We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Star Inn Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TA, England
+44 1323 870495
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

8 people for dinner on Sunday night. Pub was busy (including a wedding party). Some nibbles, 8 starters, 8 mains, 2 sweets, 2 teas, 1 G&T, 1 large glass of wine and - O yes, 5 bottles of wine. Quantities ample, quality generally good. Service from young team was a little ordinary but not worrying. Total bill including our 12.5%... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having read the other reviews we decided to go to the Star for dinner. The atmosphere was good; warm fires burning on a chilly evening; we received a warm welcome and sat by the fire with a drink while waiting for our meal. So far so good, but........we both had liver, greens, bacon and mashed potatoes which was all very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went here on a very busy Saturday evening as there was a wedding reception taking place. Unfortunately the level of service seemed to suffer as a result. Food generally good although there was an error on the desert ordered and the person who brought it to the table didn't seem to know what to do to rectify this. Nice atmosphere... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
Alfriston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Never had a bad meal here, we are local and eat here regularly, always fresh and well cooked. Service very attentive, nothing too much trouble. Only comment is bring back the bottles of condiments, the sachets dont work for me..

Helpful?
Thank wgarnett
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear wgarnett, Thank you for taking the time to review our much-loved inn, we are always gratified to receive positive and complimentary reviews. And if we have issues, we always try our very best to deal with them as soon as possible. So glad that you meal (and previous ones) have been so enjoyable, and that our friendly staff have... More 

Hamble
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lydia at breakfast got this hotel from average up to very good. I actually stayed at the hotel and even though it was good I had a few wobbles with whether I could get breakfast or not as I wanted it before 8 a.m. and also I did not get much sleep as the windows banged really loudly all night.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica D
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Erica D, Thank you for taking the time to review The Star Inn. We will pass on your compliments to Lydia, and she will be delighted with this review. Lydia enjoys meeting all of our guests, and delivers a great personal service enjoyed by guests and visitors. Often the personal touch can be missing in pubs and hotels, and... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Plough & Harrow in Litlington was fully booked, so motored on to Alfriston, where the log fire in the Star was so welcoming. Other than a tea light that was the only light available. Despite the gloom it was apparent that the rubbery, tasteless burgers were pink inside. We quietly queried that because it was so dark we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindaelks
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lindaelks, It is always unfortunate when people are not properly equipped with the correct facts about a situation and make irresponsible comments. Firstly our lighting is low in the pub and bars as befits the interior of an old historic inn, and this suits the vast majority of our friends and guests as they appreciate the ambience. However, the... More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Breathtakingly beautiful pub full of history seeping from every beam. Food equally great and service efficient and personal. Lots of history available to read and games etc if required. Very calm atmosphere which was great after a busy days shopping in Brighton.

Helpful?
Thank adamsjayne4
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear adamsjayne4, We are so pleased that you enjoyed our ancient charms and The Star Inn story! Thanks also for commenting upon our old but beautiful and attractive looks! We pride ourselves on being a friendly personal and independent business, and we are glad that we were an oasis of calm after Brighton's hectic attractions.. We very much look forward... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017

The service was good with the waiter attentive however he was a little clumsy spilling drink on my wife's bag and floor . We had booked a table but had to move the bench for two chairs to accommodate elderly parents . The food was mixed. My wife ordered the beef stew but having taken the order to waiter came... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shem1805
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Shem1805, We are sorry that we had run out of beef stew - this is testament to the popularity of this dish! Seasoning is very much a personal preference, and we are sorry if the tastes were too strong for your personal liking, but glad that you enjoyed the food overall. Our 'three times cooked chips' are exactly as... More 

Tadworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

We had an excellent evening with friends. The food and music was first class. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast the next morning was good and the staff were friendly and attentive. It was great value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank FeeneyE
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear FeeneyE, Thank you for taking the time to review our much-loved inn. We are pleased that the music and food were 'first-class' - our chef has just been awarded 'Young Sussex Chef of The Year' which is fabulous for him - and us! We are glad that your room, breakfast and service were to such a good standard, and... More 

Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

First time we have eating here and I have got to say I wont be rushing back. Having now eaten in all the restaurants in Alfriston this was not the best having said that some of the group was happy with there choices. I had the roast pork and it was very disappointing only had one choice because they run... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank billtrathen
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear billtrathen, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal, but as you point out others were pleased with their choices. We do run out of roasts on Sunday because we are very popular; this is very common across this area and from my own experience getting to places at the beginning of service is sometimes the only way... More 

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn Restaurant also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 
Litlington, East Sussex
Milton Street, East Sussex
 

Been to The Star Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Alfriston
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 870495

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Star Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?