We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Thai
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
161
56
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
161
56
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food rice chops small town the portion size benja thai take out portions vancouver dish rick coast heat
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 7, 2020

We decided on going to this place for dinner tonight, Oct 7 2020 at 6:30p.m. We were expecting to eat on plates with regular forks and knives and soup bowls not plastic containers. Even the water that we would have came in plastic bottles. It...felt like we were on a picnic and that we were about 5 or 6 years old so not acceptable. When this restaurant charges what this place does, you expect to be sat down and treated like customer not as a child. I will forewarn you not to go here except if there is nothing else to eat. 1 star for how inhuman they made us feel.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 29, 2020

Benja Thai is a authentic restaurant, not just the owners from Northern Thailand, the food which is amazing plus the decor, the music ... the atmosphere. Almost feel like being transported to another place. Love "Son's Special" which is BBQ'd pork chops with veggies and...rice. You can order coconut rice if you like, I always ask for their hot sauce ... awesome!! Great place, great food, maybe that's why I[m a regular :)More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 14, 2020

We were surprised that everything was served in takeout containers and plastic cutlery, even though we were dining in. Water was brought to us in bottles and we were charged for it. We asked for spoons to help dish out the food, and all they...did was bring little regular plastic spoons and forks, which wasn't very helpful. I suppose in these Covid times, we expect certain things to be different, but this seemed odd. The food was average, but due to all the cardboard and plastic dishes and cutlery, it lost something. I don't think we will be back on later trips through town.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 12, 2020 via mobile

the food here is very good. highly recommend the tom kha gai and pad thai, but everything was tasty and flavourful.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 23, 2020

cute small clean restaurant. Sat in restaurant and I had a pork fried rice. it was supposed to have egg and green onions. Flavour was good but very little pork in it and some i had to put some pieces to side of plate because...it was grissly, 1 speck of egg in dish and i didnt see any green onion. Hubby had pad thai with pork and it was all noodles from what i could see and also very little pork. Daughter had some kind of soup. Asked for water for table and he brought 3 water bottles. I didnt realize it was water bottles. i thought it would be in glasses. We were charged for the water. Food was brought out in takeout containers. Since we were dining in I was surprised. It cheapens the experience. Other restaurants are serving their meals on ceramic plates etc. Will not be going back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 8, 2020

We always try to time our travels through Keremeos so that we can make a stop here as the food is always delicious. When we stopped here again in July 2020, we were impressed with the efforts the management had made to protect its customers...from Covid-19. We both greatly appreciated the fact that the gentleman handling our take-out order was wearing a mask, hairnet and gloves. We found the portion size to be just right and the pad thai with chicken was very flavourful. We found a fabulous spot to enjoy our lunch and savoured every bite!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 4, 2020

The service was friendly, prompt and Covid friendly. The food was wonderful and priced affordably. The location was perfect. Restaurant appeared to be very clean and all Covid protocols were followed.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 24, 2020 via mobile

A great option for the area, dishes are tasty and nice quality. I eat alot of Thai and we have great options on the the coast, but this is a very decent place to eat. Food is good, and it is a treat right have...this in keremeos where I often visit. Thank you!!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 7, 2020

Was excited to try this spot after reading so many good reviews and was intrigued.. good Thai food in the small town of Keremeos? Unfortunately, not so. The staff are super friendly and attentive, but the food was not good. Yes, it was edible, but...the flavours were bland and the portions very small. However, we eat a lot of very good Thai food and are spoiled for choice in Vancouver...More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 1, 2020

A long time visitor of this restaurant, the quality is always very good, unfortunately the past couple of years, I have notice the portion size has gotten very small and have actually told them about it that I think they made a mistake the last...time I ordered take out. The owner Rick is always very attentive,unfortunately his son at times is always on his phone and not working. We ordered several dishes and the empty plates were piled up on our table and he just continued to walk by. The flavours and quality of the food is always top notch, I hope they read this review and take it seriously as I always stopped by to visit this restaurant when in the area, now after several disappointing visits, I am never so quick to go in.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Alpine Inn Motel
23 reviews
.32 km away
Elks Motel
66 reviews
.36 km away
Maple Leaf Motel and RV Campground Resort
59 reviews
19.37 km away
Mount View Motel
82 reviews
20.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Wrong Turn Tavern
106 reviews
.13 km away
Samosa Gardens
44 reviews
1.34 km away
BoBoys Tasty Treats
10 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grist Mill and Gardens at Keremeos
93 reviews
1.72 km away
Crowsnest Vineyards
69 reviews
6.72 km away
Parsons Fruit Stand
32 reviews
.77 km away
Clos du Soleil
21 reviews
2.67 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DaleRobyn
After perusing the menu carefully we ordered two dishes. One of them was called either SP 1 or PS1. It was described as a curry dish with basa fish. When it arrived we discovered that the dish is saturated in a strong peanut sauce of some sort. If there was any curry in it, we couldn’t detect it. The menu made absolutely no mention of peanut sauce or peanuts. Fortunately we are not allergic to peanuts! However we very much dislike peanut sauce. We complained to the young man who apologized but did nothing else even though we told him very clearly that we strongly disliked the dish and that we felt the failure to mention the peanut sauce amounted to a material mis-description of the dish. We did not eat any of the dish and handed it back to the young man, pointing out that we could not eat any of it. As it turns out, we were billed for both dishes - despite the fact that we couldn’t eat it due to the overwhelming peanut taste. We were tired after a long drive and didn’t want to argue about it - so we paid the $55 bill. We are very unhappy! We feel this was handled VERY poorly. We should not have been charged for the dish and someone should have come to talk to us about the problem.
June 4, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Theo L | Reviewed this property |
Hi Dale Robyn: I would talk to the owner, Sakchai (Rick) Chaicomdee, because you were probably served by his son, His cell #: 604-649-9908 or landline:250-499-2561. It seems that he uses his kids these days to fence for him... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing