We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maharajah

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9-13 Castle Street, Cambridge CB3 0AH, England
+44 1223 358399
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,045 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A nice little restaurant - good food and a nice range of options on the menu. Staff polite and attentive. Value OK given location. Watch the price of drinks if you want to keep your bill down to a sensible level !

Helpful?
Thank Albia-Newton
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went to Cambridge instead of Bury st Edmunds to do some Xmas shopping for a change and decided to visit my favourite curry house the Maharjah up on castle street and we weren't disappointed they've all set for Xmas with the decs all up we are vegetarians now so we both had king prawn curry and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sam913
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and 12 friends went after work on arrival the waiters were welcoming and polite. We had a really nice table laid out for us, food was amazing the chicken tikka madras was to die for! My experience at the Maharajah was fantastic very polite staff and food just 5*

Helpful?
Thank Azmol H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for food after work one evening with work colleagues. Food was nice, with plenty of options to choose from. However, the service was rather rushed and the table was already being cleared whilst people were still finishing their meals. Other than that, it was a nice meal.

Helpful?
Thank JamesAN28
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the Maharaja with a business client on Thursday 17th November and although the food was of reasonable quality, I was appalled by the poor and rushed level of service. I appreciate that they were busy, but each course overlapped the other without any any pause. As soon as I finished my last mouthful the waiter arrived with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank foleys74
Burwell
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with some work colleagues of mine for a meal for another colleagues leaving do. It was a Friday night and we booked a table for 7. We arrived and were seated promptly. The table for 7 was more like a table for 4. A little cramped to say the least. I find Indian meals have a lot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank richardtonynicholson
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A terrible experience at Maharajah on 11th November. Food poor and exacerbated by rude, insensitive waiters and a fiasco over our starters. Five out of six of us ordered samosas. Only one person received the correct order. The worse blunder was suffered by my daughter - a vegetarian - who was served two lamb samosas. She ate part of one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peregrine500
Reno P, Owner at Maharajah, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am sorry that you did’t have a good experience at the Maharaja. I would like to say that a mistake was made with the starter’s were the wrong samosa was given to the wrong person which is easy done as a veggie samosa looks the as a meat samosa , unfortunately the meat samosa was given to... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

***WARNING-DO NOT COME HERE*** One of the worst services ever received. The night started badly when I rung them up to ask where the best place to park was and the person on the phone was very rude, unhelpful and blunt. Secondly, the vegetarians and vegans of the group were served lamb samosas instead of veggie ones which distressed a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan T
Reno P, Owner at Maharajah, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am sorry that you did’t have a good experience at the Maharaja. I would like to say that a mistake was made with the starter’s were the wrong samosa was given to the wrong person which is easy done as a veggie samosa looks the as a meat samosa , unfortunately the meat samosa was given to... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been going to this restaurant for a very long time now, I am a regular customer there. I love the food ! It is the best Indian restaurant to go to for amazing, authentic Indian dishes. Once I enter the restaurant I am treated with the the upmost respect by the staff, they are very friendly, kind and... More 

Helpful?
Thank simondayy
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I have never had a good experience here but I lived practically on its doorstep for 10 years so was bound to end up visiting or getting a takeaway now and again. They have a newspaper article all about an award they won years ago proudly displayed but the food I had last night was absolutely the last I shall... More 

Helpful?
Thank StarsForEyes
Reno P, Owner at Maharajah, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am sorry that you are not happy with the service or food that you had last time that you had a take away at the Maharaja but i do not know why your food was not up to standard and i apologise for this and if it happens again you should let us know about the food... More 

Travellers who viewed Maharajah also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Maharajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$45 - US$45
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery
Good for
Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9-13 Castle Street, Cambridge CB3 0AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1223 358399

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Maharajah and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Maharajah staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?