We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Canadian
FEATURES
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
325
156
68
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
325
156
68
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steamer pot seafood cheese dip clam chowder steak prawns eggs benedict caesar salad prestige oceanfront resort beautiful view excellent food and service sooke area server seals coast booth patio
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 12, 2022 via mobile

Had breakfast and dinner here. Dinner was excellent with lamb and chicken entrees. The breakfast was fine except eggs Benedict and waffles served on cold plates didn’t cut it. Hence the rating.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 16, 2022 via mobile

I came here for a nice dinner out with my girls for a bachelorette, service was fine. The bussers threw out my leftovers while we were taking pictures when the server said I could leave it on the table. The kitchen remade it, but did...not give me any of the protein I had left, I had ordered the seafood tagliatelle and it was replaced by boxed fettuccine with no seafood. Basically was given a different pasta and sauce. Complete waste.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 10, 2022 via mobile

I made reservations for 4 people two weeks in advance. We were placed on the waitlist. We heard nothing from the restaurant . No phone calls or emails. We tried to call, but no response. Why keep people waiting with no communication in an area...with limited restaurant choices. Very terrible customer service…..More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 9, 2022

Recently visited and were pleasantly surprised by our experience. Nice restaurant with great views and an outside patio as well. Very friendly staff and good service. I had the west coast chowder which started as clam chowder then they added fish, shrimp, and mussels, it...was very tasty. My wife had the chicken sandwich we she very much enjoyed as well. Great meal, we will be back.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 18, 2022

Staying at the hotel and thought we would try it. Had to check-in and waited about an hour before having room to dine but this was not a big deal as we just landed. The food was simply amazing to look at and taste. Duck...Wings, Lamb Rack, Ravioli, etc. were all excellent. Would come back again for sure!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2022

The only good thing was the "Bucket of Shrimp" which are actually prawns. The duck wings were so over cooked you could not even taste the meat just a crispy sauce. My wifes steak was burnt and the potatoes were cold. Good atmosphere if the...waitress didn't have other things on her mind. As she checked in on our table it was as if she had more important things to do other than serve my family. It took nearly 20 minutes just to get a beer and when asked for another was asked if I would like something different. Apparently they ran out of that specific type and couldn't get anymore. Was not impressed with the WC Grill I'm glad we had gift card as I would not spend the $180 of my own money there. Save a few bucks and try one of the food trucks in Sooke!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2022 via mobile

Amazing dinner! The mussels and clams were so flavourful Generous portions, very impressed with the food here Great service as well!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 26, 2022

Excellent food and service. The outside tables also have a wonderful view. We ate here for diner and breakfast, both were delicious.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 12, 2022 via mobile

We had several meals during our stay at Prestige Oceanfront Resort. We went twice for the Happy hour where we had the bucket of shrimps both times. So yummy we had to do it twice! And happy hour gives you $5.00 off certain items such...as the shrimps and reduced cost on beer and wine. We had breakfast here once and it was yummy. Their bread is amazing. We had one dinner here where we had the duck wings and the wild salmon. Again, amazing food and presentation. The service every time was fantastic. Very professional. Staff all wore masks which was a appreciated. The views are breathtaking. If you get a chance to sit on the patio it is a wonderful experience. It is more expensive than we had expected but definitely worth it.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 24, 2022 via mobile

The food was really good! Had the pasta, steamer pot, chowder (the deluxe version), and calamari. The chowder and pasta were stand outs. I didn’t 100% love the spice flavor and heaviness of the cream sauce of the mixed seafood steamer, but all of the...seafood was very fresh and delicious nevertheless. The THICK garlic bread is absolutely to die for, I wish I ordered five more pieces to go. The views from the restaurant are incredible.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 20, 2022

My son-in-law Shane and his new Bride Allison chose the Prestige Oceanfront Resort for their wedding night honeymoon suite, and the West Coast Grill Restaurant as a treat for their wedding celebration dinner! It was very memorable, and I give kudos to all involved. We...were seated in a central booth, quickly brought drinks, ordered the 3- Cheese Dip for appetizer, and chatted away. We then placed our order for me and the Bride to have West Coast Fish & Chips, which I may say as an aficionado of fish & chip, this platter was brilliant because it was the only time it included a small bowl of seafood chowder. My wife Colleen and her son, Shane the Groom, each ordered the restaurants famous Lobster Boil, which came in a metal pot and included Lobster tail, shell on prawns, clams, mussels, Pacific fish, garden vegetables, baby potatoes, chili butter, cioppino broth, and garlic bread. Everything was perfect, and then our waitress brought us the 3-Cheese Dip, told us they forgot it, but still presented it as a compliments of the house...how wonderful! We enjoyed a wonderful atmosphere, excellent service, and FAB FOOD. Thank you Shane and Allison for a memorable wedding dinner. Cheers, PaulMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 22, 2022

My husband & I chose to have my birthday dinner at the West Coast grill as we were staying at the Prestige. We began our meal with the bucket of shrimp which tasted great the only negative was the need for a wet cloth for...our fingers, next we enjoyed salads as our main. I had the moa bowl which was very substantial. The restaurant was very busy but our waitress was attentive ensuring we were well taken care of.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 5, 2021

A friend of mine and I drove here for lunch from Victoria. One huge disappointment was how very cold it was ... likely not much that can be done about it with the wide open space. I asked and would have been rather content with...a blanket. The following observation really stood out to me ... both my friend and I agreed that the decor, food and service was satisfactory. Our server had a food spill on her shirt and I am surprised at how much we both commented on it / more surprised that no one noticed it and did what little effort it would have taken to sponge it away. I won't be rushing back, too uncomfortably coldMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VMJVictoria, Owner at West Coast Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2022

Good Day Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns. We have fixed the cold draft issue on December 9th. Your server may not have realized the spill on her shirt, I am sorry you had to witness that. Working in the industry...More

Reviewed November 11, 2021 via mobile

We had four meals at this restaurant while we stayed at the hotel. Our dinners and breakfasts were all very good with fresh ingredients. Our favorites were the halibut and breakfasts. Servers were all wonderful, just the right balance of professional and efficient.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VMJVictoria, Owner at West Coast Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2022

thank you Julie for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed a few meals with us. We hope you get to visit again some time soon

Reviewed November 10, 2021 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch while in the area. The server was great. Had the seafood soup, which is actually gluten free if you ask for gluten free bread. It was creamy and very good. Also had the Caesar salad with Brussels sprouts. Both were very...rich.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VMJVictoria, Owner at West Coast Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2022

Hello Thank you for your comments. Our West Coast Chowder has been a staple for us for many year. We recently added the Deep Fried Ceasar salad and it has been a hit! Glad you enjoyed them. See you next time!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Prestige Oceanfront Resort
1,179 reviews
.06 km away
Sooke Harbour House Hotel & Resort
668 reviews
1.21 km away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
60 reviews
9.38 km away
Fairways Hotel on the Mountain
35 reviews
19.06 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Route 14 Sooke
285 reviews
1.29 km away
Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace
253 reviews
1.05 km away
The Stick In The Mud Coffee House
210 reviews
1.22 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
French Beach Provincial Park
245 reviews
1.37 km away
Whiffin Spit
106 reviews
1.03 km away
Quimper Park
23 reviews
1.22 km away
Sheringham Distillery
17 reviews
1.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ib J
November 10, 2018|
Answer
Response from Brian M | Reviewed this property |
The buffet was around $25 plus tax, it’s not usually offered year round. If you just want pancakes (blueberry) breakfast off the menu it’s $13 plus tax. See their online menu for current offers and menu items.
0
Votes
Ib J
November 10, 2018|
Answer
Response from Trish S | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, only had dinner there, but it was pricey. I think they had a menu with prices online. Check that out. Service & food was very good.
0
Votes
allhth
December 28, 2016|
Answer
Response from knight12 | Reviewed this property |
No question??????????
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WEST COAST GRILL, Sooke - Updated 2022 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about West Coast Grill

West Coast Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5