We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar

183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
+44 1246 251674
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (34 reviews)
“rice” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepalese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the Sunday buffet, the staff welcomed us and were very friendly. The food was a self service buffet with really good food, and they did a special meal on request for a vegetarian.Really enjoyable thank you.

Thank Patricia H
kathmandu G, Owner at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much Patricia for your lovely comment. See you.... Regards Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been regulars here, takeaway and dining in, for a good few years. In the past 4 months we've had a few of takeaways and sat in but the service from one or two member of staff hasn't been great and the food has...More

Thank LaLa O
kathmandu G, Owner at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Lala, Thank you so much for dining and takeaway with us form log time. I extremely apologize for the inconvenience. I really appreciate for your feedback. I will check and find out thoroughly the mistakes, how it had happened. Your feedback definitely will help...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a meal at this restaurant last night and I have to say It was one of the best Gurkha meals I have had. The portion sizes were very generous and all of the food was freshly cooked and extremely tasty. As an added bonus...More

Thank Roberto Z
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much Robert for your positive response. Hope we will try our best to serve better in future. Looking forward, Namaste Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were greeted by friendly staff. I have just been to Napal......this food was better! The meal we had was excellent, chilli, garlic chicken in a masala sauce, yummy. The nan bread was perfect for us, they actually added the extra extra garlic that we...More

Thank TWEEDY5
kathmandu G, Owner at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much Tweedy We are happy to hear that you enjoyed with our hospitality. Looking forward to see you. Best regardds Kathmandu

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have had takeaway from here several times and decided it was time to sample a sit in meal here and I am so glad I did. The food here is delightful and is presented in such a way you would expect to pay premium prices....More

Thank scott b
kathmandu G, Owner at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Scot, Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We always value the feedback given to us. Hope to continue our relation. Regards Kathmandu.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just gorgeous, I'm vegetarian & all dishes could be made veggie the mo mo was just lovely. Reasonable price, service good but definitely go for the food, it's really good

1  Thank supermum69
kathmandu G, Owner at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for short and sweet feedback, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed with us. We look forward to see you soon.

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We booked for our friends birthday for the Sunday buffet today. It's somewhere we have been several times previously ever since they opened as we are local Clay Cross people. On previous visits we have been happy, but not overly impressed. Today though I think...More

Thank Fred Sue B
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Fred, Thank you for lovely feedback & also for dining with us frequently. Sorry about your earlier visits and it's great to hear you enjoyed dining with us. We hope we can dine with you again very soon .

Reviewed 19 August 2017

This is our forth visit to this restaurant and it is consistently good .We decided to have a spicy night .We started with spicy poppadoms and wow were they hot ,we then shared a starter of chilli chicken nd it was so good a large...More

Thank michael b
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael, It is fantastic to hear you have been more than satisfied with us again. Thank you for choosing to dine with us. We look forward to seeing you shortly.

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We eat here often .at least once every 2 weeks .every time the food is fantastic and the staff are so friendly .look forward to going again soon

Thank 1954linda313
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Linda, Amazing to know you are really enjoying our hospitality. Looking forward to seeing you soon, too.

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The food here was quite nice, but the choice was v poor. This was on a sunday night and the buffet was on, and they served broccoli !!! Yes boiled broccoli in an Indian Restaurant Buffet ??? Nice staff Nice food Very strange selection Broccoli...More

Thank Simon G
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Simon, We are really sorry to hear you were not satisfied with us . On Sunday our Buffet is multi-cuisine and only on Sunday. This is because people wanted a range of new and different tastes.We also try to change every week but some...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Horseshoes
244 reviews
.47 km away
The Six Halts
188 reviews
1.12 km away
Cobs R Us Ltd
7 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chuckles
10 reviews
.92 km away
The Crispin Inn
112 reviews
4.27 km away
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
94 reviews
6.13 km away
Hardwick Hall and Gardens
1,775 reviews
7.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bazatpond
24 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Craig M | Reviewed this property |
Agreed, apparently if the restaurant is busy (all 6 tables booked) then you have to wait 2 hours to eat. ps. my name is Craig!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Clay Cross
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 251674
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing