We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Byzantium - CLOSED

2 Portwall Lane, Bristol BS1 6NB, England
+44 117 922 1883
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good27%
  • Average4%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible18%
20 Dec 2013
“Christmas Celebration”
18 Dec 2013
“Christmas PaRtY”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
International, Mediterranean, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Portwall Lane, Bristol BS1 6NB, England
All Details
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is now a average place, shame really it used to be buzzing. Probably still value for the money though. Service was good, the staff need to smile especially at the bar!. In fact the only person to smile was the new girl who is...More

1  Thank 17,081,303
Byzantium B, Public Relations Manager at Byzantium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that you felt the bar staff weren't smiley enough but when it's busy at the bar sometimes this can be a consequence, I will pass on your comments though. We are surprised to hear that you didn't find...More

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Booked our Christmas Party here after hearing great reviews and it certainly lived up to it! Food was delicious, great dj, magician and staff! Everyone had a brilliant night!More

Thank 7hosm
Byzantium B, Public Relations Manager at Byzantium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We're really disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. We will pass your comments on to the kitchen. The invisible elephant is a sticker that if spotted gets you a free drink. Most customers have been asking the staff...More

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had our party last Friday (13/12/13) in Byzantium and have quite the opposite feedback to some of these reviews. The food was terrible, very poor pate, fatty tasteless pork, rock hard vegetables, and the bread and butter pudding was inedible. I've yet to find...More

2  Thank MWHIll1982
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had our work's Christmas Meal here last Friday and it was a really great party. I had 27 colleagues to feed. The staff were happy to allow us to wait for a few late arrivals, and once wewere ready to eat the food came...More

Thank JoyceF819
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had our work's Christmas do here last Friday lunch time and I must say, It was a very nice atmosphere from beginning to end. We were a party of 65 people to keep happy and the staff were so flexible and accommodating which made...More

Thank Tracey E
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I went to Byzantium a couple of years ago and it was very good. The place is beautiful. I have been twice in the last two months last month for a family meal and last weekend for a Christmas meal. The service is awful last...More

Thank catdBristol
Byzantium B, Public Relations Manager at Byzantium, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We really don't get complaints of rude staff here so we're all a little shocked by this review, we all take a lot of pride in our work and try our best to build up good relationships with guests. Our...More

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had our work's Christmas do here last Friday and I must say, it was an incredible experience from beginning to end. I had 51 colleagues to keep happy, and the staff were so flexible, accommodating and helpful and made my life so much easier...More

Thank Amanda M
Byzantium B, Public Relations Manager at Byzantium, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks for such a lovely review. We will pass on your thanks to the staff. Have a lovely Christmas and a prosperous New Year. From all at Byzantium

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had our work's Xmas do last Saturday & had a fab night. The service was great, in fact our food came out within 20 minutes. It was easy to get drinks at the bar & the atmosphere was good too. It wasn't too packed...More

1  Thank Kirstie F
Byzantium B, Public Relations Manager at Byzantium, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks so much for showing your appreciation and let us know if you're popping in, in the New Year. Merry Christmas from Byzantium.

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had a brilliant work's Christmas do here a couple of years ago and decided to book again. Boy. Big mistake. Despite all of our party being seated by 8.30pm, our starters didn't arrive until just before 10pm (and we'd complained several times before this, believe...More

3  Thank vixi49
Byzantium B, Public Relations Manager at Byzantium, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your email. I completely understand your disappointment and we're so sorry to hear you had a bad night, we know how long people look forward to their Christmas parties. Firstly I need to admit to you that Friday the 6th was a...More

Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had a three course meal for the Halloween event. The food was very good although my husband said the pork was very fatty. The venue itself is really nice and worth a visit in its own. The evening was meant to have magic but...More

1  Thank noodle1490
Byzantium B, General Manager at Byzantium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Many thanks for your feedback we really appreciate you taking the time to comment. The staff will be so pleased to hear that you enjoyed their costumes as they went to a great effort that night. We will also pass on your comments regarding the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Adelina Yard
256 reviews
.24 km away
Riverstation
1,926 reviews
.30 km away
Tare
33 reviews
.24 km away
Spicer & Cole
227 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary Redcliffe Church
706 reviews
.11 km away
Bristol Old Vic
271 reviews
.45 km away
Queen Square
300 reviews
.38 km away
Temple Church
34 reviews
.32 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$80
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Portwall Lane, Bristol BS1 6NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bristol
  • Phone Number: +44 117 922 1883
Description
Set in a cavernous converted Victorian warehouse in Bristol's Portwall Lane, Byzantium restaurant is bright and bustling North African extravaganza where you can drink, dine and dance the night away. Famous for its excellent Euro/Mediterranean menu and candlelit bar & lounge, Byzantium is a popular place for parties, Weddings and celebrations. The dining room boasts spectacular views of St Mary's Redcliffe church in a sophisticated yet down-to-earth atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing