We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slipway

) #15 of 17 Restaurants in Port Isaac $$ - $$$
Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL27 3RH, England
+44 1208 880264
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (15 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
“coleslaw” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL27 3RH, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We visited The Slipway last year and returned as it was very good. The cream tea is really lovely and one not to be missed. The town, the views/scenery and the cream team made our day.

Thank Shells23
A TripAdvisor Member
93
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant today hoping to have a nice lunch. My wife is coeliac and was hoping to have a Gluten Free cod bites, only to be told the fryer was out of order - very disappointed! Not many staff serving either. Hope this...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My fiancée and I had cream tea here this afternoon with our son, and it was very pleasant. We didn't venture inside apart from paying at the bar and using the facilities, because it was such a nice day, but that was enough to get...More

Thank _richardkirk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reasonably priced and popular. The covered area was the place to be when it started raining. You can see Mrs Tishells chemist from the seating area and do some people watching whilst enjoying a beer.

Thank rogerp761
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi rogerp761 Thanks for the review. Our covered terrace is indeed the place to sit and people watch. cheers Phil

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only had breakfast here from The Gallery B&B, and it was delicious. Service was good the food excellent and the surroundings lovely. The waitress needed to smile as she came across like she didn't want to be there, but other than that I would...More

Thank ufo4nev
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Dear ufo4nev Thank you for the review, we do pride ourselves on our breakfasts. As you have stated, they are so good, other B&Bs don't bother cooking and and send their guests to us :). I can't comment on lack of smiles from your server...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by The Slipway for a cup of tea and to enjoy the view. 3 of us sharing a pot of tea and was only given 1 teabag between 3 people. Tea was cheap and struggled to get a decent brew. Also they only stock...More

Thank TattooedOlive
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Dear TattooedOlive If you had ordered tea for 3, you would have got 3 teabags, are you sure you werent scrimping and trying to save pennies and maybe asked for 1 tea and extra water? we stock soya, non fat, trim and homogenised milks, we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looks like a decent outside spot in Port Isaac, good for a drink, but food was well below average pub standard. If you do eat here go really basic! The Prawn cocktail was a watery, tasteless option! Plus the smell from the fish area!More

Thank Jane J
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hello Jane You are right , we do occupy a decent space in Port Isaac, We are great for a drink but then again so is an oasis in the middle of the Sahara. To say our food is below average pub standard is a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food itself at the Slipway was quite good, but unfortunately we only got 5 of the 6 meals we had ordered. When we informed the waitress, she admitted she had failed to put the order through to the kitchen, but by the time it...More

Thank Alan C
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hello Alan C sorry a meal was missed off, these things are honest mistakes and infrequently happen. I'm to assume that all meals were eaten so why would we discount the meals. The card machine is always left in that screen, if you chose to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel ok, hosts are very nice and a great breakfast selection, however be warned if you book on a Groupon deal you get put in a room which you will struggle to walk around the bed as it is so small and you aren't supplied...More

Thank Melanie R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great cream tea here whilst the filming of Doc Martin took place outside. Very reasonably priced compared to other places we've been to. Good sized portions and large pot of tea. Would have liked the jam to be locally sourced but Tiptree jam...More

Thank Martyn S
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Martyn S Thanks for the review we love our cream teas, They are baked locally ( about 400m up the hill) by Angela. Sorry about the tiptree jam, we normally stock the boddingtons local jam but apparently theres a stock issue ATM. Glad you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant Nathan Outlaw
638 reviews
.37 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel Restaurant
232 reviews
.69 km away
Chapel Cafe
489 reviews
.06 km away
Outlaw's Fish Kitchen
674 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Port Isaac
548 reviews
.08 km away
Cornish Rock Tors Ltd
109 reviews
.61 km away
Port Isaac and Portwenn, Walk & Talk Guided Tours
193 reviews
.05 km away
Port Isaac Pottery
123 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Slipway staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7
Meals
Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Monday
09:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 10:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 10:00
Thursday
09:00 - 10:00
Friday
09:00 - 10:00
Saturday
09:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL27 3RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Port Isaac
  • Phone Number: +44 1208 880264
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Slipway