We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duttons

$$ - $$$, British,
12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
01244-40-18-69
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“duck wrap” (25 reviews)
“burger” (47 reviews)
“salad” (39 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to book a meal in Chester for the family as it was a late booking we struggled to find a table. I had never been to Duttons but thought we would give it a try. Admittediately on looking at the menu I thought...More

Thank jacovelli8
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and am delighted you enjoyed the dishes from our new menu! We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Amy

A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, United Kingdom
44
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went in last Saturday for lunch with my mother. Waited a good few minutes to even be acknowledged! When a nice young girl spoke to us, we said we just wanted a table for 2. She then went to speak to another older waitress. She...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello- thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so sorry to read that you were disappointed when you last tried to visit us. I have discussed your comments with the manager that was hosting on the day you visited who has...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After finding this restaurant on google I decided to book for myself and my other half. The online booking system was easy to use and a confirmation text was sent to my phone. On arrival we were seated by an extremely enthusiastic member of staff....More

Thank Sophie D
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi sophie- thanks for your review on your recent visit...I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! I have passed your lovely comments regarding the food and service on to the team-and also your comments about the music, to ensure we have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First signs were good. Lunchtime in Chester, nicely busy but table available. Decor was nice and jazz in the background. Great. Downhill a little from there; the small plates shown on the website weren't on the menu, so our leisurely tapas lunch was a non...More

Thank Paul C
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paul. Thanks for leaving a review on your recent visit with us. I do apologise about the confusion with the menu (and thank you for highlighting this to us)- when our menu changed over we missed a tick box on the website which meant...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked in early on a Saturday night without a booking and were greeted with a very warm welcome, but a slightly hesitant and unsure confirmation of table availability. After a short wait it was sorted and we were shown a table. The staff were...More

Thank cswlbell
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I’m glad the team were able to find you a table and look after you! I’m sorry to hear about one of the meals being cold and hope this was sorted...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst waiting to be seated at a table we could see how chaotic it seemed to be! Piled up on the bar were glasses, plates and dishes and when we were seated in a booth side on to the rear of the bar unfortunately we...More

Thank Carol J
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi carol, thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit. I’m so sorry to read about your experience- this is certainly not our usual standard at Duttons and I assume from your review title that you have visited us before...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for lunch, had the pulled pork wrap with chips. The food was ok, not amazing, but my issue is more with the service. A waitress dropped a tray of drinks next to our table and a wave of alcohol went all over my...More

2  Thank JellyBaby24
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello- thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit, I’m sorry to read that you left disappointed on this occasion. I was the manager on duty that day and we did offer to dry out the ladies’ coat, twice,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend bought a Groupon Voucher for Afternoon Tea at Duttons in Chester . On arrival we were seated and then waited for quite awhile before anyone came to us . We asked what the choice of sandwiches were to be told " oh you...More

Thank Pia B
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Pia- thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. We are currently in the process of reviewing our afternoon tea offer and we will be using...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed. Bought voucher off Groupon for afternoon tea with Bellini. Waitress told us we had to choose between hot drink and Bellini so couldn't have cup of tea with our afternoon tea !! Don't think they understand concept of afternoon tea !! Usually when...More

1  Thank joshrhian
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit- I’m very sorry to read you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. The groupon offer was a choice of either a hot drink or a Bellini, and I’m sorry if...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

Afternoon Tea booking via GROUPON voucher, absolutely terrible left sitting at a table for over 10 minutes before a waitress asked if we wanted a Bellini cocktail or a tea or coffee. Another 10 minutes before the two cocktails were served which consisted of a...More

3  Thank paulfcorbett
Amy S, General Manager at Duttons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Paul- thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit for afternoon tea. I am so sorry to read that you were disappointed. We are currently in the process of changing our afternoon tea offer and your comments, along...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
403 reviews
.10 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
2,737 reviews
.16 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
1,958 reviews
.17 km away
Travelodge Chester Central
676 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chef's Table
1,129 reviews
.06 km away
Cheshire Sandwich Company
348 reviews
.01 km away
Sergio's
1,740 reviews
.07 km away
Veeno Italian Wine Cafe
212 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Cathedral Falconry and Nature Gardens
412 reviews
.06 km away
Chester Cathedral
4,145 reviews
.09 km away
Walls of Chester
5,017 reviews
.12 km away
Eastgate Clock
753 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul B
14 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ahickman6 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it’s suitable at a lunchtime It gets very busy in the evening
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 a.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Godstall Lane, Chester CH1 1LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: 01244-40-18-69
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing