We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Drum Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
+44 1803 690264
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 917 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We live in Barcelona so when we visit home a decent Sunday dinner is a must ! We have visited in the past with family but never on a Sunday . So when we visited July on a Sunday afternoon it was fairly busy however...More

Thank KrystalAlex21
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Came for lunch, lovely pleasant staff - this is already 3 stars in my opinion because you don't get a lot of it lately around the bay, nice happy and helpful staff to help accommodate us, we decided on pies, the veg and mash was...More

Thank shelly10111
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Good Evening shelly10111 Thanks for your review and taking your time to write about how your recent visit was with us. I will pass all your feedback on to the team who you say was very accommodating and delivered great service. I will pass on...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had such a nice experience last year (on holiday) that I wanted to return, but on this occasion I was disappointed with the chaos at lunchtime. I had an average (i.e. OK) pizza, but my husband's dish (broad bean and asparagus risotto) was at...More

Thank MadameAnouk
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon MadameAnouk Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that it was not like your last one and I hope this will not deter you from returning on your next visit to the bay. I would like to speak to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I live in Torbay and have been to this pub many times. Nice old pub in lovely surroundings but the food has got worse in recent times. Went as family of four and three of the meals were terrible. The roast was dry, vegetables totally...More

1  Thank Collin B
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good Afternoon Collin B Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your recent visit. I am so sorry it was not up to our usual high standard and I would like to speak directly to you so I can investigate your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great traditional Sunday lunch of roast beef etc.The weather was atrocious,so it was not as busy as we thought it would be. Obviously good for families,there was a large family seated near to us.More

Thank Chris D
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Chris D I am glad you had a great Sunday roast with ours being one of the best in the bay for sure and Its such a shame the barmy British weather cant make its mind up and give us a week or two...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Come here about once a month and yes it needs a refurbishment but do people seriously only come out to critique the décor? have they nothing better to do...How bout enjoy yourself and find something better to do then slam hard working businesses. We have...More

Thank t0by1976
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon t0by1976 Firstly thanks for taking your time to write a review and comment on the service and food which makes a change. I am delighted that you have been returning for nearly 30 years and when your next in please do introduce yourself...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We keep going back. One-of-a-kind setting. Atmosphere is cozy. Never a problem getting a table. Kez and team (Jack, and I think her name was Lauren) always remember us and take care of us. Kex even was kind to me when I nearly penetrated the...More

Thank Philip L
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Philip L Thanks for your cracking review and I am delighted that your evening was spot on and a great family evening,I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team and Kes who will be delighted with this review. Macca

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a nice old pub. Food was ok my wife had chicken which was lovely and I had a mixed grill which was ok. Service was good.

Thank doomer364
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening doomer364 Thanks for your review and we delighted you and your wife enjoyed our tasty and fresh food on your visit we look forward to your next visit in the future. Macca

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had fish and chips which tasted good. Very friendly employees. Regularly asking if we needed anything. Deserts were tasty as well. Food was served fast enough, never felt that we were waiting too long. Will return here.

Thank Sander S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We first requested a round table for our family to sit around. Upon arrival we first notice our table was not what we wanted. Secondly, they hardly had anything Available on the menu which was really annoying! The food was standard. None of it had...More

Thank frazer20
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Evening Frazer20 Thanks for your review and we take feedback very seriously and looked into your booking directly and unfortunately we dont have a round table that seats 11 guests hence why you never got one on your visit. The team uniform is part...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Weavers Cottage Tea Shoppe
306 reviews
.10 km away
The Ocean Drive Restaurant
605 reviews
1.31 km away
Torre Abbey Tea-Room
299 reviews
1.33 km away
Chelston Manor
192 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cockington Country Park
2,090 reviews
.10 km away
Torre Abbey Historic House and Gardens
612 reviews
1.41 km away
Cockington
165 reviews
.27 km away
Cockington Court
681 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hilary B
22 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kesosborne | Property representative |
Morning Hilary we don't however there are a couple really nice places to stay in cockington the charter house and weavers cottage just opened one in the grounds. many thanks kes
1
Vote
stevebrown0210
30 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from George D | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can well behaved dogs are always welcome
0
Votes
Peter S
17 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from antmax2015 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry we had poor service poor food so why should we go back
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Torquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 690264
Description
The Drum Inn in Cockington is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing