We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Botanist Bristol

20A Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HP, England
+44 117 927 7333
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (7 reviews)
“fish cakes” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20A Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and a group of friends went here last night for my birthday dinner and what a dinner it was! A lovely selection of cocktails and mock tails to start, and such great vegetarian and vegan options that none of us ate meat even only...More

Thank Imogen R
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your amazing review Imogen! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had to return my first cocktail “mojito” that tasted like lime soda. Main was far too salty and wasn’t offered any sauce, the spilled a drink down my friend and didn’t apologise and then overcharged us and didn’t apologise. Disgusting service, below average food and...More

Thank siobhauny
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited with work colleagues a couple of weekends ago and enjoyed the experience. The food tasted great and found it value for money with the prosecco which was done well, instead of waiters hovering around you to top up your glass every 2 seconds...More

Thank Cary201282
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Cary Thanks for the great review, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having regularly come here over the years for lunch, drinks etc I was really shocked at how poor the food & service was compared to previous visits. Staff were nice enough but slow service. I had to return my food as the hullumi cheese was...More

Thank Brist0lC0uple
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you were dissatisfied with your meal. We did our best to correct this at the time but I’m sorry you were still displeased enough to score us so poorly. I do hope you will return, as...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the restaurant on a Saturday early evening for a Birthday Party. We were seated and left at the table waiting for a waiter/waitress. Whilst sitting waiting we had to be subjected to the most Crass girl on another table that I have...More

Thank jenjojam
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, We regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. We try to accommodate all our guests, evidently we failed you on this occasion. I hope you'll consider visiting us again to experience us at our usual high standards....More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Booked Sunday lunch with 3 other family members to celebrate our daughters 21st birthday. Was very disappointed when 2 starters arrived and one was the wrong one so had to wait for the correct one to be brought back. The Camembert starter was just about...More

Thank sharjone4
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us and would love a chance to show you our usual high standards. Please contact us at enquiry@thebotanistbristol.co.uk if you're interested in giving us another try. Thanks, The Botanist

Reviewed April 16, 2018

After being invited back after a disastrous visit we were pleasantly surprised by the difference in service and food. We were greeted by the Duty manager who made sure that our visit was superb. The service was efficient , friendly and professional. There was attention...More

Thank Denise F
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Thank you so much for this positive review Denise, I’m very pleased we were able to change your mind about The Botanist, and we look forward to seeing you all in the near future.

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner and drinks with friends here. Food was amazing, staff were fab, friendly and super helpful. Great atmosphere. 10 out of 10🎉🎉

Thank Emma T
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank your for your review! Feedback like yours really does make our hard work worthwhile, we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed April 13, 2018

I booked the Botanist for a business networking / social event on Wednesday 11th April. We invited 150 guests, most of whom showed up on the night. I can safely say that we as a company were so impressed, and many of our guests commented...More

1  Thank Lucy J
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review Lucy! We are all so glad you enjoyed your event, it was a pleasure to help you host it. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed April 8, 2018

Dropped into the Botanist for an afternoon drink and immediately liked the place. The restaurant is tucked away off a buy road, with a stairwell leading to though a small but Instagram-worthy patio. The interior is just a lovely, sky-lights brighten the space that includes...More

Thank Sarah H
General Manager A, Manager at The Botanist Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you for this outstanding review!! We work extremely hard to give our guests a great experience to remember, and reviews such as yours really do make it worthwhile! We hope to see you again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 38 hotels in Bristol
Berkeley Suites
53 reviews
.03 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
639 reviews
.06 km away
The Washington
764 reviews
.46 km away
The Clifton Hotel
800 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pinkmans
259 reviews
.14 km away
Koh Thai Bristol
427 reviews
.09 km away
Byron The Triangle
188 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wills Memorial Building
365 reviews
.11 km away
Brandon Hill Nature Park
143 reviews
.31 km away
The Georgian House Museum
198 reviews
.29 km away
Bristol Museum & Art Gallery
952 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rjwillshear
January 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Bristoltravelfan | Reviewed this property |
Sorry,I am unable to answer that question. I was a very unsatisfied customer who made a negative comment about the food.
0
Votes
Nick K
February 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Botanist M | Property representative |
Hi Nick I do apologise but we do have missed your question yesterday. There is on street parking with meters on Berkeley Square or West End car park 200 yards down the road. Regard Peter K General Manager
0
Votes
Joey129
January 29, 2015|
Answer
Response from Billy3Bristol | Reviewed this property |
No. But dress to impress !
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20A Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bristol
  • Phone Number: +44 117 927 7333
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;