We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Katarina

Mariner's Quay | Marina Square Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England
+44 1273 606268
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good16%
  • Average15%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible33%
3 weeks ago
“Breakfast by the water”
17 Feb 2018
“Nice food, terrible service”
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mariner's Quay | Marina Square Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Came for a nice breakfast, having been before. Ordered and helped ourselves to drinks. We saw breakfasts waiting on the hot plate and there they sat for a good five minutes or more, so we waited. They duly arrived, well 3 of the 5 -...More

Thank ssbz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to have breakfast out for Easter day, we were quickly shown to a table and order taken, great selection of food and drink. The breakfast did not take long to arrive and was good, good value and good way to start the day

Thank Anthony P
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Anthony P, we truly appreciate your honest feedback, and glad you enjoyed your visit on Easter Sunday, we will be passing on your comments to our team and hope to see you again very soon, Many Thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just been in and then almost immediately out. Reception staff downright rude. Shown to table and was not asked if ok. Menu thrown onto table and then left. Waiting staff not much better as struggled to understand as she took our order. Many items not...More

Thank julie s
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Julie S, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would have addressed the situation you have described. You comments have been communicated to the team who working during shift and the duty manager. We appreciate...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Appalling place. The staff were none existent and when they were present they were rude af. We ordered which took forever as the waitress was lost in translation. We were then midway through accessing the salad bar, which was worse than a packaged salad for...More

Thank Chazz S
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The Katarina, but will take this opportunity to improve. We have communicated your feedback to the team working on shift during your visit and the duty manager, all staff have since had retraining on their...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What we thought would be a nice family meal out turned out to be a nightmare. The food we ordered the steak was fatty, chewy and so bad we had to send back which ruined one of our meals, the others mine the chicken was...More

Thank lottierose27
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Katarina, we understand that your feedback has been directly with us and we were able to work towards a resolution for you, thank you for taking the time to contact us again. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You think i would have learned my lesson? Returning to this excuse of a Harvester and ordering steak. Their steak you can't really cut it with a knife let alone chew it, this has been the case for the last 3 times? Ridiculous ........... Only...More

2  Thank Brightonseagulls
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Brightonseagulls, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, we understand you have logged your feedback directly with us and we were able to work towards a resolution for you, thank you for taking the time to contact us again and...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went here the other day as never been before what a mistake I ordered the rack of ribs they were bad tasted like they were cooked 2 weeks ago iv seen more meat on a Ethiopian than them ribs!!!!! the salad bar had hardly anything...More

Thank andy300c
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The Katarina, but will take this opportunity to improve. Thank you for your feedback about your ribs, we have pass this onto our suppliers and our kitchen team. In regards to the salad bar, unfortunately...More

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Came in at 3pm on a Tuesday, very quiet and in our area - there were only two tables including ours. First waitress was pleasant though appeared very flustered despite the lack of customers. Second waitress (an older lady) was just ridiculous. Took 25 mins...More

Thank EllsBells118
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Hi Ellsbells118 thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was not of the standard we aim to achieve, we have communicated your feedback to the team on shift and passed...More

Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We were happy with our meal which we felt was good value for money. The staff were attentive and noticed when we got too cold. The portions were generous and there was a range of vegetarian choices,

Thank sk1970a
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Sk1970a, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you for leaving us this response, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Just popped in for coffee 3 hours later two bottles of wine and a great lunch.....so friendly and relaxing didnt want to leave. The staff were extremely friendly and chatty.

Thank couple048
General Manager A, Manager at The Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Couple048, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Katarina. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
1,651 reviews
.07 km away
The Lanes Hotel
379 reviews
1.90 km away
Blanch House
1,294 reviews
2.03 km away
Lincar Hotels
2 reviews
2.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Laughing Dog
200 reviews
.08 km away
Nando's - Brighton Marina
237 reviews
.09 km away
Bella Italia Brighton Marina
311 reviews
.13 km away
Bella Napoli
317 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brighton Palace Pier
6,995 reviews
1.46 km away
Rendezvous Casino
87 reviews
.19 km away
Naturist Beach
48 reviews
1.46 km away
Spa Tara
92 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Samantha C
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from General Manager T | Property representative |
Hello We are closing for our refurbishment from 30th May 2017 - 22nd June 2017 We are having major investment and will still be trading as a Harvester when we reopen. As a team we are looking forward to our retraining and... More
0
Votes
BigLenny67
18 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ROSSMITH | Reviewed this property |
Where is the question they are want to know
0
Votes
Paulh1815
9 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ROSSMITH | Reviewed this property |
Not sure being a food out let i would think only guide dogs
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mariner's Quay | Marina Square Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 606268
  • E-mail
Description
At The Katarina Harvester in Brighton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Brighton, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Brighton, Woodingdean and Willingdon, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing