We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken Hill

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$23
CUISINES
Barbecue, Gastropub, Beer restaurants
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
220
20
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
220
20
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brisket bacon flight burger pickle fries bison whole shebang dirty bird hot mess beer list amazing atmosphere bbq sauce fantastic food on tap sat at the bar nelson bc the wait staff dining experience
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Lyndsay was our Hostess and server. She was friendly, professional and engaging. The food was excellent. Definitely will be back on our return visit to Nelson.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Drinks are great and the there are so many beers to choose from. The food was good but I’m not the biggest meat lover so it’s probably not my favourite menu but if you love it I would recommend

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 2, 2022

Unreal burger for burger month! Makenzie served us today and she was amazing. 10 out of 10 would go back for that burg.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 28, 2022 via mobile

Had an amazing bite to eat at Broken Hill restaurant/bar.... then went to the speakeasy below for an amazing cocktail provided by server Amanda and mixologist Cam. 👏!!!! 10/5 stars 🌟 See you soon guys! Definitely bringing friends😄

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 15, 2022 via mobile

Our party of 6 dined here for Thanksgiving. It was slightly better than average - didn’t live up to expectations as the number one restaurant in the region, according to Trip Advisor. Service was average, perhaps even too “familiar” (dislike being called “dude”, “buddy” or...“bro”). Maybe if I was 35 years younger I could tolerate it, but no, not at this stage in my life. Food: Brisket was ok, not the best ever, while the macaroni and cheese was bland. Will try other venues before we go back…More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2022

I’m not sure what to say, sorry we were the wrong type of friendly. People talk about millennials being too sensitive. They should meet more people from your “stage in life”. Appreciate your visiting other restaurants before you return, good to know there’ll be less...More

Reviewed October 13, 2022 via mobile

Went to a late lunch and our burger was amazing. Met the owner Chad who was exceptional. Drove here from SANDPOINT Idaho and not disappointed. Will be back. The coleslaw was amazing!

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 9, 2022

This being our first visit to Nelson we wanted to hit really good restaurants. Broken Hill came highly recommended. For us it was very good but not outstanding. To our surprise we were expecting a busier Friday than it was and being the beginning of...a long weekend. Our waiter was pretty good. My wife and I both ordered the ribs. The ribs were very good but not outstanding. The drinks we ordered were very good but a G and T is to served cold. Had to wait for the few ice cubes to chill the drink to be able to properly enjoy it. The one thing we were surprised they didn't have considering they smoke their meats is they did not have or make their own baked beans. They need to add it to the menu. Giving it a very good rating only because of the food.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 26, 2022

On our last trip to Nelson, we visited this restaurant with it's cool style and ambiance. We ordered the BBQ platter. It was all delicious, and the BBQ brisket, ribs and fried chicken were outstanding!

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2022

Appreciate you coming back! Glad you enjoyed the platter, 3 top picks right there. See you next time and thanks for taking the time to fire up a review.

Reviewed August 13, 2022 via mobile

10/10 food and drinks! On this visit we ordered the espresso martini, the frozen Pina colada , battered mushrooms that were foraged from Kaslo BC and the brisket puffed tacos as a starter, then the duck leg and ribs as our entree. We have eaten...here many times and it is never a disappointment. If you are in Nelson BC, this is a must try restaurant. Awesome smokehouse and amazing drink selection. Great servers, bartenders, and chefs!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2022

That means so much to us to hear! Our team are spectacular and each and everyone of them make the room what it is. We live for creating experiences like yours. Thanks for taking the time to review!

Reviewed July 18, 2022 via mobile

A great place to visit in Nelson. Good food and friendly personel. The special burgers are a must. Also the special beers are top

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2022

Thanks for the kind words Rene. Really appreciate you coming in!

Reviewed July 16, 2022 via mobile

Excellent venue, service, beer selection and food. We arrived around c 6pm and ordered a selection of beers and a couple of excellent salads (I recommend the duck salad). We were served by Lisa (from St Davids in Wales) who was very informative and guided...us through the menus and drinks selection. Overall a very enjoyable visit and thanks to the front of house (Lisa) and the back of house eh who created two excellent and tasty salads.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2022

Thats great to hear Chris! We love our team, they always go out of their way to create great experiences like yours. We'll make sure to high 5 Lisa and the kitchen staff:)

Reviewed July 16, 2022

Convenient located at Baker street down town Nelson. The food is very good, nice atmosphere, Service needs improvement (attention to water refill etc) ask for an other drink etc not attentive at all price is fairMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2022

Hey wbauer56. I'm really sorry we didn't check in on you often enough. We'll bring it up at our next Managers meeting. We dont hear this very often but its always a good reminder to make sure were checking in on tables regularly. If you...More

Reviewed July 6, 2022 via mobile

I had the pleasure to experience easy tiger/broken hills exclusive cocktail bar. Let me tell you folks it was the coolest/best serviced, extremely organized establishment I've been to in years. Would recommend to everyone of all drinking ages. Thanks to Kristine and Gaby for the...amazing night.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2022

Thats great to hear! I'll make sure Gaby and Kristine get a high 5 and little gift from us for making your time in so memorable! Thanks a ton for the review!

Reviewed May 31, 2022

It is a pub atmosphere, music that was for my taste a little loud. The food (I had a burger) was good, but not exceptional. I would recomment the restaurants when going with a group of friends for a drink and some food. The service...was very good.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 22, 2022 via mobile

Yummy yummy food specially brisket & southern vegs, nice quality & peaceful place, burger was also very good, the service was fast too

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager/Owner, Owner at Broken Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to drop us this review! Means a lot!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hume Hotel & Spa
923 reviews
.08 km away
Cloudside Hotel
437 reviews
.13 km away
The Adventure Hotel
260 reviews
.23 km away
Savoy Hotel
106 reviews
.33 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cantina Del Centro Nelson
812 reviews
.09 km away
Oso Negro Coffee
625 reviews
.12 km away
Yum Son
321 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Baker Street
438 reviews
.18 km away
Whitewater Ski Resort
250 reviews
.23 km away
The Nelson Museum, Archives & Gallery
71 reviews
.08 km away
Baldface Lodge
17 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Expedition585207
September 8, 2022|
Answer
Response from sweet_jane6 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they take reservations
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BROKEN HILL, Nelson - Updated 2023 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Broken Hill

Yes, Broken Hill is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Broken Hill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5