We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
C$18 - C$55
CUISINES
Steakhouse
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
463
128
66
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
463
128
66
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carrot cake shrimp duck mouth watering penny appetizers presentation
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 30, 2023

Service was excellent :). Martini too much vermouth and salty hard olives? Salmon was bland, dry and pasta was over sauced mucky. The Caesar salad was messy and too over dressed, lettuce was soft not - use fresh romaine with light home made or just...garlic and olive oil. The piece of bacon was good! We had business couple with us ..not a good impression. I asked for cheese cake and because I didn’t choose the set menu could not have it apparently? Let people choose from either menu? The brûlée was good. Cappuccino was soapy tasting? Maybe it’s the machine? Just not good at all and we eat out all the time. Overall disappointed; Nothing was or tasted fresh?? Suggestions. Get fresh produce in for Sunday night meals .Your server was excellent!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 14, 2023 via mobile

My twin sister and I celebrated our birthday here in December 2022 What a lovely presentation! The server was very friendly and took excellent care of us the meal was done to perfection. We all enjoyed our meal very much. We were even presented with...a very special birthday dessert. it is one of our go-to restaurants for celebrationsMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 23, 2022 via mobile

We had a business dinner here das a group and we’re treated like kings and queens! Our tarting menu was to die for, maybe a bit too big in portion but “wholly” mouth watering every step! The mixologist Lawrence was a showman teaching us how...to mix 2 drinks! And the wine pairing! Penny of course is one of the best business owners in the business, she prides herself in costumer service and is sure to encourage her staff to make our evening nothing less then exceptional! You made our Red Shoe homes Xmas party something to remember! We will talk about it for years!! Thank you 🙏More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 29, 2022 via mobile

My husband surprised me with an amazing experience at Chatterpauls! From the moment you walk in, you feel welcomed! Our server Macy was excellent! She was very sweet and professional! The appetizer was just the right size and oh so yummy! The quality of food...and presentation was great! Aside from the food, the tunes they played were off the charts! Overall, a wonderful evening of great company, excellent food and awesome music! Thanks for a wonderful birthday celebration!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny J, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2022

Thank you so very much Wen. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and the music! Happy birthday once again. We look forward to seeing you again. Chad and Penny

Reviewed September 25, 2022 via mobile

Went for a birthday dinner on. Friday evening. Service was decent. Our waiter was pleasant. The food was mediocre and quite bland. I think the chef/cooks are trying to be too fancy with presentation that they are missing of taste and execution. You don’t need...to put micro greens on top of everything. I doubt we will return.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2022 via mobile

Ordered the salmon and linguine the salmon tasted freezer burnt and my wife ordered the chicken parm there was more breading than there was chicken that's $250 I will never get back

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny J, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2022

I appreciate your comments, but I can't imagine how that price was ever the cost of two meals at our beautiful restaurant.

Reviewed July 31, 2022

Celebrated one of my best friend’s birthday here, my first time at this restaurant and it was fantastic! They service was very attentive and the food was absolutely delicious! Have told more of friends and work colleagues it is worth the drive to Whitby!!!!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny J, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2022

Thank you so much! We are so grateful for your support of our business and for taking the time to give us the five bubbles! We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed July 15, 2022

We had a great experience with our most recent visit to Chatterpauls. We’ve been here a few times and have been generally impressed except for the last time. I don’t remember what the issue was at the time but we thought we would give it...another try and we are very glad we did. It was an excellent night. My partner had the curried mussels as a starter (they were very good) and the duck breast for a main. The fat came off easily and the duck tasted very good. I had the Coconut Shrimp as a starter (it too was very good) and the Steak and Shrimp as a main. My only disappointment was that the shrimp were not grilled enough. We also had a bottle of Mosole Pinot which was recommended and it too was excellent. Since it was our anniversary a complementary desert was offered and it too was excellent. And I had to try the carrot cake – worth the visit alone!! Overall the service was top notch – no complaints only praise. It was a little expensive but well worth it.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny J, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2022

Thank you so very much for the kind words and for coming back to see us. We have the greatest guests on our happy to add you to the list of happy customers. All the best to you and we look forward to your next...More

Reviewed March 19, 2022

Had an awesome dinner experience at Chatterpaul's. From our friendly waitress Jennifer who remembered our names and was on top of everything that our table needed. The Owner also was very friendly and sat with us for abit talking with us. Everything our table of...6 ordered was cooked to perfection, portions were plentiful and delicious 😋. We will definitely be back again.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny J, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2022

You are the best! Edward Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We have so many great guests, including you! Until next time, thank you again. Chad and Penny

Reviewed February 14, 2022

Came in for my birthday at 8pm yesterday… the server asked us if we were celebrating anything special and we had told her. She took very long at a table having a full out convo, when we were done eating. She stood at that table...talking for 15 min while we waited. The customer who she was talking to had to tell her to tend to us. She came over and didn’t apologize but giggled. We ordered dessert and it came but two tables down we heard her wish her a happy birthday. My fiancé thought she had something against us cause we were a younger couple? We usually tip 20% when we go to restaurants. It’s embarrassing to not. It was the first time he didn’t want to but he tipped anyway. Disappointed with the service but the food is 5 star. I’ve been before and I remember a five star service. Things change. She seemed to pick tables to be nice to and spend more time at. She didn’t pay any mind to us. Her tone was short. The only time she was quick to come to us was when the bill came. She thought we weren’t going to pay? That’s insulting.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny J, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2022

Good afternoon and thank you so much for taking the time to review. I'm sorry that you had service that does not live up to our expectations. I apologize for not seeing this review until now. It would be my pleasure to speak to you...More

Reviewed December 15, 2021

It’s been a few years since we’ve been back but it was the choice of friends who remember going there. We had enjoyed it before and last night was like old times.Everything was superb from start to finish.Nice drinks, tasty apps, special little nibbles from...the chef, excellent mains and great desserts. Our gentleman who served us was a real treat and coped well with our corny comments and had a few of his own. There was no rush and 3 hours passed very pleasantly. It was definitely the best choice for the 4 of us to converge from out of the immediate area. I mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary and another two plates of complimentary desserts arrived! Nothing but top notch from start to finish.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 27, 2021

The food and service were excellent. We went here for a special occasion and were very happy with our meal. We had baked brie to start and I had the rack of lamb. My wife had ribs. Both were delicious. My lamb was very tender...and tasty. The sauce was full of flavour. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The one small criticism I have is a couple of the dishes have cranberries, such as the baked brie and the duck. I was going to try the duck but I'm not a big fan of cranberries. I'm sure they would have accommodated me if I asked. Overall, a very good meal and a good time. The restaurant is beautiful. The people we went with have several dietary restrictions and the restaurant is very accommodating.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 2, 2021 via mobile

Our recent visit was Saturday October 30th, I left extremely disappointed and will never come back or recommend this place to anyone. In fact, I would go as far to encourage anyone who is considering dining here, rethink your plans! This was supposed to be...a bday dinner fore to celebrate with my wife and 2 daughters. I have ways enjoyed this place as we dined there many times before the pandemic and even ordered takeout during the pandemic in an effort to do our part and support local restaurants. So....indoor dining is back and we were geared up to have a great night and it was anything but. Hands down the worst experience at a restaurant specifically one that passes itself off as a fine dining establishment. I was shocked at how we were treated. Our server was not very attentive, and slow to a fault. It took her 15 mins to actually come to our table after we were seated when every other server was hustling and serving their tables. From the time we sat down it took 35 mins before we recieved water and ultimately the drinks we ordered. The restaurant was more than adequately staffed so speed and efficiency of service should not have been an issue. If that were the only issue of the evening I wouldn't have wasted my time in posting this review. Here's where things went sideways on what was supposed to be a joyous occasion. I ordered the Coco and Crab Cakes - which was one of my favourites from past experience. My appetizer was stone cold. So I flagged down our server and politely complained. She apologized and took it back to the kitchen. 15 mins later she brought back my app, it was the same one as I noticed the bite out of the crab cake, something was off. The sauce curdled and I noticed 2 pieces of pasta in the sauce which is not suppose to be there. When I originally received the dish it had a nice little chunk of lobster. So for $21 and do far a miss. I complained - again politely. Server argued with me told me it was lobster, I showed her and even tasted it and said to her it's pasta, like someone reused a saute pan and reheated my dish. 30 mins later 3 out if 4 of us finished their apps, I finally get mine back all freshly remade, the kitchen took it upon themselves to be creative and totally did a new sauce. No lobster dill cream, some over salted lemon cream sauce. To say the least I took 3 bites and didn't eat the rest. Enter the manager / owner Penny who came to our table - important to note that I never asked to speak to a manager. I thought the server had asked her to come and that she was comming to apologize and make things right. Well, right after she introduced herself she was on the defensive - didn't even allow me to speak basically shaming for the fact I wasn't happy that they screwed up my appetizer? Really? That's how you handle customer service? She then was more concerned with getting our entrees to the table when literally my appetizer had just arrived. She walked off and a minute later our entrees arrive. No apologies, nothing. I've never witnessed an owner acting like that. The funny thing is, as my wife and 2 daughters will confirm, I was nothing but polite the 2 times I complained about my appetizer. I was so shocked that someone would dare speak to a customer that is basically dropping over $300 on a Saturday night, like it's my privilege to eat there? Really? Every guest that dined there that evening it is a privilege for the restaurant not the guests. So in the end, the check arrives $318, the app that they screwed up three times was not removed from the bill, nor anything else. Most places would simply remove the item from the bill, apologize and maybe comp a drink or a dessert. Nothing was offered and I never asked. So as a result,as someone who spends quite a bit of money on dining at restaurants, this is one local spot that we won't be returning to. You had your opportunity to make things right and you chose to be arrogant and rude rather than listening to your guest. Zero customer service,questionable food handling practices. Avoid this place because if your experience is less than satisfactory and you rightfully complain, they will treat you like garbage and run off with your money! Experience does not match the dining check.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?14  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 29, 2021

Our first visit to Chatterpaul's was a complete success! The food was spectacular, the drinks were delightful, and the staff stellar. Even the COVID public health requirements were met in a thoughtful way, and were very much appreciated.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vacation54268819144, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2021

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We work hard to keep our guests happy and so glad you have become a fan. We look forward to seeing you again. Penny and Chad

Reviewed March 15, 2021 via mobile

We had the Dinner for Two takeout special and it was fantastic. Looking forward to revisiting and trying other menu items

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vacation54268819144, Owner at Chatterpaul's, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2021

How wonderful to hear from you. We really appreciate your kind words and for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again. Any and Chad

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lucien Motel
25 reviews
2.95 km away
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
227 reviews
4.61 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Whitby
358 reviews
4.67 km away
Motel 6 Toronto East - Whitby
207 reviews
4.75 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
A Tavola Bistro
841 reviews
.95 km away
Bella Notte Ristorante
258 reviews
.16 km away
Hooksey's Fish & Chips
66 reviews
1.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Heber Down Conservation Area
135 reviews
4.23 km away
Whitby Courthouse Theatre
15 reviews
3.57 km away
Baycliffe Park
7 reviews
2.01 km away
Hands In Demand
9 reviews
.94 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
G S
August 26, 2018|
Answer
Response from pennyj103 | Property representative |
We dont have a dress code. Summer shorts are often seen in our restaurant.
0
Votes
G S
August 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Doris D | Reviewed this property |
Yes dress shirts are appropriate
1
Vote
Julia S
November 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Ashley H | Property representative |
Thank you to everyone for your comments. We have a very large guest list here at Chatterpaul's, and you are correct, some people love us and some... well, we're not for them. We do our best every day and are always grateful... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CHATTERPAUL'S, Whitby - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chatterpaul's

Yes, Chatterpaul's offers takeaway services.

Yes, Chatterpaul's offers delivery services.

Chatterpaul's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4