We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
01244-40-18-69
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 10:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

739 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 735: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Went here for a nice family meal, and ordered a selection of small plates. Some of the food was lovely, however there was miscommunication between us and our waitress, so our order ended up wrong. When we asked to have it changed for our correct order, she seemed very annoyed, not the kind of service we had expected. Furthermore, our... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmvoyage
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited with 2 friends at noon ,very friendly waitress, we thought food took too long to arrive, 45mins. They weren't at all busy. 2 of us had lamb &1 had steak.We all enjoyed food & had icecream for pud. Coffee was delicious. I was disappointed to see how shabby the place had become, stains on seating, cutlery wasn't very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank josephine s
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect place for a nice drink before dinner. Lovely choice of wines, a well poured pint and olives make it a perfect treat.

Helpful?
Thank SamCatPickle
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Duttons has been open for many years, but changes with the times and caters for most. Lovely coffees, cocktails, snacks, meals and great offers. Definitely recommend ..also tables outside to sit in the sunshine.

Helpful?
Thank Ruthie206
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this review

Hi Ruthie! Thanks for your great review! We're very proud of Duttons and our new menu means we can offer a much bigger variety! I'm glad you enjoyed another visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Amy More 

Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whenever I've been to eat @ Duttons the service, food has always been excellent. Also a very good choice of beers/ales.

Helpful?
Thank TimothyCorbett
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this review

Hello Timothy! Thanks for your lovely review on your recent visit. I'm glad the food and service was up to our usually excellent standards and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, Amy More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

found it whilst wondering around while the wife was shopping and decided to stop in for a drink.so welcoming and wonderfully set out that when my wife phoned to ask where we were going to eat i immediately suggested here and my son also joined us.seated and treated brilliantly the food was superb and the service sublime.special thanks to beth.highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank madforit63
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your lovely response on your mothers' day visit- I'm glad you all enjoyed your meals (and we were able to look after you whilst avoiding the shops!!)! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in Chester! Amy More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful night, the service was great and very welcoming. The bar tender "night" deserves a special mention, very accommodating and friendly would happily visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Katie J
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this review

Hi Katie! Thanks for your review on your recent visit! I'm so glad you enjoyed he evening and I have already passed your comments onto Night (who was, of course, delighted!). Thanks again- Amy More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I visited Duttons with 3 family members for afternoon tea. When we first arrived we were warmly greeted by the shift manager who showed us to our pre booked table. However we had requested a table away from the toilets and were placed right next to them, I expressed my concern and immediately we were moved to the other side... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey J
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this review

Hello Stacey. Thanks for your review on your recent visit...I'm so glad you all enjoyed the afternoon tea! I do apologise about the mix up with your booking request but I'm so glad the team were able to move you quickly to another table! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again, Amy More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We booked a table for two on Saturday evening, we had not been here before and we had decided to go to Chester for the weekend, for a change. When we first went in the restaurant was very hot and very noisy. We asked to be moved as the table was under a speaker, we were moved but it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dianedoyle
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review on your recent visit! I'm sorry that on this occasion not everything was quite as you had hoped- we do pride ourselves on being able to cater for small and large groups! I will pass your comments on to the rest of the management team so we might be able to manage small bookings... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We came in at peak time on a Saturday lunch time and was seated straight away. Excellent service. Get tapas style lunch both my daughter and I were full x

Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia B
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this review

Hi Sonia, Thanks for your great review on your recent visit! I'm glad you and your daughter both enjoyed everything (the pick and mix dishes are one of my favourites!). We look forward to hopefully seeing you both again soon- Amy More 

Travellers who viewed Duttons also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Duttons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: 01244-40-18-69

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duttons staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?