We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


127 Picton Street, Howick, Auckland 2014, New Zealand
+64 9-533 0081
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good42%
  • Average9%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (9 reviews)
“steak” (8 reviews)
“mussels” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
127 Picton Street, Howick, Auckland 2014, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Basalt was great. Went for a couple of drinks and we ended up getting some food, the broccoli cheese balls were just divine! The service and bartenders were great. Will definitely be coming here again.

Thank jordynbald
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great atmosphere and food. Good drinks and service from Jodi. Enjoyed the broccoli cheese balls. Definitely recommend

Thank Celia T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked an early table as we had two kids and a baby dining with us on a school night. Service was not good, took ages for the drinks to arrive and then even longer for both the shared bread entrees and then the mains. We...More

Thank Estthebest
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on 17th February. Looked at a few restaurants in Howick but this had good write ups. It was a Friday night about 6pm. The bar was lively with chat and atmosphere was excellent. Restaurant was getting busy. Service was very good. There was...More

Thank clive g
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Haven't been to Basalt for a while, but always found food lovely. Unfortunately, hubby and I did not have a good dining experience last week. Ordered lamb ribs which were very under cooked & sent them back to be cooked for longer, was left with...More

Thank Bree1414
Basalt127, Manager at Basalt, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Bree, I am very sorry that your recent dining experience with us was not up to our usual standard. This is not our usual practice so it is disappointing to hear that we didn't exceed expectations. Could you please email me on fbmanager@basalt.co.nz and...More

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend Basalt. Great vibe and excellent service. Basalt Burger is top choice! Great portion size and enough to share for two people. Amazing service from Emma!!!

Thank bonjour_yksh
Reviewed 21 December 2017

As always, great food at Basalt and friendly service. Never disappointed. It is always a pleasure to dine there. The steaks were cooked to perfection and desserts were innovative and delicious. Fantastic Kiwi Avocado combination. Compliments to the chef.

Thank kiwiteam2017
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Mostly empty restaurant should equal quick attentive service, not here😏 Food was nice especially the hash browns, poached eggs were undercooked with runny whites, but when you wait that long for it you’re not really inclined to send back.More

Thank Michwood235
Basalt127, Manager at Basalt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Michwood, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your previous visit to Basalt. Could you please email me on fbmanager@basalt.co.nz with more details with the date and time that you visited so that I can follow this up...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

On 14 October (2 weeks ago) just before 8 pm we arrived at Basalt for dinner. The place was busy and we were offered a table in the bar area; still a very visible area to sit for staff to see you. When seated we...More

Thank merasmuspe
Basalt127, Manager at Basalt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Merasmuspe, Thank you for taking the time to review Basalt. I am sorry that we missed the mark on your visit. I have taken on board your feedback and I will be using it to up skill our staff and ensure that every customer...More

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Service is shocking on 2 recent trips 1st time bar man was clueless - couldn't poor a beer, nor recall even the simplest order nor do bill 2nd was worse Went with work colleagues post sport- refused to let us have more than 1 drink...More

1  Thank Jim J
Basalt127, Manager at Basalt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Jim, It is disappointing to hear that you weren't satisfied with your previous visits with us. We don't usually do last orders before 10pm, so this is an unusual practice for us and when last call is done we do tell the customers that...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Howick Hotels
Howick Motor Lodge
50 reviews
1.58 km away
Golflands Motel
36 reviews
2.96 km away
Cascades Motor Lodge
14 reviews
4.08 km away
Academy At Botany Motor Inn
39 reviews
5.00 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Xacuti Restaurant
72 reviews
.07 km away
Howick Village Cafe
36 reviews
.25 km away
Benjarong Thai Restaurant - Howick
51 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monterey Cinema
25 reviews
.24 km away
Howick Village Farmers Market
17 reviews
.10 km away
Ayrlies Garden
21 reviews
4.57 km away
Lioness - The Gym for Women
6 reviews
5.80 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Basalt staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 127 Picton Street, Howick, Auckland 2014, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Howick
  • Phone Number: +64 9-533 0081
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing