We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Maid's Head

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
+44 1353 720727
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went with friends one of whom is glutton intolerant! There was a whole page in the menu dedicated to glutton free meals which meant she didn't have to search through the whole menu to find something she could eat. The service was excellent, the staff friendly and polite, the place was clean and inviting. Very good value for money,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, we are now stocking Gluten Free beer as well. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband took me here for Mother's Day. Yes it was busy but we were seated early. We had heard great things about this place and were looking forward to eating here. The gentleman who seated us gave me a pack of love hearts as it was Mother's Day. The woman who took our order was offish and totally disinterested... More 

Helpful?
Thank Servicesnob13
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meals with us. On a positive not I am pleased you enjoyed the roast beef. I am surprised that your daughter did not enjoy the gravy as we receive compliments on our gravy on a very regular basis, in fact a lot of guest sate that it is the best gravy they... More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food, good beer, idealic location on the village green, they serve big tasty portions and have a pool table - what more could you want?

Helpful?
Thank Lewis_DW1985
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are fortunate to be in such a lovely location on the village green. We always have 4 real ales available plus 3 craft ales More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Great lunch- chose from the specials menu- we had snapper ; lamb; fish cake- followed by bread and butter pudding All were lovely. The dishes were made fresh so did not arrive all that quickly, but we were very happy to wait by the lovely open fire

Helpful?
Thank LMJsmith
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your meal and our open fire. The fire creates a lovely atmosphere on the colder days. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times and both visits we found the staff very friendly and welcoming. Service was good and food also very good. Sundays are popular and the last time we visited there weren't any tables in the restaurant, so we ate in the bar area which was absolutely fine (still choosing from the full menu),... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holidaylover365
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is very much appreciated. As you say Sundays are very busy and often booked up around the popular times so always best to book in advance. We serve until 6pm so you can normally walk-in after about 3.30pm without booking. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

This was my first visit to the Maids Head and I would thoroughly recommend it. The service was excellent the quality and presentation of the food was first class. The portion size was spot on and it was great value for money. Look forward to returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank gojomojo33
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your first to the Maids Head. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Had heard so much about this pub so thought we would try a Sunday Lunch..Meals came out very quick on a stone cold plate...Burnt roast potatoes and cauliflower cheese...Beef cooked medium was like leather...The meal wasn't hot when it came out you can imagine how quickly...As title says very disappointed

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_B_12186386
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a disappointing visit to us for your Sunday lunch. Our Sunday meals are normally very well receive with many customers returning on a regular basis. I am not sure how your meals went out cold and below our normal standard as, unfortunately, we were on a short break last weekend. We will certainly be looking... More 

Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a drink and lunch after a long muddy walk at wicken fen. Warm welcome, lovely fire in centre of pub, husband had fish and French fries and mushy peas and I had the whitebait starter. Both excellent and served fairly quickly. Fish was delightful and batter light and crisp, fries great...I pinched quite a few as generous... More 

Helpful?
Thank lushrider
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again when you visit Wicken Fen. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Came for a quick lunch with my wife after walking in wicken fen - would defo recommend. The seafood sauce that comes with the fish cake main is delicious - I want the recipe!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bicey
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice review, I am please you enjoyed meal and especially the sauce with the fishcake. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Unpretentious, lovely log fire, excellent sausages and mash & beef stew and dumplings. Just what was needed after a beautiful, bracing walk around Wicken Fen. Well done- very pleasant service.

Helpful?
1 Thank johnwalker1954
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. More 

Travellers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

Reach, Cambridgeshire
Stretham, Ely
 
Soham, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 720727

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Maid's Head and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
4 months ago
5 months ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Maid's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?