We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trooper

Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
+44 1543 480413
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (169 reviews)
“pizza” (57 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, Pizza, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 752 reviews

Reviewed today

Feel let down with the Trooper last night, such a georgeous night, but the restaurant wasn't it's normal quality.Starter was 45-50 minutes and was not the sharing platter we ordered, as it took ages we didn't say anything and just ate, some of the starter...More

1  Thank Julie M
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Have just returned from our visit to the Trooper at Wall. We have been there a few times before as a couple and with family and friends. Generally the food and service is reasonable and of course the setting is nice. Today the overall experience...More

1  Thank Robert S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just popped in today to get a coffee, I was on my own. The place was empty, so I waited for about 30 secs, next to the bar while the guy behind the bar and a waitress chatted. Realising they were going to continue chatting,...More

2  Thank jo_alice
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your review, however I am this disappointed to read about the poor hospitality you received, I would like to look into this much further, if you could please provide me with the date and time of your visit I would much...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We go here lots love the ambiance food and usually the service. Today was totally spoilt by an incredibly loud table with approx 12 young ladies! The Manager went to the girls unfortunately they took absolutely no notice of him and continued to make ours...More

1  Thank Kimberley1959
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your review regarding your visit to us. I would like to apologise about the party in question, I myself spoke to the party on several occasions regarding the noises levels, as you are aware these were ignored resulting in me asking...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Party of ten of us visited for sunday lunch. Table was about 30 minutes late being available. Drinks ok but expensive. Pint of Pedigree was bad (vinegar) and replaced without quibble. Starters ok. Main course we were advised beef would be pink, which it wasn't....More

Thank funkcity
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your review regarding your visit to us on Sunday. Your party was sat down late due The the previous booking on your table running over more than expected, this is a very rare occasion, but unfortunately affected you, which I apologise...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another disappointing experience... Quite simply now a “Managed PH” - The owners have disappeared..... Catering for the masses and “Fill Your Boots” 2 Hour Drink as much as you can sessions the now “Manager” and staff/cooks ignore those who wish for a unique and special...More

1  Thank Richard L
Tomhughes03, General Manager at The Trooper, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your review regarding your visit to us. I can assure you our owners have a very large impact upon the running of The Trooper. We have an offer of bottomless lunch which is very popular and therefore makes us a very...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate with a large group which took absolutely forever We waited about half an hour between each course which came out in dribs and drabs The lamb kofta starter priced at £7 was disappointing to say the least with two cocktail sausage size pieces...More

2  Thank kh1105
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely Sunday evening meal and had great service. A table nearby to us had a family of 10 seated at it and understandably it was noisy however I experienced very rude behaviour from a member of that family as they kept using the...More

1  Thank AnnieAries
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A relative arranged a get together at The Trooper Inn as it was a good central location. Although situated in a quiet village the pub is certainly extremely popular. It's interior is bright clean and modern. Not a perfect event, we were 25 minutes late...More

2  Thank KingstoneKid
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table for 4 and when we arrived it was really very busy. We ordered a drink at the bar and waited to be seated. Immediately we were seated we were asked what drinks we wanted and whilst we looked at the menu,...More

Thank MILLS0902
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wall Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
533 reviews
1.40 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
571 reviews
3.23 km away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1,103 reviews
3.37 km away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
380 reviews
3.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough
394 reviews
2.02 km away
Hadrian Hotel
8 reviews
.44 km away
The Railway Inn
82 reviews
2.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lichfield Cathedral
1,574 reviews
3.62 km away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
264 reviews
3.51 km away
Beacon Park
260 reviews
3.19 km away
Garrick Theatre
216 reviews
3.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
clare85lee
August 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from KTR57 | Reviewed this property |
About as poor as the quality of the service a party of 8 had when eating there for the FINAL time.
1
Vote
Jenxjenx
June 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Jamesvp | Reviewed this property |
Not lousy, just not to the same standard as cooking. Staff seemed uninterested and given high levels of service in industry these days my experience was very average
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$54
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Wall
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 480413
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;