We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Goshawk

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Goshawk Station Road | Mouldsworth, Chester CH3 8AJ, England
+44 1928 740900
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 509: English reviews
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our most recent visit was for an evening meal with our honorary granddaughter, who was visiting us from Italy. This was our second evening visit, the three previous visits to the Goshawk being for lunch. Once again service, choice on the menu, food and drink were of the highest standard. We can heartily recommend the Goshawk as a most attractive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger and Val W
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my meal at the Goshawk, I like that there are a number of different rooms to dine in, it is cosy with a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hev3
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went for a meal last night and was lovely. Food was very enjoyable and the staff seemed lovely and not intrusive. The pub had a lovely atmosphere. Will def visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank BugsyB89
Aidan_Buckley, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm happy to read how much you enjoyed your time at The Goshawk. The pub does have a fantastic atmosphere, and that is in part due to our lovely guests, so thank you. We hope to see you again very soon. Many Thanks The Goshawk More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a good meal at the Goshawk last week (1 x cheek, 1 X sea bass) so returned today. Very disappointed (2 x Fish & Chips). Chips burnt & batter on fish very heavy. Complained was told the chips had changed today!). But what made it worse the next table after us had different chips delivered with their meal -... More 

Helpful?
Thank jwg559
Aidan_Buckley, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reivew The Goshawk. I'm very happy to read how much you enjoyed your previous visit. However i'm sorry to read how we missed the mark on your latest visit. Feed back is important for us to grow and improve so if you would like to email us to give a more detailed account... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent old style pub with character situated in a lovely area and even better on this chilly day was the open fire. Sadly, for me, the draught beers were Hydes which I find bland and characterless. However the warm welcome and excellent menus overcame this disappointment. Service was faultless and our meals top quality so will happily return. Small car... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
Aidan_Buckley, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our staff will be thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your experiance with us, and i'm very glad to read how well looked after you were. I'm sorry that the Cask Ales are not to your tastes. We always try our best to stock items that our guests will love so,... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again we return to a trusted venue and we were not disappointed. A chilly day in spring /summer, meant that the open fire was most welcome, as was the welcome from the staff. The pub quickly filled up, despite it being mid-week. The choice was again difficult for some of our number: 3 menus were on offer, the main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John P
Aidan_Buckley, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review. We're glad to read how much you enjoyed our open fires. They are a real treat on a chilly day. The staff work very hard to enusure every guest has a fantastic experiance. The chefs and the frot of house staff all read the reviews religiously and will be thrilled to read how... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did not have a great experience last time. The food was great but the waiting time for delivery of the courses was bad. To their credit this time we had a super lunch and service. The hake was to die for full of flavour. As we are pensioners we also got a 20% luncheon discount card. Well done.

Helpful?
1 Thank Austin J
Aidan_Buckley, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rewiew The Goshawk. I'm very greatful that you decided to give us another chance, and you have seen an improvement on your last visit. The team work very hard on giving each guest the best experiance possible and i'm very pleased to read that all their hard work has paid off. We take... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent meal at the Goshawk and the fact that they have real ales pleased us no end. The staff are obviously well picked for the job and give the place an upfront appeal. We were served by the very pleasant and efficient Amy. Will definitely return on the next visit to the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen D
Aidan_Buckley, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review! We take our ales seriosly here at The Goshawk and we're glad you enoyed the range we have on offer. Amy has only been with us a short while, so will be thrilled that she's got a special mention and has been able to impress you so much. She's a great addition to... More 

runcorn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today for lunch with my husband to celebrate my birthday. My husband had chicken wings to start which he said were very tasteless, I had the pate which was not bad but certainly had better from the supermarket. For mains I had the chicken in a white wine sauce, I chose not to have the mash as had black... More 

Helpful?
Thank manson15
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've eaten traditional Sunday lunch out elsewhere over the last few weeks but the one we had yesterday with our daughter and granddaughter at the Goshawk was undoubtedly the best. Great service too, timely without being rushed, and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rorry
Aidan_Buckley, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful reveiw! I'm very glad to read how much you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. Sunday is a very busy day for us, and with recomendations such as this it's sure to get even more popular so thank you very much. We lookforward to seeing you again soon, Many Thanks The Goshawk More 

Travellers who viewed The Goshawk also viewed

 
Parkgate, Cheshire
Frodsham, Cheshire
 

Been to The Goshawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$38
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Goshawk Station Road | Mouldsworth, Chester CH3 8AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1928 740900

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Goshawk staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?