We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour

1 Riverside Road | Ex35 6ex, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
+44 1598 753600
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“cod” (17 reviews)
“mushy peas” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Fast food, British, Seafood
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Riverside Road | Ex35 6ex, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband & I were passing through Lynmouth today (Sunday 13 Aug) searching for a takeaway lunch & came across this gem of a restaurant. We ordered fresh crab sandwiches & they were handed to us in a takeaway box along with a salad garnish....More

Thank Rickster330
Reviewed 1 week ago

Possibly the best fish and chips ever! We ate ours,on a warm sunny day, on the small outdoor terrace. Washed down with a tasty pot of tea. Great service, friendly staff and spotlessly clean. And under £15 too. Well recommended.

Thank cabbie37
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had lunch here it was ok if slightly over priced. Presentation was good and staff Friendly. I would only say it was sufficient.

Thank Marie C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good value for money. Our family ate here several nights running. Fish and chips were excellent. Crispy batter and not at all greasy. The owner was very accommodating and invited us inside from the garden when the weather was very poor, allowing us to...More

Thank johnson27748
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disgustingly greasy. Avoid. For superb fresh fish, head to 'Espresso' in Ilfracombe. Couldn't see any good options on Lynmouth.More

Thank Adrian H
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your review is a classic example of what is wrong with this site.You were so disgusted that you gave us one star but did not go into any detail about what you ate and what problems you had,you not only rubbish our business but also...More

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Top marks...my son has allergies and these people were very helpful. Fabulous food in a lovely setting

Thank Helen J
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Was on a day trip in Lynmouth and stopped at this chippy for a cone of chips.. They were the best chips by far very tasty.. Staff were very friendly. If I'm down that way again I'll be sure be back for some more chips..

1  Thank joanne a
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thanks for your kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your chips and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 21 June 2017

We both had beefburgers and chips for lunch , when the burgers arrived they were the colour of pork , looked like they were from a can or had been cooked in brine water , normally burgers are chargrilled,fame grilled ,griddled etc and are served...More

1  Thank parrotCornwall
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

What a shame you feel the need to continue with this, i would have thought that the review left by your wife "lovely chips" was sufficient and after tripadvisor removed your last review due to incorrect and inappropriate content it would have suggested to you...More

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Ordered a special beef burger and chips, chips were lovely but beef burger tasted more like a hamburger,and unfortunately couldn't eat it,so that was a waste of a tenner! Service good and friendlyMore

Thank lynn s
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

thanks you for your comments on the chips and the the service, however we are somewhat confused as to what you expected from the burger as a beef burger and a hamburger are the same thing.Our menu lists it as an 8oz westcountry beef &...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I visited Lynmouth with our two dogs and as it was a sunny day sought somewhere to have lunch outside. We plumped for this place because it's seating area was nicely sheltered from the sea breeze. We both had fish, chips and...More

Thank SunshineSukie
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and experience, we hope to see you again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rising Sun Resturant
885 reviews
.14 km away
The Nook
248 reviews
.31 km away
Lynmouth Bay Cafe
106 reviews
.07 km away
The Village Inn Pub
557 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway
1,432 reviews
.38 km away
Lynton Cinema
194 reviews
.51 km away
Watersmeet Trail
181 reviews
.10 km away
Lyn Valley Art and Crafts
46 reviews
.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
snapdogs
17 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Derek W | Reviewed this property |
I think so however give them a ring they are very helpful.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Riverside Road | Ex35 6ex, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Lynmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1598 753600
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing