We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$82
CUISINES
Canadian, Steakhouse, Bar, Contemporary, Gastropub
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
34
13
12
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
34
13
12
4
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 17, 2020 via mobile

We’ve enjoyed Happy Hours here before on the patio, but this year they don’t have one. We decided to have the wings, fries and some drinks for our own Happy Hour! Our waitress, Angela, was very efficient and so friendly. We just had a couple...appetizers, but they were very tasty. We’re coming back to the valley in spring, and we’ll definitely be back to Traders.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

After a three year absence we were excited to enjoy dinner at one of our favorite decks in the Rockies. While the view and service did not disappoint, the food quality has decreased significantly since our last visit. The food is over priced for what...is offered in both quality and quantity. This is very unfortunate as there is no better place to enjoy the valley views than this deck. I would rate the deck and service a 5 and the food a 2 at best.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

This is a really beautiful spot with great views for dinner. The food was excellent, with good prices and great service. Take a walk to the gazebo after dinner for more beautiful views.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed June 18, 2019 via mobile

Ourselves and a visiting couple recently went to Traders at Eagle Ranch for dinner one evening. We were promptly seated, and noticed the restaurant was 2/3 full on this Saturday. The setting as viewed from our inside table was beautiful without a doubt, our guests...loved it, hard to beat it anywhere. As we were being seated, the staff let us know that Traders was in fact introducing a new menu. The new menu looked quite good, though not a huge amount of variety and a bit pricy (especially when it also doubles as an after golf round 19th hole?). Our service throughout was definitely pleasant and efficient. Our meals were delivered after a reasonable amount of time, the presentations of each were nice - grilled salmon (was ok), the grilled half chicken (both who got them found them a tad too over cooked to really enjoy), and the fish and chips (the battered fish was essentially left uneaten - over cooked and tough). Overall, we found the main course portion sizes were too small for the price. The appies we had to start - ribs and edamame were excellent, however. Will we go back..... probably, the setting on the deck in good weather is outstanding, not sure we’d order one of the higher end meals, maybe just stick with their appies or a sandwich/burger for now until the new menu offerings are fine tuned.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Beautiful view from the outdoor seating. Service was very slow and the food was average with some of our meals having small portions. Staff were very friendly.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 16, 2017

I reviewed Traders in October of last year. As a disclaimer, I am a local and someone who runs two very busy businesses that has the opportunity to recommend places to my guests multiple times a day. Last October, I said I would wait until...this year - perhaps things have improved. The food was boring and the service wasn't great at all. So a few days ago, I had a rare opportunity to get out on my own and decided to give Trader's another try. Perhaps, because they close in the winter, they got some better staff and a better chef who isn't afraid of flavour. Unfortunately, the experience was humiliating. Before leaving, I checked the internet to double-check lunch hours - no mention of any special events. When I drove all the way in to Trader's (just shy of 20 mins for me), there was not one notice that there was a wedding, and I parked. There was no notice on the door, I went inside. There was the usual 'Please wait to be seated sign', right where one would expect it. ...and then I waited. ...and waited. ...and waited. ...and watched 4 servers nattering to themselves and chatting in the corner. More than once, they looked over at me, but I was dutifully ignored. I could clearly see there was a special event, in that there were tables close together and decorated, but again, nothing to indicate that Trader's was closed for any reason - no signs, decorations, notices, seating arrangements, head table - the usual things one would expect. I just assumed there was a large reservation for a group. I finally managed to peel one of the ladies away from their little chattery gathering and they asked if they could help me with something. I said yes, I'd love to have lunch. That's when they said, "Oh. You can't. There's a wedding here." I said that I saw that, but it doesn't say it's closed. So I asked if the patio is open. She looked at me like I was an idiot and said, "NO. We're CLOSED for a wedding." like she was talking to someone a tad simple. Fine. I get it. There's an invisible wedding that you only know about once you get inside and manage to get one of them to hold a conversation with you. Being condescending just convinced me that this place isn't worth my time, money, or the consideration of my guests at either of my businesses. I don't accept rudeness, and I won't subject my guests to that either. Trader's - you need to figure out what's going on. That's twice for me and three times for my business partner. There's something wrong there. Yes, it's a nice place and upscale and the view is outstanding. You have a great menu. The majority of your staff are fantastic. But I'm not alone here - your reviews are slipping, and I really wish Trader's lived up to it's potential. I love having lunch alone on the patio - it's a break from the craziness of business, and also where we love to have our business meetings. We'll find somewhere else, sorry.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
pbourke2017, General Manager at Traders Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Sorry to hear about your experiences Mcnotmac, I wish myself or our Food & Beverage Manager could have talked with you while you were here. We appreciate the insight on signage and communications around days where we are closed for a wedding. Our standard practice...More

Reviewed June 7, 2017

I've been to this restaurant a couple of years ago and had a positive experience. I dont usually leave reviews, but today's disappointment needs to be communicated to the powers that be to get them back on track. The cod was tasty but literally 3...cm by 10 cm. ridiculous portion. The Niçoise salad was a soggy vinegary mess- not like any nicoise we have ever had. The short rib sandwich was burnt totally black. Portions of all meals were terribly small and pricey. The wait staff and view however were excellent.More

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
Management response:Responded June 16, 2017

Thanks for letting us know about your experience CachinCori. We take our food quality standards very seriously so it's troubling to read your comments. We have recently made some changes to our menu (since your visit) and I trust things have been improved in relation...More

Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

The building and patio are still 20/10. However: Food: is meh and it's all fish and or mushrooms except for the burger or the pasta. The house salad is half mushrooms, the sandwiches are almost all mushrooms even if they say ribs. If it's not...mushroom it's fish. Even the poutine is mushrooms. With a fish allergy it was concerning how few dishes were left as choices. Gravy is one of the worst I've had in awhile. The only upside was the cute pickle jars they include on each plate this year. Staff: Smiley and cheery but didn't ask us if we wanted drinks. When we did order drinks we had to go up and ask for them 20 minutes later. At the end we wanted to clear the plates to make some arm room while the others finished up but were told they don't do that and wait until everyone is done. Service was just meh considering this years slogan "service beyond promise". Price: overpriced!! Charged for pop refills. So if you have a coke its $3 a fill and a small glass. Food is fairly bland and uniform. Was impressed last year and others past but not worth the mediocre meal this year. I've been here three times this year and I've been disappointed every trip. Enough after is enough after the most recent trip. We have been coming for years but skipping anymore trips this summer. I'd rather have a good meal and the view just isn't worth the cost this year.More

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
Management response:Responded May 6, 2017

Thanks for your insight and feedback 3Popples. We have a new management team at Eagle Ranch this year and we're committed to finding out what people are looking for then delivering it in a spectacular way. There are many things that you have noted that...More

Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

After trying out multiple eateries and lounges in the area. We decided to try out Trader's at Eagle Ranch as we've never been. We were just looking for a place to have a few appies and a drink. Initially we thought the lounge was closed...as there were no vehicles in the parking lot but we went up and tried the huge entry way doors. Much to our surprise, Trader's was open and we were immediately greeted by our server, Dylan. We were very impressed with the open timber beams throughout the interior and the scenic vista views. It truly is a beautiful place in an awesome location. We ordered Caesars, mushroom poutine, bacon parmesan wings and "jars". Everything was great especially the jars which is a small mason jar of a spread served with crackers and chips. The duck pâté and ginger was very good. Overall we were very impressed and the pricing was on par. It was a great place to chill, munch and visit.More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
Management response:Responded June 16, 2017

Thanks Jonus_Muskamud, we're glad you enjoyed your experience with us this past winter and hope to see you again this summer. Pete.

Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

It is greatly unfortunate that the stunning views of the mountains and Lake do not match the quality of the food. I have been here on business three times in the past couple of months, and both times I tried something different to see if...there was any improvement. There has not been. The food is boring and bland. There is no flavor, and everything is lackluster. The food is so bland in comparison to last year, I have stopped recommending this place to my guests as the best place for food. The ingredients seem very fresh. Why on earth they can't seem to season the food, I have no idea. With great tools there should be great food. Something is missing here, and I don't know what it is (besides flavour).More

Date of visit: August 2016
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Kanata Inns Invermere
321 reviews
2.02 km away
Invermere Inn
326 reviews
3.04 km away
Copper Point Resort
2,371 reviews
3.13 km away
Cedar Motel
139 reviews
10.15 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kicking Horse Cafe
258 reviews
2.14 km away
Mile 1 Hut
41 reviews
1.52 km away
Tim Hortons
43 reviews
2.58 km away
T-Bar and Grill
133 reviews
1.52 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
James Chabot Provincial Park
71 reviews
1.75 km away
Panorama Mountain
247 reviews
1.74 km away
Arrowhead Brewing Company
57 reviews
2.08 km away
Bavin Glassworks
16 reviews
2.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ajdina S
May 25, 2017|
Answer
Response from Sean C | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay ajdinaselman324, unfortunately we don't allow dogs on our Patio. Thanks, Pete.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Traders Lounge

Yes, Traders Lounge offers takeaway services.

Yes, Traders Lounge offers delivery services.

Traders Lounge is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5