We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coal Shed Restaurant

8 Boyces Street, Brighton BN1 1AN, England
+44 1273 322998
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (679 reviews)
“chateaubriand” (50 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Boyces Street, Brighton BN1 1AN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,380 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

My husband and I had a very special evening here. The service all round was exceptional. Such friendly staff. We both had fillet steak. Wow, was very tasty and cooked to perfection as we had asked. Very classy and cosy restaurant. Toilets were very clean...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

It was all very nice. Something for everyone my very fussy grandma was with us and even she enjoyed!

Thank Rachael G
Reviewed 5 days ago

Came here with a team as a treat and enjoyed some amazing steaks and sauces alongside very tasty mash, mac n cheese, sprouts and bacon, onion rings etc etc. Obviously a popular restaurant as it was packed on a Tuesday evening so I was pleased...More

Thank Rebecca H
Reviewed 6 days ago

The Coal Shed never disappoints. Tucked away, there is always a warm welcome, the food is always cooked just right. A decent wine selection so it is possible to match food and wine and when you get stuck the staff are happy to reccomend

Thank 321rupertr
TheCoalShedManager, General Manager at The Coal Shed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for the lovely review. We are about to update our wine list with some really interesting wines. We look forward to having you back to try some of them. Regards, Naomi

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decent steak. Good lunch menu. Quite expensive but if you want steak you won’t go far wrong here. Highly recommended.

Thank Peter B
TheCoalShedManager, General Manager at The Coal Shed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review Peter. Hope to see you at The Coal Shed again. Regards, Naomi - General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this restaurant for the first time and was blown away by the service and the food was divine. Atmosphere lovely and ambient and very relaxed. Will be coming back!

Thank Sam E
TheCoalShedManager, Manager at The Coal Shed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Naomi - General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Top Tip: Book!! We had the luck of the Irish! A couple had booked for 6pm and we arrived at approx 6.20, the waiter kindly rang the couple who had decided to cancel so we got a table. I was delighted as it was our...More

Thank MagpieMagpie_Blog
TheCoalShedManager, General Manager at The Coal Shed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your lovely review. However, I going to have to ask to try some of mammy Magpies rice pudding as I think ours is delicious! We hope you'll come back next time you're in town. Regards, Naomi - General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant came recommended and it didn't disappoint. We arrived at 6.30pm without a booking it was a Thursday night and we didn't think we would need to. The guy who received us was nice and friendly. After seeing our disappointed faces because he was...More

Thank Bernie C
TheCoalShedManager, General Manager at The Coal Shed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We always try and accommodate people as much as possible and I happy to hear that we were able to get you a table and you were able to sample The Coal Shed experience. Hope to see you again for another visit. Regards, Naomi -...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although my rib eye steak could have been hotter, it was perfectly cooked. The atmosphere was warm and friendly as was the service. A very nice venue that i will return to.

Thank James P
TheCoalShedManager, General Manager at The Coal Shed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the 5 out of 5 review. Very happy to hear that you had a nice time with us. We'll see you again soon, I'm sure. Regards, Naomi

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying in Brighton for one night and had been recommended this restaurant. Friendly, professional and knowledgeable staff. Beautiful restaurant in a great location. Food was second to none. Couldn’t fault it. Super high end food at a reasonable price point. The only negative I have...More

1  Thank AmyLou1990
TheCoalShedManager, General Manager at The Coal Shed Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Well, we have just opened in London, if that's less of a commute for you!! ;) Thank you for the lovely review and we hope to see you on your next visit to Brighton. Regards, Naomi - General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
No 32
662 reviews
.08 km away
Pascere
85 reviews
.07 km away
Croque Shop
75 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Saint Paul’s Parish Church
28 reviews
.07 km away
Adonis Cabaret - The Brighton Show
44 reviews
.13 km away
Fabrica
9 reviews
.09 km away
The Victory Inn
114 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vicky1970
13 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from andrew d | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely you have to book. It's easily one of the best restaurants in Brighton and always busy. Town centre carparks are fine for evening, but horribly expensive if it's a day visit, in which case its better to park in... More
2
Votes
Michael P
13 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TheCoalShedManager | Property representative |
Hello Thank you for your enquiry and that you are looking to dine with us this evening. We are looking very busy (pre Valentine dinners) and currently only have later tables available. Please log on to coalshed-restaurant... More
1
Vote
V4832QNpaulam
3 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Claire O | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely 😊 Cosy atmosphere, good lighting, low. Lovely cocktails and good wine list. Small intimate setting 😊
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$100
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Boyces Street, Brighton BN1 1AN, England (Formerly The Coalshed Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 322998
  • E-mail
Description
The Coal Shed is a specialist meat and fish restaurant in the heart of Brighton. Recommended by The Telegraph and The Guardian, amongst others, this stylish, relaxed eaterie has quickly become one of the top restaurants in the city.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing