We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Independently owned casual fine dining restaurant. Constantly awarded Top Chef, Top Fine dining and Top Catering restaurant in the area for past 10 years. Eclectic menu and good wine list. Very interesting appetizers. Strong catering division with a variety of options. We accommodate food allergies and in tolerances whenever possible. Reservations always appreciated. We open early for parties of 20 adults or more. Call for more information anytime! JOIN US FOR HAPPYHOUR. ALL APPS AND BOTTLES OF WINE - HALF PRICE. MONDAY TO SATURDAY 3 TO 5PM. WOW!
PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$43
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Italian, Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Television, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Table Service
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
459
128
65
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
459
128
65
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster lamb crab cakes pasta special occasion penny appetizers
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 19, 2022

Had an awesome dinner experience at Chatterpaul's. From our friendly waitress Jennifer who remembered our names and was on top of everything that our table needed. The Owner also was very friendly and sat with us for abit talking with us. Everything our table of...6 ordered was cooked to perfection, portions were plentiful and delicious 😋. We will definitely be back again.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 14, 2022

Came in for my birthday at 8pm yesterday… the server asked us if we were celebrating anything special and we had told her. She took very long at a table having a full out convo, when we were done eating. She stood at that table...talking for 15 min while we waited. The customer who she was talking to had to tell her to tend to us. She came over and didn’t apologize but giggled. We ordered dessert and it came but two tables down we heard her wish her a happy birthday. My fiancé thought she had something against us cause we were a younger couple? We usually tip 20% when we go to restaurants. It’s embarrassing to not. It was the first time he didn’t want to but he tipped anyway. Disappointed with the service but the food is 5 star. I’ve been before and I remember a five star service. Things change. She seemed to pick tables to be nice to and spend more time at. She didn’t pay any mind to us. Her tone was short. The only time she was quick to come to us was when the bill came. She thought we weren’t going to pay? That’s insulting.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed December 15, 2021

It’s been a few years since we’ve been back but it was the choice of friends who remember going there. We had enjoyed it before and last night was like old times.Everything was superb from start to finish.Nice drinks, tasty apps, special little nibbles from...the chef, excellent mains and great desserts. Our gentleman who served us was a real treat and coped well with our corny comments and had a few of his own. There was no rush and 3 hours passed very pleasantly. It was definitely the best choice for the 4 of us to converge from out of the immediate area. I mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary and another two plates of complimentary desserts arrived! Nothing but top notch from start to finish.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed November 27, 2021

The food and service were excellent. We went here for a special occasion and were very happy with our meal. We had baked brie to start and I had the rack of lamb. My wife had ribs. Both were delicious. My lamb was very tender...and tasty. The sauce was full of flavour. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The one small criticism I have is a couple of the dishes have cranberries, such as the baked brie and the duck. I was going to try the duck but I'm not a big fan of cranberries. I'm sure they would have accommodated me if I asked. Overall, a very good meal and a good time. The restaurant is beautiful. The people we went with have several dietary restrictions and the restaurant is very accommodating.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed November 2, 2021 via mobile

Our recent visit was Saturday October 30th, I left extremely disappointed and will never come back or recommend this place to anyone. In fact, I would go as far to encourage anyone who is considering dining here, rethink your plans! This was supposed to be...a bday dinner fore to celebrate with my wife and 2 daughters. I have ways enjoyed this place as we dined there many times before the pandemic and even ordered takeout during the pandemic in an effort to do our part and support local restaurants. So....indoor dining is back and we were geared up to have a great night and it was anything but. Hands down the worst experience at a restaurant specifically one that passes itself off as a fine dining establishment. I was shocked at how we were treated. Our server was not very attentive, and slow to a fault. It took her 15 mins to actually come to our table after we were seated when every other server was hustling and serving their tables. From the time we sat down it took 35 mins before we recieved water and ultimately the drinks we ordered. The restaurant was more than adequately staffed so speed and efficiency of service should not have been an issue. If that were the only issue of the evening I wouldn't have wasted my time in posting this review. Here's where things went sideways on what was supposed to be a joyous occasion. I ordered the Coco and Crab Cakes - which was one of my favourites from past experience. My appetizer was stone cold. So I flagged down our server and politely complained. She apologized and took it back to the kitchen. 15 mins later she brought back my app, it was the same one as I noticed the bite out of the crab cake, something was off. The sauce curdled and I noticed 2 pieces of pasta in the sauce which is not suppose to be there. When I originally received the dish it had a nice little chunk of lobster. So for $21 and do far a miss. I complained - again politely. Server argued with me told me it was lobster, I showed her and even tasted it and said to her it's pasta, like someone reused a saute pan and reheated my dish. 30 mins later 3 out if 4 of us finished their apps, I finally get mine back all freshly remade, the kitchen took it upon themselves to be creative and totally did a new sauce. No lobster dill cream, some over salted lemon cream sauce. To say the least I took 3 bites and didn't eat the rest. Enter the manager / owner Penny who came to our table - important to note that I never asked to speak to a manager. I thought the server had asked her to come and that she was comming to apologize and make things right. Well, right after she introduced herself she was on the defensive - didn't even allow me to speak basically shaming for the fact I wasn't happy that they screwed up my appetizer? Really? That's how you handle customer service? She then was more concerned with getting our entrees to the table when literally my appetizer had just arrived. She walked off and a minute later our entrees arrive. No apologies, nothing. I've never witnessed an owner acting like that. The funny thing is, as my wife and 2 daughters will confirm, I was nothing but polite the 2 times I complained about my appetizer. I was so shocked that someone would dare speak to a customer that is basically dropping over $300 on a Saturday night, like it's my privilege to eat there? Really? Every guest that dined there that evening it is a privilege for the restaurant not the guests. So in the end, the check arrives $318, the app that they screwed up three times was not removed from the bill, nor anything else. Most places would simply remove the item from the bill, apologize and maybe comp a drink or a dessert. Nothing was offered and I never asked. So as a result,as someone who spends quite a bit of money on dining at restaurants, this is one local spot that we won't be returning to. You had your opportunity to make things right and you chose to be arrogant and rude rather than listening to your guest. Zero customer service,questionable food handling practices. Avoid this place because if your experience is less than satisfactory and you rightfully complain, they will treat you like garbage and run off with your money! Experience does not match the dining check.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?8  
Reviewed September 29, 2021

Our first visit to Chatterpaul's was a complete success! The food was spectacular, the drinks were delightful, and the staff stellar. Even the COVID public health requirements were met in a thoughtful way, and were very much appreciated.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Vacation54268819144, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2021

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We work hard to keep our guests happy and so glad you have become a fan. We look forward to seeing you again. Penny and Chad

Reviewed March 15, 2021 via mobile

We had the Dinner for Two takeout special and it was fantastic. Looking forward to revisiting and trying other menu items

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Vacation54268819144, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2021

How wonderful to hear from you. We really appreciate your kind words and for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again. Any and Chad

Reviewed March 3, 2021 via mobile

Great place for a good meal and good drinks with a fine dining experience and good atmosphere I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed September 8, 2020

It is amazing how this restaurant works, the service, the food, the ambiance. You cannot go wrong with Chatterpauls. And now they have live music! It is amazing.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Vacation54268819144, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2021

Oh my goodness your words make me smile. We have a terrific team and so glad you are a fan. We look forward to your next visit. Penny and Chad, thanks

Reviewed June 9, 2020

We had a delicious meal for two. The salad was huge as were the two meals. The Chatter Rib was so soft, tender and full of flavour. The chicken parm was also full of flavour! Dessert was a perfect size after the generous portions! Can’t...wait to order again!!More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Vacation54268819144, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2021

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review. Glad you enjoyed your dinner for two. Our take out business has become very popular. I guess that was one good thing about covid-19. We look forward to taking care of you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lucien Motel
25 reviews
2.95 km away
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
211 reviews
4.60 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Whitby
326 reviews
4.66 km away
Motel 6 Toronto East - Whitby
197 reviews
4.75 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
A Tavola Bistro
833 reviews
.96 km away
Bella Notte Ristorante
252 reviews
.17 km away
Hooksey's Fish & Chips
58 reviews
1.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Heber Down Conservation Area
134 reviews
3.54 km away
The Ontario Regiment RCAC Museum
125 reviews
4.95 km away
Brock Street Brewery
81 reviews
5.10 km away
Whitby Courthouse Theatre
15 reviews
3.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
gwen s
August 26, 2018|
Answer
Response from pennyj103 | Property representative |
We dont have a dress code. Summer shorts are often seen in our restaurant.
0
Votes
gwen s
August 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Doris D | Reviewed this property |
Yes dress shirts are appropriate
1
Vote
Julia S
November 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Ashley H | Property representative |
Thank you to everyone for your comments. We have a very large guest list here at Chatterpaul's, and you are correct, some people love us and some... well, we're not for them. We do our best every day and are always grateful... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chatterpaul's

Yes, Chatterpaul's offers takeaway services.

Yes, Chatterpaul's offers delivery services.

Chatterpaul's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4