We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
81
33
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
81
33
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwich great coffee kicking horse ski hill gluten free options latte avocado smoothies skiing canada
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 7, 2021 via mobile

Best latte I've had in a long time in Canada. Milk wasn't overcooked, actually sweet from not steaming it to kingdom come (I'm talking about you Starbucks). Coffee was of high quality, freshly roasted. We also had a Ruben brisket sandwich, fantastic. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
DaphneeS-P, General Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2021

Thank you, we are pretty stoked that you enjoyed our coffee and food! Hoping to see you again soon

Reviewed January 24, 2021

Hands down, the best coffee in Golden! Worth the drive to the ski hill even for locals. Thanks Double Black!

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
DaphneeS-P, General Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2021

Thank you so much! We really appreciate it!!

Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

We had breakfast - americano, smoothie, sweet stack, double black dishes and it was AMAZING!! Very busy but very clean, and excellent food

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

Great coffee, sandwich are great and the staff is super friendly, wort a stop but get there before noon it gets really busy

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

Nachoes are overpriced chips. No cheese. We came here after skiing for a snack. We ordered nachoes which did have letters afterwards to indicate they were vegetarian and gluten free. Ok. I still expected cheese on them because NACHOES. They came with a white sauce...drizzled over the chips. Probably to hide the lack of cheese. They were topped with half an avocado and corn. This was the ‘salsa’ and ‘guacamole’ We did return them to ask for more cheese and to have the mystery white drizzle on the side. They came back with marginally more cheese and the mystery sauce on the side. My average rating was for effort. Nachoes need to have a few adult handfuls of cheese. (1-2 cups, 250-500ml) not a Pygmy dash of maybe 100mls on the chips. Every chip must have cheese. Because NACHOES.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
DaphneeS-P, General Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2020

Hello Sharon, Thank you for sharing your in depth knowledge about nacho making. As a savvy Trip Advisor reviewer, we would suggest spelling nachos without the "e" and uncapitalized in future comments. Their is also very little mystery surrounding our sauce, the cilantro lime sour...More

Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

Best coffee pretty much in the whole of Canada that we’ve found on our recent trips. A lot of gluten free options for those of us with coeliac disease and the staff were very accommodating and aware of cross contamination. Thanks again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
DaphneeS-P, General Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2020

Thank you! We share you're stoke for good coffee. See you back at the Horse soon!

Reviewed January 18, 2020

After purchasing 2 cold “hot” chocolates which came to more than 10 dollars, our group sat down outside the cafe on the picnic tables to have our drinks and eat some snacks. (We brought some snacks from home). Shortly after sitting down, the manger came...outside to tell us that we couldn’t sit OUTSIDE his cafe with food that we had brought from home. After we explained that we were paying customers, he still insisted that we leave his property. This was the rudest experience I have ever had with a manager and will not be coming back to this establishment. On the brightside, my brothers and I had one of the best ski days at kicking horse. We had a great time shredding it up, and hopefully will be back soonMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
DaphneeS-P, General Manager at Double Black, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hi Max, Thank you for sharing your experience and we are deeply concerned about how excruciating this may have been. To be fair, it is common knowledge that outside food is not permitted on the premises of F & B establishments due to safety regulations....More

Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

We ate here a couple of times over a 4 day weekend as a few of the other restaurants were closed. The food was really good. We had both breakfast and lunch. It’s a bit awkward to stand around inside to order first, as it...can get quite busy and chaotic, but it gets sorted out in the end.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Great coffee..... controversy I know but better than Timmies. Service, welcome was top notch and the food was awesome. Fries were just not fries they were gourmet fries. If your in the area make the trip here and if your not then make the effort...and get here.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

We went here on our way out of town and got breakfast. My husband and I split our meal so we could each get muffins too. We should have each gotten our own plate because our food was so good and so were the muffins....Our chocolate chip/coconut muffins was still warm and the dense zucchini/chocolate chip muffin was amazing. Our children got the smoothie bowls and they were HUGE and so tasty. The staff was super friendly and we the view was so perfect of the kicking horse mountain ski hill and lift area. Super entertaining to watch the mountain bikers down the hill in the rain.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
387 reviews
.03 km away
Palliser Lodge
183 reviews
.28 km away
Winston Lodge
150 reviews
.38 km away
Pinewood Inn
211 reviews
5.31 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Red Tomato Pies Ltd
277 reviews
5.66 km away
Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
459 reviews
3.35 km away
Bear & Bone Burger Co.
196 reviews
5.57 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kicking Horse Pedestrian Bridge
322 reviews
5.53 km away
Whitetooth Brewing Company
65 reviews
5.45 km away
Glacier Raft Adventures Day Tours
18 reviews
5.30 km away
Golden Nordic Ski Club
15 reviews
.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Double Black staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Double Black

Yes, Double Black offers takeaway services.

Yes, Double Black offers delivery services.

Double Black is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4