We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Fort Inn 63 Fore Street, Newquay TR7 1HA, England
+44 1637 875700
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,115: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited as part of work meal out , although quiet due to the time of year . Staff were attentive and food was lovely , I had fish and it was meaty and fresh Will definitely return on personal visit

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited a couple of times during our stay. Well sized, if it's not bad weather you have to try for a seat outside at least once. Great views to accompany pretty nice food and drinks. A little pricy but to be expected. A nice place overall.

Helpful?
Thank Helen R
StAustellManagement, Reservations at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Helen R for taking the time to write us this review. We are pleased to hear that you joined us during your visit to Newquay, we can't take the credit for the view but we are pleased to hear that it's still bringing people back to us day after day. We look forward to seeing you back in... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were staying at a local resort and wanted to go out for an evening meal. And evening though it was a Wednesday, it was a summer holiday Wednesday and everywhere in Newquay was booked. However, we parked up and managed to get ourselves into the restaurant and find a table. It had been busy as the place was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pritesh M
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am glad you enjoyed your food and the lovely views over the bay they really are beautiful. I am sorry for the mess you saw on your visit I can assure you we do try to keep on top of it during the summer but with the amount... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a family dinner, food was good and prices were too. Quite a long wait for good though (35 mins) and it was so loud as children literally running around screaming with no supervision. Yes welcome children but it's unfair on people wanting a peaceful dinner for staff not to ask parents to oversee their children

Helpful?
Thank shirleylyn
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to contact us I am really glad you enjoyed your food on your visit. We do try and tell children that there is an area for play unfortunately they don’t always listen, parents are told that their children cannot run around because of health and safety but again this isn’t always listened too.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service excellent food average excellent views would try again this was our favourite place to eat and drink in does get extremely busy in the summer

Helpful?
Thank nancylewtiger
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, we are pleased to hear that your visit to us was enjoyable with an excellent view, we look forward to seeing you back in here soon. More 

Telford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited Newquay for the day, we weren't too sure where was best to eat but came across the Fort Inn. It is located right by the beach so the views were beautiful. Looking at the menu it did seem quite pricey but when the food came it definitely wasn't disappointing. Very good range of food with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Fort does a banging Sunday roast carvery. Lovely views from the terrace over the harbour and if you've got grommets it's arguably the most family friendly pub in Newqs. It's certainly popular for family Sunday outings.

Helpful?
Thank ThatSharpy
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your brilliant review. We are delighted that you enjoy our Sunday carvery and our beautiful views. We hope to welcome you back with us again soon. More 

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although we didn't order food what we did see looked good. Menu was a tad pricey though but the venue was chilled fab views good range of drinks for a hour it was a lovely bit of R&R!

Helpful?
Thank MarcandLauraB
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Cornwall about two weeks ago with our grandchildren we have always visited the fort because the staff are welcoming and dog friendly. This time however we were waiting forever for our food I complained then ours came but not the grandchildren. We were very disappointed with the service this time.

Helpful?
Thank baflannery
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we welcome all feedback. I apologise for the wait you had receiving your food and then the fact that’s yours arrived before your grandchildren’s. I have spoken with the kitchen and we are going to try and always send the children’s meals first and they also apologise for the... More 

Greenford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here in Feb 2017. We ordered our food separately. Unfortunately, after my sister ordered her food and came back from counter, staff told me kitchen is closed when I would like to order my dinner. The kitchen is closed in just 2 minutes ago (while my sister walk to our seat). Which means I won't be able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank yp8899
StAustellManagement, Manager at Fort Inn, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your review we welcome all feedback. I have spoken with the kitchen in regards to this matter, they have apologised and realised they should of still done the meal for you. I don’t exactly know why it was said you couldn’t order especially a few minutes after service, but they have... More 

Travellers who viewed Fort Inn also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Fort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Fort Inn 63 Fore Street, Newquay TR7 1HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 875700
Description
Situated on the edge of Newquay town and enjoying stunning views along the coast the Fort Inn is a welcoming and comfortable pub with that prides itself in catering for all members of the family from toddlers to grandparents.

The Fort is also famous throughout Cornwall for its amazing Sunday carvery - a hit with all members of the family!

So whatever the weather, and whatever the occasion the Fort Inn is the perfect destination for a family meal or get together

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fort Inn and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Walsall, United Kingdom
over a year ago
6 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?