll after our visit). I hardly even attempt to go to the main beach for a cafe now as it's too crowded. The staff...More

Thank Mambovicki
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Very popular beach cafe. Often don't stop because it's so busy. Had a lovely breakfast on a sunny winters morning. Food incredible, staff attentive and friendly and the coffee was awesome

Thank Keryn69
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's hard to beat this spot in the sun, across the road from the surf beach. Unfortunately the well written and pricey lunch menu failed to deliver enjoyable meals. The signature fish and chips was very underwhelming. As well as a couple of other meals....More

Thank Adam C
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meals - but there is little to go on why. The fish n chips is very popular as the fish is fresh daily and all other ingredients on the plate, fries and salad are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had been out running, doing my usual reconnaissance of places we visit and spotted this two miles from our apartment, so when it was breakfast time I would ideally have like to walked there however the heavens open, so we drove. The place had a...More

Thank Chatz2014
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback - we are really glad you enjoyed your Tay St experience so much.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were very friendly and the food (we had eggs bene, waffles, and coffee) was good, but unfortunately we had to wait nearly an hour for it.More

Thank Gina446
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for letting us know we missed the boat on this one, though it is very odd that it took this long and is totally out of the ordinary. If there is ever an issue or we have not met your expectations always let us...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Used to come here all the time but not any more. Too pricey now at $16 for two eggs and one pice of toast and the final insult was being charged $2 for an extra piece of toast! We seated ourselves and got our own...More

Thank Becky F
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Very disappointed to hear you were not happy this visit. Whilst the menu says $16 for Eggs on Toast, it includes one side e.g Streaky Bacon for this price - so either you ordered just Eggs on Toast and were charged $10, or received one...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This would have to be my husband and I favourite place for brunch...it's across from the beach...great location, food and friendly staff. Nice outdoor eating but just as great inside.

Thank Vivette T
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to hear you enjoy your frequent Tay St experiences. We try hard to make the experience relaxing and enjoyable so it is good to know we have achieved this. Thanks for posting feedback we appreciate it.

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Tried and true cafe. Prime spot on the waterfront Marine Parade. I don't go often these days but it's good for meeting up with friends

Thank 68skp70
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for posting feedback. Glad you find Tay St consistently good and you can share it with friends.

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Had a Sunday brunch which was excellent, with great coffee and food. Staff very helpful and nothing was a bother, even though they were very busy. Recommend the roasted mushrooms.

Thank JCM60k
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Yeeha ! - glad to hear we can nail the service, coffee and food on a busy day. Thanks for posting feedback, we are very happy you enjoyed your Tay St experience.

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Nice location a very quiet cafe the food was good very busy just didn't seem 2 have it great place for the locals the coffee was very average very mild taste not that well madeMore

Thank Pat W
HospoEnthusiast, Owner at Tay Street Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for posting feedback, and helping us to improve. We admit we are somewhat confused on details of your post though. We assume you mean "the Café is in the quieter part of town and there is always parking available" - good. Yes "we are...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pizza Library Co
195 reviews
1.22 km away
Vagabond Cafe
48 reviews
1.10 km away
Mount Social Club
82 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mount Maunganui Surf Academy
44 reviews
1.48 km away
V8 Trike Tours
26 reviews
1.60 km away
Discovery Surf
14 reviews
.13 km away
Rocktopia Adventure Centre
17 reviews
1.40 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Vanessa B
do you sell gift vouchers? My Dad and his wife live over there and I am in Australia. I want to buy them a gift voucher to be delivered or held there. If you can do this I would like to pay over the phone if possible. thank you
1 September 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from HospoEnthusiast | Property representative |
Hi there. Yes we sell vouchers but I cannot take credit details over the phone. If you can email me (address on our website) I can provide bank account details and instructions for you and we can post the vouchers to your... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$22
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crn Tay Street & Marine Parade, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga  >  Mount Maunganui
  • Phone Number: +64 7-572 0691
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing