We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chaula's

2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
+44 1273 771661
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“thali” (41 reviews)
“curries” (24 reviews)
“prawn puri” (4 reviews)
Open Now
17:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I sometimes take my friends to Chaulas as well as order food at home...Always have been impressed with service & food quality....ThanksMore

1  Thank bankimchandra
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks Bankimchandra for your valuable feedback, really appreciated. it's glad to hear that you always enjoyed the food whilst you dined with us and at home too. your review will certainly be passed on to the team. Hope to see you again very very soon!!!...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Oddly the not even half empty restaurant was 'fully booked' when my boyfriend and I asked if there was a table on Pride day. May have been the rainbow flag on my cheek - I'll never know. Not cool. Not somewhere I'll try again.More

Thank TPJN
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for reviewing us, we do apologies for the inconvenience you faced during you last visit in Chaula's and after carefully investigating the issues you mentioned in the review we found that you arrived in our restaurant between 20:30-:2100 but as our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I like a good curry and have to loads I was disappointed here, £7.50 for a Sagg when the meal was £8.50, but my main grip was why put Ginger in a Sagg, not a subtle tweek but with lumps in thereMore

Thank Malcolm S
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Malcolm, Thank you very much for taking the time out to review us. as you said you had saag while you dining with chaula's just to inform you that we don't have a saag in our menu chef make specially for you on special...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found this place as near to our hotel, and was very disappointing. Wife and I love a good curry but this was not good. Lamb Dansak was a strange dark colour and, not the usual texture of lentils and chick peas. Wife had the Byriani...More

Thank James C
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear James, Thanks for taking the time out to review us, as you say our lamb dansak is a strange dark colour it's because we never ever used any colour in our food it's a authentic spices we using in our curries that's why it's...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took advantage of a groupon offer , a two for one lunch. Booking was easy online and our day and time was easily accommodated. It was a hot day and the restaurant was shady and cool. The service was excellent , when our platters...More

1  Thank Muv566
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time out for this awesome review, much appreciated!! so glad we lived up to your expectations. Hope to see you again very soon!!! Kind Regards Shallu Rai

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely curry with the wife at this small but traditional Indian restaurant. The Jalfrezi was delicious- rich, dark and full of flavour, quite different from other chicken jalfrezi's I've tried in the past, not a whole chilli in sight, very peppery but lovely. We were...More

1  Thank Briggs49
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thanks for the wonderful review and taking the time out to recommend us, very much appreciated!!! We always try to provide our best to our customers and its glad to hear that you enjoy your meal. Your comments will be passed on to the staff....More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We were a family of four looking for Indian food in Brighton. Google search gave us a few options which included this restaurant. We picked this place because it was close to where we were walking and honestly do not regret our decision to visit...More

1  Thank Amit J
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for the very kind review. So pleased we've become your food spot of choice and that you appreciate the Indian dishes and flavour. Once again thanks for 5 stars, much appreciated!!! See you again very soon!!! Kind Regards Shallu Rai

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Great little restaurant served fast and great value for money. Will deffinatly go back on our next visit to Brighton

1  Thank Gillian W
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time out for this lovely review, it's really appreciated. Happy to have made your journey a little brighter!!! Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Shallu Rai

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Was visiting Brighton for one night only with work and this place was recommended by someone who lives locally. The staff were great, always on hand to get whatever you needed and were quick with the service. Nice atmosphere (although the tables are close together...More

1  Thank eds123
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

We certainly be passing on your fabulous comments. Thank you. We are very lucky to have wonderful staff like these, it make us very proud also it nice to know our food is hitting the spot. If you need a little privacy please feel free...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Excellent Indian restaurant with a nice atmosphere and outstanding food. The lamb Jalfrezi was just wonderful. Will definitely be back to try some other dishes.

1  Thank Mervyn G
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thanks for this awesome review. It really appreciated!!! So nice to see all aspects are impressing. See you again very soon Kind Regards Shallu Rai

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Terre a Terre
2,199 reviews
.06 km away
Indian Summer
1,133 reviews
.04 km away
Plateau
760 reviews
.06 km away
Aguadulce Restaurant
1,066 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Police Cells Museum
76 reviews
.08 km away
Zorian Artworks
45 reviews
.13 km away
Grosvenor Casino Brighton
54 reviews
.14 km away
Kellie Miller Arts
13 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chaula's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 771661
Description
THE ULTIMATE EXPERIENCE IN TRADITIONAL HOME COOKED GUJARATI AND OTHER INDIAN REGIONAL FOOD. We began selling our home cooked food from our grocery shop in Lewes. The reaction was so positive that it inspired us to sell fresh, as well as frozen food throughout shops in Sussex and Surrey. We expanded the business and moved to Station Street in Lewes. Further success inspired us to open CHAULA'S INDIAN RESTAURANT IN LEWES 2007 AND IN BRIGHTON 2012. We believe that Indian cuisine is a combination of subtle taste. Flavours are as varied as the climate and exotic as the people of India. The appreciation of spices and combination is an acquired art and can only be achieved after many, many years of studied blending, cooking and tasting. At Chaula's, value our patron's opinions and concerns in the modern day world of health consciousness- our scrumptious food is prepared only with Sunflower Oil that is low cholesterol and freshly ground spices, without the use of artificial flavours and colourings. WE ONLY USE FRESH CHICKEN AND MEAT. I have worked very hard to perfect this fine art without compromising on taste and authenticity. We are confident that after sampling our culinary delights you would agree that there is nothing but the best at Chaula's. We take pride in welcoming you again and again. WE ARE RENOWNED FOR OUR SIGNATURE DISHES. "THE FOOD OF INDIA, NOT JUST INDIAN FOOD" We hope you enjoy the experience. -CHAULA & JANAK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing