We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Head

Napton-on-the-Hill Southam Road | Napton on the Hill, Napton-on-the-Hill CV47 8NG, England
+44 1926 812202
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (40 reviews)
“sunday roast” (23 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Napton-on-the-Hill Southam Road | Napton on the Hill, Napton-on-the-Hill CV47 8NG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Have passed the Kings Head for years on the daily commute but have never been in and seriously I kick myself for not trying this great pub before. Having always had a busy car park and a great reputation on the network of friends we...More

Thank 528graemeu
Reviewed 2 days ago

I've been here lots of times and never had a substandard meal. The food is so fresh and tasty, good size portions, the staff are friendly. It has a lovely beer garden, it's family friendly & dog friendly too.More

Thank ukroo
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your very kind review of The Kings Head, as a regular guest it is always great to hear we are consistently providing a very good standard of service. Your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again....More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Called here to meet up with an old friend on the way home from holiday. I had heard good reports on the food whilst working in the area a couple of years back, not disappointed. I was nearly tempted by a starter but was advised...More

Thank Terry B
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your kind review of The Kings Head, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and do hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Julz Judd - Proprietor

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were on a canal boat holiday and stopped by for dinner on 3 occasions during our weeks holiday! This is a classic country pub, with finer touches! Absolutely every member of staff were helpful, friendly and made us feel so at home and special....More

Thank Ferretti-Family
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you very much for your very kind review of The Kings Head, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted you were happy with our menu offerings and the service from our fabulous teams, we do hope you will stop by again if in...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Actually been twice this week, both chosen by other people for a birthday surprise meal. A great choice and didn't mind coming back at all. The first visit was streak night which was delicious and then tonight I had the hanging chicken kebab. Lovely food,...More

Thank Debbie M
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your kind review of your visits to The Kings Head, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Birthday meals with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Julz Judd - Proprietor

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying locally and looked up nearby pubs with good menu and the Kings Head won due to fact we thought the menu better suited a special occasion for a working-class family from the city😁. The service was warm and friendly. The ales and...More

Thank LordNoshbat
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your kind review of The Kings Head, we are so pleased you chose us and enjoyed our menu choices. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Julz Judd - Proprietor

Reviewed 1 week ago

After a day with the family cruising to Braunston and back came in for an evening meal. After snacking all day we only had room for a main but were very pleased with the food. Service was attentive and there was no time pressure.

Thank John A
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. Kind regards Julz Judd - Proprietor

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Frankly reviews must be good as place is in middle of nowhere full of people who have never made it out of this backwater. Food cold when eventually came and look gross. My advice is avoid it if you can.

Thank Rory B
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

On consultation with all of our team members in regards to the week you submitted this negative review, not one member of staff is aware of any complaint or recognises you. Have you reviewed the correct venue? Kind regards Julz Judd - Proprietor

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling by narrowboat (moor up by bridge 109 and it's 200metres towards Napton village) and have used the other pubs in the area which are good but this is a whole new level of excellence. Great food with a modern menu and a gourmet twist....More

Thank Andygranada
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your kind review of The Kings Head, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. Most people canal boating find us through social media, internet and also recommendations from local marinas, we have in the past put signage up only...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our first time here and as it had been recommended by a good friend we had high hopes, and were not disappointed, we had a love welcome from Laura, who organised us a table and got us some drinks while we were waiting,...More

Thank JY-and-PT
Julz J, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your very kind review of The Kings Head, we are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to us and enjoyed our menu offerings too. We are very blessed to have such an amazing team and happy to read you were well...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hollybush Inn
109 reviews
5.07 km away
The Old Olive Bush
107 reviews
5.34 km away
Shoulder of Mutton
104 reviews
5.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Red Lion at Hellidon
23 reviews
6.92 km away
Black Dog
10 reviews
4.62 km away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa
31 reviews
6.04 km away
Draycote Water
350 reviews
7.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kcjsmith95
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Julz J | Property representative |
Hello, Yes we do welcome dogs in the bar & garden areas at The Kings Head. There are always treats and a bowl available for fresh drinking water too.When booking please advise our reservation team you will be bringing your... More
0
Votes
Maggie W
20 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Thekingshead N | Property representative |
Dear Maggie. No it's not a new build, it's been there since the late 60's early 70's I believe. Photos probably don't do the dining room justice it's a lovely room as is the bar area, we are predominantly a dining venue and... More
0
Votes
Suzieque66
9 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from TopTip2 | Reviewed this property |
No, as there is no lake nearby. It is 100m from the canal which can not be seen from the pub either but is a short walk away.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Napton-on-the-Hill Southam Road | Napton on the Hill, Napton-on-the-Hill CV47 8NG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Napton-on-the-Hill
  • Phone Number: +44 1926 812202
  • E-mail
Description
Business owners Andy & Julz Judd welcome you to The Kings Head. January 2012 - Present. Whilst the building is owned by Hook Norton Brewery, the business within it is privately owned, all enquiries should be directed to the Business owners. The Kings Head is situated on the edge of the beautiful village of Napton on the Hill, Warwickshire and close to the Oxford Canal network. Here at The Kings Head we are committed in providing each and every guest with a warm, hospitable service, together with good quality food with an unpretentious price tag. Due to the increasing popularity of The Kings Head, we advise advanced bookings for any lunchtime or evening but especially so at weekends. Telephone and website bookings only, our email is not monitored 24/7 therefore it is advised not to use email as a booking facility. We are very proud to produce all of our menu products ourselves and whilst our busy chefs work very, very hard to prepare and produce each individual dish with the minimum delay,at prime/busy times this is sometimes inevitable, we respectfully request your patience. Did you Know? The Kings Head also offers an Excellent Catering and/or Mobile Bar Service for all Events, please feel free to contact Andy Judd (Proprietor & Head Chef) to discuss any enquiry you may have. If you would like to hear more about The Kings Head, why not like us on Facebook (The Kings Head Napton). Please note: At very busy times early tables (6-7pm)of parties up to 6 people may be subject to a maximum 2 hour table occupancy. We advise a later reservation time is booked should you wish for a longer sitting. Not Happy with Something? Please inform our Front of House Team if you are not happy with something, we cannot rectify a genuine problem if we do not hear about it until after the event. Our aim is to ensure all of our guests leave as happy guests. Andy, Julz & Team
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing