We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Last Chance Saloon

COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice


American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Full Bar, Live Music, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger mining town interesting place western movie off the beaten path drumheller area beer was cold food was great wayne history bridge memorabilia drive population alberta kids shanghai
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

We arrived around dinner time. A few items not available on the menu but thats no big deal as it's stated upfront. Appreciated being able to bring our dog with us at the outside patio tables. Inside of restaurant was interesting in terms of the...history of the place, but also very basic (we expected something more exciting based on what some locals had told us). Service was quick and courteous. We ordered beers (from Valley Brewing, amazing!), as well as poutine and nachos. Poutine was crispy and good. Nacho was terrible. Chips felt stale, meat was strange looking to us and cold. We ate a few and left the rest there as it was really not good. The plate looked untouched. No one came to ask us how we were doing or whether everything was good (there were about 10 person inside and 10 persons outside so average busy). When we were ready to leave the waitress asked us how things had been and my fiancée said that it was ok but nacho had been terrible. Waitress told us she would tell the manager. She came back with the bill with the nacho still on the total. We didnt say anything, even though one could have expected to have some form of reduction upon stating clear unsatisfaction about one of the food items. It was not so and we decided to pay anyway and leave. My fiancée went inside to pay. Someone (i suppose the manager) came to her asking what was the problem with the nacho. My fiancée reiterated that the chips were stale and the meat was not good. The manager freaked out, went to take a nacho and proceeded to break it into pieces in my fiancée's face, telling her aggressively that she doesn't see a problem with the nacho. The very nice man at the reception decided to remove it from our bill, and that rude woman added loudly that she is lucky that we dealt with that man as she would have never reimbursed us for that. First of all, we never asked for a rebate or to take the nacho out. Second of all, that manager was absolutely hostile, agressive, and rude to my fiancée. I was without words and livid. My fiancée (or me) have never been treated this badly for such a simple matter. The manager obviously has personal issues, and has no clue how to manage customer service. So this review went from a 2-3 stars to a 1 star, because of an absolutely horrible person. This continued in a response to a review my fiancee left, where I assume the same manager proceeded to judge my fiancée heavily over things she has no idea about. I have 0 respect for bad hospitality or personal attacks, there was no place or reasons for this. She should have taken the comment, and humbly dealt with it. Instead she freaked out, insulted us, disrespected us. If you take the time to read any reply they did to a bad review on any place they have reviews, you will see what I mean. They clearly never accept fault or responsibility, they insult clients, they disrespect clients. The staff was otherwise nice so I feel bad for them, they deserve better than this horrible manager. If you end up going for history's sake, be weary of having to deal with the manager she clearly has issues.More

Date of visit: October 2021
555jewel, Owner at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hospitality runs both ways. It’s truly unfortunate that the service industry is expected to grin and bare it “because that’s good customer service”. The event is slightly different in our recollection but we won’t go in to that. It’s unfortunate indeed! But as mentioned by...More

Reviewed September 16, 2021

We stopped in for dinner and I had the fish and chips, the same fish and chips that I had at the W____ T___ Resturant in Lethbridge. This meal was way better that the meal in the city. Big piece of fish with a crispy...coating lots of fries and a great coleslaw (I said great coleslaw) with a shortage of staff I can see where service could be a hit or miss, but we had really good service. Saloon had a lot of Kitschy stuff it didn't need, because the food can carry this Resturant. Drinks were good too.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Reviewed August 14, 2021

The saloon was featured in a CBC radio program. While driving the eleven bridges over Rosedale River, we stopped at the saloon. Due to lack of staff, the grilled items were not available. We ended up ordering some fried items. Food was good but a...little pricy. Th two things we enjoyed most were the decor and some awesome beer brewed by the microbrewery from Drumheller - Valley Brewery. We tried Raspberry Ale, Virtue Juicy Pale Ale, and Blackberry Lemon Sour Beer. Before entering the saloon, we met the cook who was taking a well deserved break. She was such a wonderful lady; she told us some great stories! We look forward to visit again.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Reviewed August 13, 2021 via mobile

Was very busy the day we went out to Wayne. Was definitely worth the trip. Food and service was excellent and you can't beat the ambiance. We ate outside inna picnic area type seating. Was perfect!

Date of visit: September 2020
555jewel, General Manager at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2021

Thank you for enjoying your visit with us. We are glad the food and service was excellent and you delighted in the ambiance. 😊

Reviewed August 8, 2021 via mobile

Stopped in while exploring the area. Outdoor patio was nice and lunch food was decent. No complaints with service. Indoor seating was more limited and hot so the patio on this day was the way to go. Lots to look at inside with respect historic...memorabilia.More

Date of visit: July 2021
555jewel, General Manager at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2021

Happy to hear you had a good day exploring the area and thank you for including us on your adventures. Hot days have been plentiful this summer ~ glad we’ve got a large outdoor patio for guests to enjoy.

Reviewed August 3, 2021 via mobile

Waited at the front door way for 25 minutes (there's a "wait here to be seated" sign). No one acknowledged us. Even walked inside and stood in the doorway. They were busy, but still had empty tables. After 25 minutes we just left. Went to...O'Shea's in Drumheller and got seated and served immediately.More

Date of visit: August 2021
555jewel, General Manager at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2021

Did you acknowledge ANY one on staff and say you were looking for a table? Do you realize Greg that we are extremely short on staff and the staff we do have are working in excess of ten hours a day. Probably not! Wouldn’t it...More

Reviewed July 29, 2021 via mobile

Visited the Last Chance Saloon for lunch. I had the brisket wrap with onion rings and my husband had the Buffalo burger with fries. Both meals were delicious. It was very hot outside and there is no air conditioning inside however the outdoor seating is...covered so it was comfortable in the shade. We would definitely go back if in the area again.More

Date of visit: July 2021
555jewel, General Manager at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2021

Glad you folks enjoyed lunch on the patio. You’re right…when it’s hot, it’s dang HOT! Hope to see you again.

Reviewed July 11, 2021

From the time we entered the restaurant until our first contact with our waitress took about an hour, and the place wasn't that busy. And even after that she neglected us. Food mediocre (only their deep-fried menu was available).More

Date of visit: July 2021
555jewel, General Manager at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2021

Took an hour to get service, you had no contact for an hour? I do not believe anyone would sit and wait an hour at a restaurant without any contact that’s ludicrous. As for “deep fry only menu”…….. Let’s explain something ~ there is a...More

Reviewed July 3, 2021

We were told that it would be a 20 min wait and were encouraged to shop next door. Meanwhile the waitress seated several groups that had just arrived ahead of us. I would attribute it to reservations but they were well under the 8 person...minimum that the waitress had volunteered was required for reservations. I definitely got the impression that spending $$$ or being a regular was what it took to get good service. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: July 2021
555jewel, General Manager at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2021

You didn’t make it in the door and we’ve received a one star? This weekend was busy (I’m certain very busy for most service industries as the restrictions fully lifted and it’s the beginning of summer)! Busy is good because the service industry has taken...More

Reviewed July 1, 2021

This restaurant was great for our family! It was clean and so welcoming! The service was better than the food and the food was pretty good! They did everything to make our stay in 37 degree weather with 2 young kids IN a pandemic pleasurableMore

Date of visit: July 2021
555jewel, General Manager at Last Chance Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2021

Thank you for appreciating our efforts. When the weather is as hot and uncomfortable as it’s been these past few days we try even harder to make our guests comfortable. Being gracious is a great thing…and we are very gracious when folks visit the Last...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
260 reviews
8.21 km away
Ramada by Wyndham Drumheller Hotel & Suites
1,225 reviews
8.90 km away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Drumheller
888 reviews
8.98 km away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
418 reviews
9.22 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
23 reviews
4.62 km away
Bernie & The Boys Bistro
402 reviews
9.81 km away
O'Shea's Eatery And Ale House
659 reviews
8.91 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Sage Shoppe
6 reviews
3.31 km away
World's Largest Perogy
10 reviews
10.07 km away
The Canadian Badlands Passion Play
443 reviews
10.48 km away
The Hoodoos
1,268 reviews
9.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
August 24, 2020|
Response from 555jewel | Property representative |
Closed for the winter season ~ inside is very limited seating due to CoVid social distancing. We reopen in March, hoping our customer can enjoy the U-Bar-B-Q. We are approximately an hour and a half from Calgary. (Give or... More
July 12, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 555jewel | Property representative |
Minors are allowed . Saloon and patio attached.
June 1, 2018|
Response from 555jewel | Property representative |
Yes, we don’t have many but we do have high chairs.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Last Chance Saloon

Yes, Last Chance Saloon offers takeaway services.

Last Chance Saloon is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5